We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and relaxing”

RidgeView Restaurant,Wines & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $37
Cuisines: European, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our sumptuous cypriot mezze menu uses fresh seasonal produce and is designed to enhance the flavour of our wines. Comprising 15 dishes over four courses, the feast includes home made dips, cypriot salads as well as slow cooked meat from our specially designed cypriot grills. You wont leave hungry. Lighter options are also available and all dietry requirements are also catered for. Our award winning wines are available in the restaurant at cellar door prices. You can choose to also dine alfresco on our balcony over looking the picturesque vineyard or in our air conditioned restaurant. Our cottages offer a secluded setting amongst the vineyards and bushland. Features include spa bath, full kitchen, log fire, air conditioning, private bbq, jacuzzi, sauna and undercover parking. Enjoy all that the property offers. Relax in the infinity edge swimming pool or have a hit on the rebound ace tennis court. At RidgeView we also have the perfect setting for that special occasion whether it be your wedding, birthday or engagement to name a few. Our executive chef will tailor a menu that suits the occasion perfectly.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant and relaxing”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We visited for an early dinner recently. Located out of the way, there is some unsealed road to travel but it is worth the effort.
The service was relaxed and friendly. We enjoyed a glass of wine with their dip and bread platter (which is very filling), while we watched the sun go down over the vineyard. We then moved on to the pork meatballs, chilli squid (with corresponding wines). Whilst we had planned to have dessert, we had decided that we had eaten enough. We even liked the wine we had with dinner so much that we bought a few bottles to take home.
There were a couple of dishes in each course that were not available which was disappointing. I would really have loved to try the slow cooked veal.
I would like to visit again another time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mar1ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    36
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty food with great outlook”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had a 7pm booking for two on a Friday night however were running a little late so called the venue to ask if we could push the time out to 8pm, however were told that it could not be done.

We arrived close to the original 7pm booking time, to a mostly empty restaurant (so table availability clearly wasn't the problem in moving the booking time back but probably moreso staff who didn't want a late night).

We had a table that was a little set back from the view (would have been great to have a table closer) however the ambience was still quiet and lovely.

The food was great; we got 4 share plates between 2 people, with a dessert to share which was enough for us.

At times I felt the service was a little pushy (again, I got the feeling they wanted people in and out of there) which was not appreciated given the dishes weren't cheap.

Would recommend this, would be a great day time venue if you are seated near the view edge.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

What a gorgeous location! And the staff were very accommodating - we were lucky to have the restaurant to ourselves on a rainy Sunday morning but they turned the tv on for the kids - once the kids came in from running out on the grass by the dam. Beware the dirt road on the trip out there. We'll be going back for kid-less dinner with friends.

Helpful?
2 Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An absolute must”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I would have to say this was one of the best restaurants I have visited for a long time.
The food, service, ambience and setting was amazing. If you are going to the Hunter this has to be at the top of your restaurant list. The chef even came out and chatted with us about the foods.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Winery”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This out of the way estate is one of the best winemakers in the area that no one gets to. The cellar door is never crowded and the service is personal and welcoming. Been here many times with small groups and can definitely recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RidgeView Restaurant,Wines & Cottages also viewed

Rothbury, Cessnock
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to RidgeView Restaurant,Wines & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing