We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - cant wait to visit again!”

Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm
Price range: $36 - $44
Cuisines: Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm offers simple, smart, shared dining for groups of two or more. Offering a more gamey menu than its sister restaurant, Leaves & Fishes Lovedale Restaurant, Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm offers share plates for guests to enjoy a variety of tastes in one sitting. Coupled with the best of Hunter wine from neighbours and the on-site working winery, Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm is a must-do for any visit to the Hunter.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic - cant wait to visit again!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The location is picturesque. The service friendly, approachable and knowledgeable. The menu focuses on local produce and wine producers. The food is amazing in both presentation and quality. I can't wait to visit again soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“The new face of the Hunter Valley”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a gorgeous spot! Perfect for a sundowner, lunch or dinner. Really great food made simply and for a great price which is pretty rare in the Hunter, really refreshing new restaurant. You must try this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent dinner beautiful spot!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here on a Friday night. Was a lovely spot to watch the sunset. food and service were excellent. the food is designed to be shared so the only thing I could suggest is to consider the number of pieces. e.g. the salmon had 7 pieces and the lamb 3.

Wattle seed cream brulee was awesome!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blackdelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional food but poor service”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The dishes that I would like to highlight are: rice with jambalaya and chorizo, which is slightly spicy and risotto-like, and lamb shanks, which comes in an aromatic dipping sauce. This place has an exceptional view of the Hunter vineyards from the balcony. We might have come at the wrong time, however, as there were barely any staff to take orders and food took a while to serve. Our lunch session ended up lasting 90 minutes, which is a pity considering how attractive the food had been.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anggiarto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, Great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had this restaurant recommended by other tourists during a different shared experience.
They were right. The food, the service, the views... they were all wonderful.
The shared dishes would make this a great place for a larger group of friends (simply so you could try a larger variety from the menu) but we had a lovely lunch and really enjoyed our experience even if we couldn't possibly finish everything (although we still made room for a dessert!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eternlslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaves & Fishes Black Creek Farm also viewed

Rothbury, Cessnock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing