We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, secluded Hunter Valley Cottage”
Review of Manzanilla Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manzanilla Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at Manzanilla Ridge last weekend. It was wonderful. From the moment we booked Dominic and Jane were extremely helpful and welcoming. When we arrived they greeted us with friendly faces and showed us round our cottage, which was tucked away out of sight and sound of everything other than the wildlife. The cottage itself was immaculate, very well equipped and tastefully decorated with lovely solid wooden furniture. The rooms were great, the kitchen had all mod cons, including a bread maker with flour and instructions (!), the living room had a large TV and a decent sound system and the bathrooms were spotless. The terrance was a good size, with a great big BBQ and spa. Dominic and Jane, although away for the weekend were kind enough to arrange transport for our evening out and the pick up and drop off after our wine tour. We really couldn't have asked for more. We loved every minute and we'd love to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 163 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

If you want peace and quiet in the Hunter Valley this is the place to head too!
Stayed here for 3 nights over the Xmas break
the first thing is the owners care and our proud of there property and will help you with
anything you need.
Im not a vine lover far from it i wanted to get away with the family to ecaspe the crowds of
Xmas holidays i guess a lot of people that stay here are into the vine scene you would be extremely happy here "VINE HEAVEN" at your doorstep.
There are 4 Cottages more like a house with a loft a spa on the deck, coffee machine a bread maker which i thought is a great touch fresh bread in the morning...a fresh breakfast hamper is supplied for each morning to cook on your own BBQ on the deck.
Each cottage is spread out enough for privacy i had a ball with my 3yr old daughter and wife just staying on the property was an great experience with all the wildlife about.

Room Tip: We stayed in the last cabin down the road the "most" private of the 4 cabins saying that o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Manzanilla Ridge is now officially my favourite place to go for a weekend away. : ) The cottage we stayed in was immaculate and charming and I loved hanging out in the deck spa with my partner; we even saw kangaroos in the clearing as the sun was going down!The cottage was situated in an intimate setting, surrounded by bush land and cut off from the other accommodation, so we really feel secluded and were able to enjoy the absolute serenity of the area. The family who own and run the cottages were so friendly and offered us great local advice regarding the best wineries to visit and the wines we should taste. I don't think I've ever had such a relaxing weekend. We went out to a restaurant near by for dinner, but next time we'll order one of the meal hampers and take full advantage of the facilities that the cottage has to offer. Bliss!

Room Tip: I think there are four separate cottages on the property, but because they're all secluded, we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed in one of the cabins for a concert weekend and had an amazing time. Each cabin is completely secluded in a beautiful country side. The cottages are cozy and charming and offer all of the comforts of home. The outdoor spa's are amazing! I can't imagine any better accomodation in the Hunter.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Relaxing from the time you step into the cottage, gentle music playing, peaceful quite surroundings, a hot tub to relax into after a day of sight seeing in the hunter and friendly hosts.

The welcome port and breakfast hamper made up of local produce are a lovely added touch. The cottage was clean and comfortable with the choice to sleep in the upstairs loft bedroom or the downstairs bedroom. The cottage was fully airconditioned one in each bedroom and the main living area for those hot nights. The fireplace would be lovely lit up in winter. The bbq was great for cooking breakfast in the morning within private tranquil surroundings.

We stayed for two nights and left saying "if only we had one more night".

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priceofluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

my partner and I stayed at the mercure in the hunter a few months back and had an awful experience there, which made our whole Hunter experience, memorable for the wrong reasons, so when I suggested to my partner that I was taking him away to the Hunter for his birthday, his face was priceless - and not in a good way. When we arrived and saw what would be our accomodation for the weekend, we both were amazed... this place is absolutely wonderful and everything you could ask for in accomodation for the Hunter. The spa, the BBQ, the fireplace and the hosts, were just perfect and I recommend this place to anyone wanting to visit the hunter for a relaxing getaway. The place was spotless and we will definitely be returning - 11 out of 10!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Dominic & Jane were tremendous hosts and we certainly enjoyed our weekend stay here. The log fire, outdoor hotpool and breakfast every morning really made it a weekend to remember!
We also pre ordered the BBQ hamper on the sunday night which was fabulous.
They couldn't have been more helpful and we just loved our chilled out time here. We will definitley be back again and recommending Manzanilla to all our friends

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rothbury Escape
Rothbury Escape
#1 of 2 in Rothbury
40 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hunter Hideaway Cottages
Hunter Hideaway Cottages
#4 of 9 in Rothbury
72 reviews
1.4 mi away
Burncroft Guesthouse
Burncroft Guesthouse
#9 of 9 in Rothbury
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzanilla Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzanilla Ridge

Address: 442 Talga Rd, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range: $188 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manzanilla Ridge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These rustic cedar cottages all with outdoor heated spas sunken into the deck have maximized the privacy and seclusion of the 52 acre property in the Hunter Valley. The cottages all have Oregon beams & rafters, Cathedral ceilings and wooden floorboards. The fully equipped kitchen has a gas cook top, dishwasher, breadmaker with provisions to bake your own bread and even a pod coffee machine. A breakfast hamper is supplied of locally smoked bacon, farm fresh eggs, tomatoes, milk, juice, bread, butter and a selection of cereals. The cottage has coffee, tea and a choice of herbal teas too.Sit back in the lounge watching the flames dance in the wood fire combustion heater while listening to your choice of music from the Bluetooth speaker system. All the decks have the gas barbecue and covered sitting area. Sit back with a glass of Hunter's best wine in the bubbling hot water of your private spa, the best place to star gaze or kangaroo spot. Lovedale, home to the famous Lovedale Long Lunch is filled with excellent restaurants and wineries. The bedrooms all have reverse cycle air-conditioners and all linen and towels are supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Manzanilla Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manzanilla Ridge Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing