We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Celebration”
Review of Rothbury Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rothbury Escape
Ranked #1 of 2 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked out the entire venue for the three day celebration of a 50th birthday - we couldn't have been happier or more impressed. Venue owner, Christine, ensured that we felt right at home and that everything was special - even leaving a birthday banner and a gorgeous cuddly gift ! She was very amenable, even happy to liaise with our caterers that were providing our evening dinners.
The rooms were ideal for the needs of our group, they were comfortable, clean and warm. The breakfast provisions were ample and the amenities of the lounge/ kitchen area were excellent ( loved the dishwasher). Many a laugh was shared over some wine by the log fire. The rural setting is peaceful and picturesque - a beautiful way to wake up each morning.
Thank you Rothbury Escape for being a special part of a special celebration.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank gilly1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

My daughter and I stayed overnight at Rothbury Escape on a recent trip to the Hunter Valley. A little our of the way, but a lovely country atmosphere. Very good value, including adequate light breakfast and wine and cheese in the room. Wil definitely stay again, and longer next time! Note - don't rely on the GPS to get there! Follow directions on the website.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

First time travellers to Hunter Valley (like us) might take a little long to find this place as it is a little off the beaten path and our GPS couldn't locate the road. Once there however, we were greeted warmly by the hosts and found ourselves the only guests in this 8 unit accomodation. There is a large and comfortable central lounge/kitchen area in the centre which we had free access to and which we used to cook our dinner. The location was perfect to explore all other parts of Hunter Valley. Most wonderful of all was how all rooms opened up to beautiful views of Brokenback Ranges. We would definitely go back there again if we ever wanted to go to Hunter Valley again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whisker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This is a great mid-priced place to explore the Hunter Valley. The rooms are a good size and scrupuloulsy clean. There is a substantial guest lounge availlable with huge barbecue and outdoor seating. There was also a salt water swimming pool which we did not use. Our hosts were friendly and gave us a warm welcome. NB this is rather remote however there is a shuttle bus/taxi taht may be able to pick you up totake you too dinner - there are excellent cooking facilities there however.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FTVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Rothbury Escape, at Rothbury in the Hunter Valley Wine Region, provides delightful accommodation in large, serviced en suite rooms, with private courtyard to sit out on and relax, with views of farming country and Brokenback Ranges. Central kitchen/dining/lounge for guests provides area for cooking or relaxing.
Very good value for 3 night mid week stay, $87 per night, which includes light breakfast and bottle of Hunter wine on arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

A great long week end, good location, quiet and secluded spoilt by lack of attention to the small details. Bathroom door handle about to fall off, shower joint leaks water everywhere, fan/heater full of dust and missing its cover, smoke alarm taped up with a Woolworths shop a docket and sticky tape. Waste bins not emptied between days, stayed Saturday and Sunday but bathroom and room bins left full of papers and general rubbish, overflowing by Sunday night, Monday morning. Small items that only need a little attention but spoilt the overall appearance of the porperty otherwise a very enjoyable time. I would stay again if these items were attended to. .

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank friend553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
2.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hunter Hideaway Cottages
Hunter Hideaway Cottages
#4 of 9 in Rothbury
72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burncroft Guesthouse
Burncroft Guesthouse
#9 of 9 in Rothbury
13 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Accor Vacation Club Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothbury Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothbury Escape

Address: 310 Talga Rd, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: $109 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothbury Escape 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rothbury Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothbury Escape Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing