We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway destination”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed twice here, once in december'13 and in july'14. I would recommend to go to d valley during d Aussie summers when d vineyards are bursting with grapes r almost ready to be harvested.
We stayed in d spa villas and they have a beautiful view of the golf course and d waters. Do look out for better deals and its better to book early coz its expensive during d holidays. You will see kangaroos everywhere hopping freely all over d resort. Kids enjoy that. Spa villas have a very contemporary design and comes with a kitchenette and separate dining. They have washing machine too :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    268
    95
    37
    18
See reviews for
112
703
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Watsons Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very nice hotel room. It was massive! Pretty outlook too. My only complaint is the crap WIFI and the concierge not giving us directions to our room (it was a bit of a drive) which meant we got lost. We had dinner at the restaurant, which although overpriced was very tasty. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Every once in a while we are on the receiving end of being cared for which is so much more rejuvenating that receiving great service. The staff did exactly that for me - they cared. From the moment I checked in and through each experience at the Coffee Shop, The Spa, The Vintage and Conferencing, I mattered and everyone working there help make my experience extraordinary.

I stayed in a Spa Suite (Paris) which was private and gorgeous and the bed and bedding made for restful sleeps. I've planned our return trip for our AGM and after sharing the conferencing facilities available with the rest of the team, they are keen to visit there before our next scheduled event.

Much thanks for the great care and beautiful environment...I'll be seeing you again soon.

Catherine

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We recently got married on the 12th July at Chateau Élan and also stayed in the one bedroom villa for 3 nights.
AMAZING!! From the food to the scenery and the room.
But the greatest thing about this place is the staff. Huge thank you!! And a special mention to Corinne and Keith!
❤️

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I dont know where to start - absolutely without a doubt fabulous. The staff have impeccable manners, are customer service savvy and overall make your stay fantastic. The spa staff are so professional, it's a pleasure to be there. Had a super apartment, spacious, views over the golf course terrific. Food was devine, delicious and the choices were endless.
Would recommend this to anyone that is considering their next stay in the Hunter Valley. Thank you to the staff who excel in their areas of expertise

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avidotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ryde, Australia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

From the time we arrived to play golf nothing was missed, Carts, practice balls and one really challenging golf course, the Vintage. But is was the Cafe and Apartments which were the most spectacular views of the course. From the large Bathroom with spa bath to the very comfortable King Size Bed. I wish we had spend more time soaking up the golf course from the private alfresco area attached to the apartment. It was nice to have champagne and snacks after golf in the cafe. Dinner in the restaurant was also very enjoyable. Service included some great recommendation of local Hunter Shiraz to match the Black Angus steak. We strolled back to cafe for breakfast the following morning and were not disappointment by the broad choice from the buffet. Wow..looking forward to going back for longer next trip.

Room Tip: Pick and upstair room to get the best view of the golf course. Oh, and there is a helipad at the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have stayed at a few places in the hunter valley region and this place is by far the nicest. It is new, the rooms are spacious and modern. We stayed here in summer and got to use the pool. It was great becasue not many people use it so we had it to ourselves. The staff was helpful. It is an expensive place to stay at but if you dont mind paying the price and want to stay somewhere nice I would stay here again. Ive paid similar prices in the hunter for much worse accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz255333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing