We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manzanilla Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manzanilla Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great break away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here in early November. Very friendly hosts- very accommodating. Great location for exploring. Fantastic setting (stayed in Salcombe cottage)- lots of wildlife, very secluded. Good breakfast and plenty of stuff in the cottages if the weather is hit and miss. Only downside is the price is a little steeper than other places around but overall definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Had a lovely stay at Manzanilla Ridge! The accommodation is very private, spacious and comfortable. Really enjoyed having a spa on the deck while my barbecue dinner was being cooked. Also enjoyed spotting kangaroos in the mornings on the deck. Breakfast hamper was very generous and the host was very welcoming. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelitaTrimboli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Manzanilla Ridge for a two night getaway before our baby is born. We wanted something secluded, quiet, self contained and spa. Manzanilla ridge ticked all the boxes for us and we had a lovely stay. Its situated amongst all the wineries, and we just popped in and out as we pleased. I wouldnt hesitate in recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We decided on a trip to hunter valley we searched for weeks online trying to find the ultimate relaxation accommidation where we could just relax and unwind. We came across Manzanilla Ridge and booked straight away. It was just perfect I highly recommend this place weather it be for couple, family, or group. Cant wait to book our nxt trip there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mellisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Last weekend we went away to the Hunter Valley for a girls weekend.
After alot of research we decided on the Manzilla Ridge as the place we would stay.
What a great decision that turned out to be!
The cottage was just beautiful...the view was fabulous and the breakfast hamper was just perfect.
Dominic and Jane are really great people, they love the place and it really shows!
Can't wait for our next stay....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great secluded cottages in Lovedale. The cottages have everything you need - including a hot tub and abundant breakfast supplies. The hosts were very welcoming and clearly take pride in the storybook cottages.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyBlondeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband & I got married in the Hunter Valley so went back to the region to celebrate our first year wedding anniversary. I chose Manzanilla Ridge mostly based on the reviews off this site. The location is secluded but still close enough to get to everything, the cottage was a home away from home with everything you could need, the hosts were friendly & attentive. We had a bit of rain & cold weather, but we set a fire going and drank wine in the jacuzzi and the weather didn't bother us at all. We had a few local kangaroos with joeys come into the backyard while we were in the jacuzzi and they were happy to sit there nibbling the grass while we relaxed & enjoyed the peace & quiet. All in all it was a very relaxing, enjoyable stay and can't wait to come back with some friends next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donkeykong787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
1.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.7 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
5.2 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzanilla Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzanilla Ridge

Property: Manzanilla Ridge
Address: 442 Talga Rd, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manzanilla Ridge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These rustic cedar cottages all with outdoor heated spas sunken into the deck have maximized the privacy and seclusion of the 52 acre property in the Hunter Valley. The cottages all have Oregon beams & rafters, Cathedral ceilings and wooden floorboards. The fully equipped kitchen has a gas cook top, dishwasher, breadmaker with provisions to bake your own bread and even a pod coffee machine. A breakfast hamper is supplied of locally smoked bacon, farm fresh eggs, tomatoes, milk, juice, bread, butter and a selection of cereals. The cottage has coffee, tea and a choice of herbal teas too.Sit back in the lounge watching the flames dance in the wood fire combustion heater while listening to your choice of music from the Bluetooth speaker system. All the decks have the gas barbecue and covered sitting area. Sit back with a glass of Hunter's best wine in the bubbling hot water of your private spa, the best place to star gaze or kangaroo spot. Lovedale, home to the famous Lovedale Long Lunch is filled with excellent restaurants and wineries. The bedrooms all have reverse cycle air-conditioners and all linen and towels are supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manzanilla Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manzanilla Ridge Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing