We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the cost if you're planning on staying in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the cost if you're planning on staying in!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in a spa villa which was fantastic! The room was warm and inviting and after a day at the vineyards, we would arrive home to neatly serviced room with the heater on which was a nice touch. If you're planning on spending time in your room,I would recommend bringing a robe as these were not provided in the spa villa. All in all, a cosy spot for enjoying a wine and watching the sunset over the hunter valley hills!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    277
    96
    38
    19
See reviews for
114
720
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I just spent two wonderful days in this place of peace and relaxation.
The villa was sensational and the meals in the restaurant where beautiful. The entire stay was made so pleasurable because the staff were so willing to help on any request.
The location was very central to all wineries and cheese factories we were very spoilt. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice relaxing break.

Room Tip: Villas located on golf course are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funaussie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My partner and I have stayed at the Chateau Elan multiple times over the last few years and we would never book elsewhere if we were visiting the Hunter Valley. The hotel is extremely luxurious, the staff are always friendly and professional, eager to help out with restaurant bookings or even find out the best taxi deals. The rooms are always cleaned to perfection and we always get a silent comfortable night’s sleep. The hotel is situated only a short distance from the main winery crossroads. We hired a tandem bike for the weekend (definitely not big cyclists), but it was by far the best way to see the beautiful country and the lovely wineries in the area. The bar and restaurant in the Chateau Elan are excellent and open reasonably late. By far one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays in Australia.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGoricha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spend a very good weekend with my wife in Hunter and stayed for 2 nights with late checkout on Sunday. It's not cheap but 1 bedroom suites with a fireplace are very spacious and nice, with good kitchens. Hotel is new and suites are modern and have a very comfortable layout however there are still few things which owners can do to create a truly luxurious experience for guests. Just a little bit more attention to smaller details (like those cold white ceiling lights) will make it really upmarket.

The only real disappointment is The Legends restaurant. We booked a table to have a dinner straight after Friday evening arrival. The restaurant is very expensive however steaks were quite average and sides were tasteless.
It would be alright for a pub but in this price range you can get 5 times better experience in places like Bistro Molines or in new restaurant in Leogate Estate.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suites with fireplace are very nice romantic getaway in winter . Fireplace is great! Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad_and_Marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Helen's service from reception was outstanding. We had to get our wine home and were having a few problems with freight company's . After we left, Helen continued to pursue this and we got our wine home safe and sound. Thank you so much - you went above and beyond your job. The male staff member driving the buggies was so friendly and always available to drive us to reception, room, restaurant, etc. Rooms were very tasteful and such a pleasure watching hot air balloons in the morning from our patio. Have told everyone of our great stay and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We came to the Hunter Valley to celebrate a significant birthday and stayed at Chateau Elan for 3 nights! Our room, in one of the villas, was spacious as was the bathroom. The only downside was that the fridge in our room didn't work and spoilt cheese we had bought locally to enjoy with a glass of wine. We found the $10 voucher for breakfast to be really good value at $26pp. Breakfast was a buffet with great things to choose from (bread, pancakes, croissants, pastries, meats, eggs etc). There are few dining options at the hotel other than the restaurant and cafe. Therefore, you need to travel to local areas for meals. We went on a winery tour and were collected from the hotel. Visitors from overseas can enjoy the kangaroos at a close distance. If you enjoy/play golf - this is definitely the place for you as the golf course was just outside our door.
We found the cafe near the reception to have an overwhelming incense smell which some guests may find really overpowering. It is such a shame as the cafe would have been so enjoyable. Staff were friendly and offered tips and ideas. We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the villas are spacious - those on the corners appear to have a 'fake' log fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheresthebarandcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom spa villa for two nights, using it at as base while we hit the Hunter Valley wine trail over the April Easter weekend.

Our villa was beautifully appointed and included a kitchenette, dining and lounge rooms, and even a washing machine. Sadly, we didn’t get to fully use the villa’s facilities in our short stay or, indeed, the full facilities and services of the resort ☹

If you can, book a ground villa as the great outdoors is literally a step away. Bring a picnic blanket and enjoy wine and cheese as you overlook the golf course.

Our highlights:

• Kangaroos that jump past your villa morning and night, literally just a metre away
• Glamnicking – glamourous picnicking – with your room’s facilities a few steps away
• Friendly and efficient staff, especially the housekeepers

A minor glitch was receiving an email inviting us to a cheese/wine tasting on the afternoon of our arrival. It was cancelled, but no one let us know, even at check-in. Apparently, they couldn’t get a wine licence.

A smart marketer would have offered a discount on the cheese that day…We ordered a cheese platter of three cheeses for $25.

We’d defo stay here again and are planning our next trip.

Room Tip: See review: ask for a ground floor suite if you want to see kangaroos up close and personal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LislP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing