We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Suva, Fiji
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

The place is really good... Stayed for 2 nights... Awesome service and great staff. Great room and fast internet. I stayed at villa 1 which was near to eateries and other areas however other villas are a bit far and can be tiresome walking up n down. Though golf carts are available for transportation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RaviFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    282
    98
    41
    19
See reviews for
118
736
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a work conference. Great service, & the villas are top shelf! Complete with a fire place (for winter) Couldn't fault it. Then again I wasn't paying for it either. If you do choose a villa, take #1 as the walk up the hill can be a bit of distance from the higher #s. They do offer golf carts though! The kangaroos bounding across the fields were a bonus!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank paulrampling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We chose this location as the web site made it look like a quiet boutique and luxurious location, be warned you can get stuck breakfast staff who tell you "we are too busy help" drunken yahoos till all hours of the morning and don't expect to be able to have dinner on site as they cannot cater for all hotel guests. On the up side the spa was faultless.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed only one night to see The Boss in concert at Hope Estate. We acknowledge it was a busy weekend for accommodation in the Hunter. We travelled by private transfer from Sydney arriving at Chateau Elan at 12:45. Upon arrival we were advised our accommodation was not ready. Were advised to do something and they would phone us when our suite was ready. With no car to go anywhere, we strolled around the grounds for some time. By 2:10pm still no call about our room so went to reception to be advised that our room was now available. A rushed half an hour to get ready in time for coach travel to concert venue. Next morning we had early breakfast and the options for breakfast were good. Transfer back to Sydney to catch flight back to Darwin. A very rushed trip in all. Expensive stay for the short time we had. Staff were friendly but room access disappointing. Surely extra staff could have employed to cater for the additional guests.

Room Tip: Our room faced the driveway/entrance to the reception area. Needed to close curtains for privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg and Dick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for just one night whilst seeing a concert at the Hope Estate. Everything in our apartment was great, and very comfortable. I only wish I had realised that the restaurant was not very good - we were hoping to eat a lovely lunch before the gig, and ended up with a less than average bar food choice with dubious service. Everything crumbed and fried. Yuck. Bring your own food!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Perky-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bathurst, australia
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days to see the Boss and sample the wines & restaurants of the Hunter.We had a great stay very relaxing beautifully appointed rooms, the bed a little too firm. The staff very nice indeed, Everything organised with a minimum of fuss. My partner well she loved the spa. Great golf course. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Friends and I stayed here for several days to enjoy the Hunter wineries and a concert; from the first email reply from the resort I was impressed, the reception (Krystal / Steph) and concierge (Helen) staff were exceptional - helpful, gave great advice and went well beyond their brief to ensure we booked a great experience each day and felt looked after. They took care of dinner reservations, transfers and changes to plans with a smile and genuine warmth. Our arrival to departure was seamless. The cafe is a little over priced and under stocked but lovely; I enjoyed the Vintage golf club food and bar, service was spotty there but they tried hard during a very busy, booked out weekend. The villa was immaculate, spacious and the king bed so comfortable we took to napping and almost missed some of our itinerary. The spa was a bit small and needs a tune up, but the amenities, mini bar and housekeeping were all very good and the views of the golf course and resident kangaroos very compelling! We could not figure out how to light the faux fire but that wasn't important in Feb! The wifi is also expensive and these days good hotels don't charge for that any more, but we didn't need it. The day spa is gorgeous and well appointed and the services were excellent, even at late notice on a Sunday! I can honestly say I'm now planning to return asap, I've missed this stay every day since we left! I'd recommend it for business (but bring your own wifi) and for couples, families seemed very welcome too. Stay in a villa, not the hotel main building - they are fabulous.

Room Tip: Villas are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grismans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
862 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#13 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing