We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place with character”

The Palmwoods Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Palmwoods
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A place with character”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

A nice place,its a pub/bar downstairs with the main restaurant upstairs. Being a small town,you won't know its a restaurant. This place gets very busy on weekends,we went on a thursday evening and the place was quite full. The prices were quite reasonable and the portions were very generous indeed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    22
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissappointed”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Nambour rsl, you let me down. Always a great place for cheap family meals, not the flashest food but always generous servings and usually well cooked albeit simple food. Not this time, such a shame my perfectly cooked steak was just a really poor piece I meat. Both the mushroom sauce and garlic cream were very thin, and lacking flavor. Will think twice before ordering a steak here again.

Helpful?
Thank SharniTwister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Family get together”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great food, no complaints at all there. Everyone in our group all enjoyed their meal and the size of the meal was adequate. The only downfall to the day was the bar staff upstairs. One of our group ordered a drink, while the barmaid was halfway threw making his drink spotted a friend and decided to leave the bar and go and have a chat, by the time she got back she had forgotten she was even serving him and proceeded to serve somebody else. Eventually when they got their drink, they had ordered a vodka lemon lime and bitter, got their drink short of the vodka, but still charged the full price. Yes it was a mistake, however if the original barmaid had done her job instead of socialising this would not have happened. This is the only reason we didn't complain because the person completing the drink (not the original barmaid, but a barman) would have been the one getting into trouble.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diben315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't cook a steak”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I always order the steak, medium rare. Came out medium to well done. Took the food back to the bar and a staff member told me it looked medium rare to him. Attitude plus.
A moment later he approached the table with no apologies, agreed my steak was over cooked and took it back to the kitchen.
It was replaced, with a very well done t-bone, the thinnest I've ever seen, of a disturbing grey colour.
Never again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SharniTwister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Family Night Out!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Reasonable and tasty food always - been great every time we have been there! Whether with family, kids, adults and friends - always good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palmwoods Hotel also viewed

Palmwoods, Sunshine Coast
Palmwoods, Sunshine Coast
 
Woombye, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Palmwoods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing