We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Scoopon Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Scoopon Ever!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place. The apartment was lovely, clean & spacious with a very nice view. I don't think I would have loved it here in peak time though as I think it would get very noisy from surrounding apartments, we only had one night with a group of people a few apartments down & we had to close the doors & put a/c on as it was like their conversation was happening on our deck. We were also lucky to be positioned on the edge of the resort, being in the middle wouldn't be great.

The kitchen is the only disappointment, although not unusual for modern apartments. No oven, just a microwave & two burners. The burners are so small you can't actually use them both at the same time though as two pots won't fit. Poorly stocked cupboards...you need to bring everything including containers so it would be pretty hard (or expensive) to be self contained if you weren't driving from home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lozenges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    89
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
74
124
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I expected a bit more for my money at this hotel. Hotel management is very basic, check in is at the sales office. Rooms are not serviced during your stay, and a list of rules greets you in the welcome letter. Room service options don't start until 5pm, so don't plan a lazy day without having gone to the shops first! But the room are large, relatively well maintained and you have a bit of privacy as units are spread out. Easy access to most attractions in the Hunter, and next door to good wineries, restaurants and a golf course.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuNu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Mecure Vintage apartments for a long weekend in August. Booked for the week as part of an Interval Getaway, but only managed to stay for 4 nights due to work commitments. Even only staying the 4 nights, it was fantastic value for money and far exceeded our expectations. We travelled as 2 couples and had a 2 BRM apartment that was superbly setup with totally seperate rooms, each with their own bathroom and each with their own oversized shower and bath tub. Right in the middle of the main winery area and next to Bimbadgen Estate which was one of our favorites. The club house bar was the perfect place to soak up the 23+ degree days we experienced. The food in both the bar and restaurant was excellent although possibly higher prices than other local establishments, but well worth the money.

In particular I would like to mention Linda who was the wine connoisseur at the restaurant. She gave us some wonderful local tip on places to visit and wineries not to be missed. Overall the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Being golfers we were keen for a round, but it seemed a bit overpriced, especially $59 for club hire for 18 holes. May pack the clubs next time we visit.

We will definately be back!!!

Room Tip: We asked for a couples apartment and received the perfect setup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmills_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Check in was very simple. We were given our free coupons for Wifi. Then off to the room. Parked in locked garage, with parking outside for one other car as well. We walked upstairs to our unit that looked fantastic & was beautiful & warm. We felt right at home straight away. Both bathrooms have a magnificent big bath. In the main bathroom you can even watch the TV through the window. TV in bedroom has foxtel. Even though it was late July the spa over near the tennis court was fantastic way to relax after a game of tennis. We took our own tennis racquets & balls which ment we could just play whenever we wanted to. If you need gear you had to book through the pro shop. the lap pool was also a great temperature. Pool towels are also provided. The beds are very comfortable I slept like a baby every night. Everything is there for you to use, full kitchen, washing machine,dryer, 2TVs, gas fire, outdoor table & lounges. inside lounge very comfortable

Room Tip: The upstairs 2 bedroom are fantastic. One veranda got the morning sun the other got the arvo sun, gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My family of four (two teen-aged boys) stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 5 nights. Boy, I was blown away by the our mini-home. There were two balconies, one for outdoor dining setting, the other for sun-lounging. Our apt was in a second level which I loved.

Things I loved in this property:
- the fireplace
- two flatscreen TVs
- BluRay DVD player
- Two bathtubs that has a transparent glass wall that overlooks the bedroom!
- Free wifi (which we did not use as I did not realise until later that it is available. We had ample 3G coverage instead).
- Comfy beds, lots of cupboard space
- Laundry amenities
- Kangaroos are local residents; they seem to "live" within the boundaries of the estate

Downside: It's minor. The dishwasher was a bit small. So we ended up using it after every meal which I wasnt happy about, environmentally-wise. But thats just me.

They have a gym and a heated pool which we did not have a chance to use, being a winter visit. I can imagine fun fun fun during summer.

Bring your bikes if you can. Its a safe and beautiful place to bike around. You can also bike from vineyard to vineyard if your legs are strong. Overall, this property is huge, and expansive. Its a perfect getaway if you are into solitude and vastness :)

Room Tip: Second floor apartments are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stingfantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M, General Manager at Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Stingfantoo,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent stay here at Grand Mercure The Vintage. The team here work very hard to live up to the great reputation we have earned over the years and it's feedback like this which help us to know we're on the right track.

So thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Vintage soon.

Kind Regards,

Ian Muller
Hotel Manager
Grand Mercure The Vintage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
0.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley

Property: Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive | Hunter Valley, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley is situated just 2 hours drive north of Sydney and 30kms west of the heritage city of Maitland. Surrounded by vineyards, the Grand Mercure is located within The Vintage resort and features contemporary two bedroom 4.5 star luxury apartments that have been designed to complement the area's natural environment and prestigious location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Mercure Hotel Rothbury
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing