We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, gorgeous setting”

Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm
Price range: $36 - $44
Cuisines: Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm offers simple, smart, shared dining for groups of two or more. Offering a more gamey menu than its sister restaurant, Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm offers share plates for guests to enjoy a variety of tastes in one sitting. Coupled with the best of Hunter wine from neighbours and the on-site working winery, Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm is a must-do for any visit to the Hunter.
Sydney
2 reviews
“Amazing food, gorgeous setting”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing lunch at leaves and fishes in November. The menu was fantastic, quality of food was excellent and great service. we will definitely be back

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJLau79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We're delighted that you had a terrific experience at Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm. We believe that our setting is unique with our popular front deck overlooking the working vineyard. Thank-you for your kind comments regarding the food and service - our staff are very pleased to receive your feedback for all their hard work. We are excited about your return to try new additions to our menu and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Leaves & Fishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Setting, Average Food, Bad Service”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nice Setting and Views:
Upon arrival, we were impressed with the location and the views of the vineyard from the balcony. It is a great setting but it is the Hunter Valley, so such settings are abundant.

Average Food:
Overall the food was a mixed bag with some very tasty entrees and some tasteless main meals. The main meals arrived over a very, very long period (perhaps 2 hours), so some people had finished eating long before others received their meals.

Given the price of the food, I expected better quality.

Bad Service:
The main waiter that served our table was rude and unaccommodating. When we asked to move some of the tables so that our company of friends could sit together, he mocked us and likened us to primary school kids. Bad service ensued throughout the remainder of the lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BD314217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank-you for your review of Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm. Our front verandah is very popular overlooking the working vineyard and we were happy to allow your group exclusive use of the deck during your special event on the day.

While a treatment of your comments has been given in response to "Disappointing and plenty better options in the region", we remind you that Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm is a shared food restaurant and delivers excellent quality food at a very competitive price when other restaurants are around $100 per person. We re-iterate that Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm is a shared-food restaurant: it is meaningless to suggest that some guests received "their" meals before others. All of the meals are designed to share with all of the guests and your contact for your email enquiry was notified of this and a received a copy of the menu. As stated already, the lack of communication within in your group has led to the establishment not meeting your very different expectations of what Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm provides.

You are warmly invited to dine at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant which may meet your more customary expectations of a dining out experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing and plenty better options in the region”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Decided to try out this new spot (Black Creek Farm) which we found rather disappointing. Snail pace service despite the restaurant being relatively empty and having previously advised of our time restrictions. The food was ok when considering the many great alternatives in the region, and serving sizes were very small.
We were a decent sized group and all were a little taken back by the arrogance of the wait staff, who proudly advised they too were the restaurant owners. There generally appeared to be a sense of 'we're doing it our way and if you don't like it, there are plenty other places for you', which is a little uncharacteristic for the Hunter Valley, and sad.
Only consolation is the beautiful setting, though sadly a case of not judging a book by its cover.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank-you for your review of Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm. Our picturesque vineyard is maintained by the owner and affords wonderful vistas from the restaurant seated within the 8 acres of Semillon, Chardonnay and Shiraz vines.

We can appreciate the restaurant appeared empty as we had allowed your group to use the popular front deck exclusively for your party to afford you some privacy. We are certain that the service was at a consistent pace and that there was plenty of food for your guests to share. Indeed, the majority of customers do not finish their main shared meals when dining because there is so much food supplied. Perhaps too many other guests had taken their portion of your favourite dish and you had missed out? - We often find that guests can be somewhat disappointed when they are not generously inclined to the family-style shared meals at Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm.

We were not informed of any timing restrictions when you placed your reservation via email. Furthermore, you also arrived 30 minutes late and preceded to re-arrange the restaurant furniture for 10 minutes before realising that staff had prepared the space adequately already for your group. We provided a copy of the menu via email when placing your booking from which to make your selection from and had informed you that the chef would choose meals for your group. We did not receive any correspondence in this regard so when you arrived, you insisted on choosing your own meals which took an additional 20 minutes. There was a gross lack of communication on your groups' part in this regard which led to you not keeping your schedule. This is unfortunate as several customers at Leaves & Fishes enjoy the strong relationship we have with several wineries so that their wine and food experience is a seamless transition. We are equally discouraged that when our contact for your group enquired about BYO wine options, none of your group took advantage of the free corkage offer we have with our winery partners.

This incident is not a case of judging a book by its cover - your contact for your reservation was fully-informed of the menu and service your group could expect from Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm. Indeed, it was this information that led you to dine at Black Creek Farm instead of Lovedale Restaurant. Had you not agreed with the service description at the time of the reservation enquiry, you were welcome to select another venue to dine at. It is no surprise that a restaurant manager would defend their own service when challenged by a group when that group was made fully aware of what to expect before arriving.

We strongly encourage you to organise yourselves as a group before contacting a restaurant to ensure that all of your requests are relayed properly. Dining as a large group requires compromise. If this is not something you feel you are capable of, we welcome you to dine at Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant as a smaller party in the future as we feel this venue would suit your preferences better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise off beaten path”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We came across this place accidentally and so glad we did. We visited some chef hat restaurants while here on holiday and this was everyone's favorite. First, the farm house has a wondering veranda that overlooks the vineyards below and sets the scene for a wonderful meal. We took a dozen or so places. very instagram worth post opportunities. The food was excellent and very well priced. Loui, our waiter, was a riot. He entertained us throughout our 3 hour lunch. They had music playing which I personally to add to the atmosphere.
Great views, great food, and wonderful service. 5 star rating from our entire group. We will return on our next trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are delighted to receive your review of Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal, our surrounds and our service on your latest visit. Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm is an ideal venue for group bookings because of our great shared-food menu and we are happy that each of your members felt welcome thanks to our engaging staff. Thank-you for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you at Leaves & Fishes again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, relaxed atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had fantastic lunch at Black Creek Farm. The veranda has a beautiful view over the vineyards and we happily settled in for the afternoon. Louie, the manager, is a charming and entertaining host who regaled us with stories and provided some great advice about which vineyards to visit and places to stay for our next trip. Louie also provided guidance on what dishes to chose from the menu and we were not disappointed with any. There were some standouts though, the bourbon and honey braised brisket was oh so soft and delicious, and my partner rated the chilli bean/tortilla chip starter as one of the best things he ate over the entire weekend! The drunken orange cake was our favourite desert - unique and amazing! We enjoyed every mouthful. We will definitely return to Black Creek Farm.

I did find it a little confusing when I booked as the same family runs 'Leaves and Fishes' restaurant at Lovedale and when you call to make a reservation for Black Creek Farm the phone diverts to the Lovedale restaurant, so I had actually made a reservation there thinking that I had one at Black Creek Farm. It was all sorted out because they called me on the morning of my reservation to confirm but it might be clearer if Trip Advisor just refers to this restaurant as Black Creek Farm (which is what the family seem to do) and the other one as Leaves and Fishes, or this is clearly pointed out when you make a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeavesandFishes, Manager at Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank-you for your delightful review of Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm. We are glad that Loui was most helpful during your stay and we are sure that the staff enjoyed your company immensely. Thank-you for your kind feedback regarding our newly released menu and we hope that we will have many wonderful new dishes for you to try on your next visit to Leaves & Fishes.

We work hard with our local wine partners to present a wine list focused on the best Hunter-grown varieties and offer free corkage for any wine purchased at our wine partners' cellar doors. We are happy to recommend to all our customers wine experiences that will suit their taste and we hope that your next visit is no exception. We look forward to your return to Leaves & Fishes again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm also viewed

Rothbury, Cessnock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing