We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just returned from 2 nights staying in a 2 bedroom luxury apartment.
Very modern and well thought out apartment which offered Peter Morrisey products in the bathroom.
Rooms had luxury finishes and was very clean throughout.
Quite spot but still close enough to other restaurants. The pool, gym and barbecue were also impressive.

Two televisions were in apartments with limited foxtel channels. With teenagers probably need more channels but this is a minor point.

Overall I was very impressed and would def. return.

Room Tip: Bring breakfast and snacks if coming with children. Prices are ridiculous in the Hunter, nothing is...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 267 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

First time staying at The Vintage. We were impressed by how clean and spacious the 2 bedroom apartment was. Right in the heart of the vineyards. We saw kangaroos morning and evening in the peaceful setting around the apartment. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank shirlinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is our 2nd time staying here, impression is just as good as last visit 2 yrs ago. Quiet and peaceful around - staying mid week for 1 night. Kids enjoy having a bath in the big bath tub. Rm is clean and bright.
Wifi internet is too slow, forget it!
Overall, everything is very good, no complaints.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank SchoolHolidayMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Second stay at The Vintage and again impressed. Very comfortable 2 bedroom apartment with baths in both bedrooms. Comfortable living area with fireplace and dining table and two balconies to sip wine with your cheese overlooking Golf course. Only complaint is that wish the spas could be warmer including pool (is winter though). Electrical fault in room resulted in flickering lights but room maintenance or the line to call maintenance closed at 5:00 - frustrating.

Room Tip: rooms can either overlook pool or out onto the greenery - i prefer the greenery which is a little m...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vizy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nicely appointed comfortable apartments across the road from the golf club
We were in an upstairs 2 bedroom apartment that had 2 decks, one with a view over the golf course, the other looked over the road to the golf club. Could see the hot air balloons flying over in the early morning
Apartment perfect for 2 couples
Both bathrooms had baths and separate showers
Full kitchen, but could've done with a coffee plunger
There was a communal BBQ but it didn't look like a nice place to stay and eat, so we never used it
Small heated pool as part of the complex, but when we explored the golf club facilities towards the end of our stay, discovered that their pool was much better. Golf club facilities were available free to Grand Mercure guests
Had an evening meal at the golf club, very nice and nice to be able to walk over rather than drive
Secure garage for the car
Wifi free but hopeless is an understatement
Good location to explore the Hunter Valley from

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 01foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our second trip to the The Vintage, having enjoyed a June long weekend there a few years ago. My wife and I always go away for the long weekend to celebrate our anniversary, always seeking a cosy place with a log fire and a hot bath. We found the main light above the dining table as well as all kitchen bench lights not working, a fire was installed but not yet commissioned, a lack of kitchen utensils (although they were provided each time we requested them), the washing machine flooded the floor when trying to operate it, the phone was continually flashing as the batteries had leaked into the phone - oh, and our "luxurious bathroom" was a large wheelchair-friendly shower and curtain as it was a special disabilities room. They are all small things but they all add up to ruin a perfect weekend. We don't think the staff were all that caring to rectify the situation. It seemed like business as usual. All the above electrical and mechanical issues could not be fixed until after we left 3 days later.

Room Tip: Ask if you will be given a room as advertised, with good views and all amenities in working order. C...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveO988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy this stay as much as you have previously and I am genuinely sorry that you feel this way.

We do have a selection of Accessible rooms available here at the hotel and we certainly try to not allocate these rooms unless absolutely necessary. Being the long weekend, this was one of these particular cases so I can understand where you are coming from especially having stayed with us before. The facilities of the room are the same as the other deluxe one bedroom apartments, apart from (as you have mentioned) a bath tub.
The ethanol fireplaces are yet to be certified and as such we do not advertise these as a feature of the rooms. We are expecting this to be rectified in the coming weeks.
Regarding the views, all of our one bedroom apartments are downstairs and do not really offer a view. Instead each of them has their own courtyard which offers a lovely private space to enjoy with your guests.

None of this changes the stay that you had and I certainly would like to make this up to you. Please feel free to contact me when you next have the opportunity to visit the Hunter and I would be more than happy to handle your booking personally.

Thank you again,

Ian Muller
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure The Vintage
imuller@thevintage.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding in January as it was close to the venue, I booked the two bedroom apartment which was fantastic for 2 couples. The decor was very contemporary, almost new and very clean.

The apartment had everything we could possibly need, the kitchen is very well stocked for cooking and dinning. The living/dining area was very spacious which leads onto a balcony overlooking the golf course, very nice view there were also sun loungers which were great. Bedrooms are very spacious, comfy bed, there is a glass panel that looks through to the bathroom which was an interesting find!

Overall I couldn’t fault our stay, it’s a perfect base for exploring the Hunter wineries and great it there are a few of you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00785Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
0.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley

Address: Vintage Drive | Hunter Valley, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range: $203 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley is situated just 2 hours drive north of Sydney and 30kms west of the heritage city of Maitland. Surrounded by vineyards, the Grand Mercure is located within The Vintage resort and features contemporary two bedroom 4.5 star luxury apartments that have been designed to complement the area's natural environment and prestigious location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Mercure Hotel Rothbury
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing