We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgot my Clubs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Berowra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Forgot my Clubs”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Lovely location, only problem is that I forgot my clubs!!
The rooms were beautiful and the local wallabies just over the hill were very cool to see. The restaurant was not only great for dinner but the breakfast was sensational also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iHowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    268
    95
    37
    18
See reviews for
112
703
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We came with some skeptism as there are a number of mixed reviews on TA.

Unless disabled or with young kids I am really not sure why people feel the villas are too far away from main reception - we were villa 5 and it took two minutes walk. Heaps of parking.

The villas were super clean and modern, very spacious, beautiful toiletries. Room cleaned daily and everything topped up (towels, toiletries). Fireplace takes patience to get started but totally worth it. Balcony is lovely with a really peaceful outlook. Kitchen is generally well equipped and we cooked a couple of times but ours was sans toaster - suggest they get toasters...

Hotel gym is great with three treadmills, rower, bike, elliptical and weights - just BYO towel as they don't supply them.

Vintage bar is nice for pre dinner drink too (didn't eat there as the reviews from TA plus others we met were pretty scathing).

We wish we were here longer.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura0576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
330 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our first trip to Hunter Valley. The concierge was amazing and arranged wonderful trips for us upfront. The service was good and friendly. Legends Grill serves great steaks and wine. The rooms are spacious and I loved the moving and massaging beds. I had a facial and the lady at the spa was very competent. And there are kangaroos on the property. A lovely place to stay.


Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding ceremony and reception here.
The area is well presented and looks fantastic, the golf course and winery intertwine.
The food was great, staff and services where top notch.
The location is a bit hard to find, but worth it. When you get there it is a bit of a rabbit worn, there is a not of sine post to make the drive around easy (workable).

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lobster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights up to an including a weekend. Had a Spa suite, As you walk into the room there is a large spa tub facing you then a half wall and then the bed. hence the name of the room. These rooms are in the main building and we had a 1st floor room which had a balcony. Bed is soft and also fully adjustable which seemed a bit of a gimmick but was fun to play with. Rest of the room was up to scratch. A buffet breakfast is available at the golf club next door which is about 150m walk. There is a small café in the lobby but it seems to operate only on weekends. The location is quite good and near the north end of Wine Country Drive. The new express way makes it an easy drive from Sydney. The staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We recently booked a single night at Chateau Élan on trip advisor. It was a Sunday night and we paid $199.00 including a bottle of wine. We stayed in one of the villa's and it was really lovely. Large rooms with nice furnishings. The bathroom was huge and well stocked. We had dinner at the restaurant which was well priced for the location and a really nice meal. We also had breakfast the next morning which was also great. We were surprised at how good the overall experience was and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontiNb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Chateau Elan and had a wonderful experience. Hotel is overlooking a golf course. One afternoon we had 8 kangeroos outside our ground floor room. Luckiley they were friendly and actually posed whilst I took photos of them. Very friendly staff. Both nights we had dinner at local restaurants, Roberts and Amandas. Because the hotel wasn't very busy, one of the staff drove us there and when we were ready to return, he came and collected us, saving our many US dollars in cab fares. The founds are magnificant, quite near to the Binbagen Estate, winery, which has wonderful scenery overlooking the vineyards. You can go to Hunter Valley without going on a wine tour.

Room Tip: Some of the buildings have no lift. Ground floor rooms are easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing