We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience at Chateau Elan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Chateau Elan and had a wonderful experience. Hotel is overlooking a golf course. One afternoon we had 8 kangeroos outside our ground floor room. Luckiley they were friendly and actually posed whilst I took photos of them. Very friendly staff. Both nights we had dinner at local restaurants, Roberts and Amandas. Because the hotel wasn't very busy, one of the staff drove us there and when we were ready to return, he came and collected us, saving our many US dollars in cab fares. The founds are magnificant, quite near to the Binbagen Estate, winery, which has wonderful scenery overlooking the vineyards. You can go to Hunter Valley without going on a wine tour.

Room Tip: Some of the buildings have no lift. Ground floor rooms are easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is not a boutique location for couples it is a golf course development with a spa attached. On the up side the spa was awesome and I can see it being useful for the golf widows. The staff on reception and the spa were great and looked after us very well. On the downside it is very over priced and unless you need to distract your wife with the spa while you play golf it's expensive for what it is. We regularly travel to luxury accommodation but we won't be back here. Went for a swim in the pool and there was a family having a birthday party for a 9 year old, this is what we wanted a break from. We stuck it pool side but the screaming children (not their fault) were too much so retreated to the room. If you want privacy and a romantic location this is not for you. When you pay these prices you expect to get things like wifi for free, not 50mb free then you have to pay, it's not the cost it's the principal. 3 star rather than 5.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here get a room on the golf course side otherwise you'll have no view or a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyHammer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was our 2nd stay here in 2 years and was still great this villa style accommodation is great the spa bathrooms are so big the only thing instant I would like not just this hotel but all to get decent lighting over the bathroom mirror so that you can actually apply your makeup. Everything else was great. A beautiful fruit planter awaited us welcoming us back which was 2 years ago so they obviously do therein homework to see if you return. There are lots of kangaroos hanging out at the property and you can get up close this is amazing the golf course which the property on is great even for a non golfer and there is a path that you can walk around on which the buggies use. The facilities are good and the Legends grill in house restaurant has great food and a good selection of wine the waiter knew a great deal about each wine we enquired about. Overall for a romantic get away would definitely recommend we will certainly be returning

Room Tip: Villa on ground floor so that you can sit outside with a nice glass of wine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathya395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed for two nights for a weekend getaway in a king room spa villa. We played 9 holes on the golf course before we checked in which was not only fun but very picturesque and a great way to make the most of the first day before check in. Lots of kangaroos were lazily watching on. Check in was quick and the staff were really friendly and would happily go out of their way to ensure you have everything that you need. The rooms were really ultra clean, comfortable and serviced daily. We ordered room service the first night and agree with others that it was very limited in selection and a bit ordinary. I think room service is add on as can only have take away food like burgers/pizza/fish and chips etc that can be delivered in boxes no plates. Youy also can only order/deliver between 5pm-10pm. Food did arrive quickly and was still warm but we probably wouldn't order again. We ate at the legends restaurant on the second night and even though they were busy our meals arrived quickly, steak was perfectly cooked to order and when finished we did not feel that we were being rushed out despite them being busy. We took advantage of the pick up and drop off service via golf buggy which was very quick in arrival and saved us the walk. We booked in on a special price ($220p/n) which I found fair value but would have possibly been disappointed if paid premium and was expecting full 5 star. As I had read the previous reviews knew wasn't quite 5 star so prepared before arrival. The worst thing we found about the rooms was on the decks/verandas (which have a lovely view of the golf course and surrounding hills) was the separating dividers from neighbouring decks were slatted (3cm gap between each slat) so you could see completely through not only to your neighbours outside tables/area but also partly into their rooms which made it a bit uncomfortable to relax on the deck if the neighbours were already out there or if they were watching a movie loudly as felt like we were in their room. I guess the slats provide air flow but does not provide any soundproofing or privacy. Thankfully our neighbours were relatively quiet and didn't seem to use their decks so we able to feel a little a peace and enjoy the view in the sunshine. Hopefully they address this issue in the future as would put a lot of people off I would think. Would happily stay again but only at a special price.

Room Tip: if you want to be close to the restaurant/facilities stay in Villa 1-2. if you prefer more peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

The place is really good... Stayed for 2 nights... Awesome service and great staff. Great room and fast internet. I stayed at villa 1 which was near to eateries and other areas however other villas are a bit far and can be tiresome walking up n down. Though golf carts are available for transportation.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank RaviFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a work conference. Great service, & the villas are top shelf! Complete with a fire place (for winter) Couldn't fault it. Then again I wasn't paying for it either. If you do choose a villa, take #1 as the walk up the hill can be a bit of distance from the higher #s. They do offer golf carts though! The kangaroos bounding across the fields were a bonus!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank paulrampling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We chose this location as the web site made it look like a quiet boutique and luxurious location, be warned you can get stuck breakfast staff who tell you "we are too busy help" drunken yahoos till all hours of the morning and don't expect to be able to have dinner on site as they cannot cater for all hotel guests. On the up side the spa was faultless.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
904 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range: $101 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing