We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well worth the stay.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It was a wonderful place to stay. The kids enjoyed the hotel as well. Very luxurious. The bath products in the room were beautiful. The fireplace was a great touch. The golf course was first class. Close enough to the vine yards to go to unite a few in the one day.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokeybinsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    277
    96
    40
    19
See reviews for
116
726
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here right before New Year's Eve, to get a quick overnight stay in before we commenced NYE madness back in Sydney.

The grounds are immaculate and surrounded by lush Australian bush and a beautifully kept golf green.

The hotel is fully serviced so upon arriving, our bags were taken and the car was parked for us, in their large outdoor, free car park.

We checked in relatively quickly and were taken to our room on the first floor, named the "Kyoto" room. The other thing you'll notice upon entry is the beautiful smell throughout the hotel. They sell that scent in candle form, but put the fragrance through the air conditioning. It's a great touch and rather relaxing.
The room was beautifully furnished with small Japanese touches. The bed was huge and comfortable and featured a massager- mainly a vibrating function (slightly strange). The bed foot and head height could also be adjusted, which was perfect for watching tv.

The bathroom was large and I loved the amenities and small toiletries provided- particularly the soaps, moisturizers etc by Appelles Apocothary so much that I'm looking to buy some of it for my home. The room featured no bath, but a huge double shower with two rainwater shower heads!! They were awesome!

The minibar featured local wines which I also liked. However, do yourself a favour and drive down the road to purchase wines. Much cheaper that way.

The foyer/ reception area also has a gorgeous cafe.
You can arrange to have high tea there or just enjoy a nice treat. I had a toasted sandwich and a cup of tea there the next day and thoroughly enjoyed it.

After hubby and I checked in, we went back to the foyer and hired push bikes. These were around $15 each for an hour.
We enjoyed a leisurely ride around the property and then through the residential area of the property- quick nice! There were Kangaroos everywhere too!

That evening, we booked into the bar and grill for dinner. Hubby had a steak and I had the chicken. Seriously some of the nicest cooked food that we've had in a while. It was all done so nicely. Desert was a mango panacotta and choc mousse which were both delish!

The next morning my husband had booked in for a round of golf. I checked us out, left our bags at reception and went to relax by the pool. They gave me new towels and gladly stored our bags. When hubby was done we got our bags and were on our way.

Everything was easy. The staff are hospitable and the premises are well kept.

It is right across from bimbadgen winery, which is one of my favorites to enjoy tastings at. It's in a fantastic location.

We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estherdonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family recently had a two night stay in a Two-Bedroom Spa Villas at Chateau Elan.

Perfect family getaway and for travellers wanting to try the wine area of NSW on the way to somewhere else.

The Villa was 100% superb, with a full kitchen, lounge, separate dining room (with a nice fireplace in between very romantic & a fabulous mood maker) and a large patio area offering a view onto to the 10th fairway of the Vintage - a wonderfully challenging golf course that never dissapoints in any conditions.

Bedding and linen were top quality and service was excellent. Check in and out are clearly modelled on European 5 star and were efficient, quick and above all very friendly.

I booked my wife into the spa while the kids and I played golf, my wife rated the spa as the best she have ever seen, she told me that she could have stayed for days, pure luxury.......

My children loved the position on the golf course due to seeing some kangaroos each morning and night which we don't get to see living in a City.

Overall - Chateau Elan provides luxury service and accomodation at a great location on the Vintage. Its points of difference are probably the room size and high quality fitout , each of which are excellent.
Highly recommend

Room Tip: Any of the Villa's are perfectly located close the golf course, if with a family request ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our second stay at the Chateau Elan, once again the staff and facilities were well beyond any expectations.
This stay we were in a Spa Suite in the main building. The room was fantastic,the ergergonomic bed was a pleasant surprise. Being able to tilt the bed via remote control made it easy to watch tv and take in the sun rise coming througj our window.
The staff at check in were simply outstanding. There was never anything that was too much trouble, they are always willing to have a chat and really make you feel like your part of the family.
We attended the Casino royale New Years eve function. The seafood buffet was unbelievable and all the staff working once again mafe us feel part ofthe fafamily.

Do yourself a favour and make sure you stay at the Chateau Elan. We will be back for our anniversary in October!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCenatiempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed last night at the Chateau Elan as a bit of a treat for my birthday. We arrived just after check-in started and were greeted by a friendly girl who opened the car door for me and led the way to reception. The reception staff could not have been more helpful or polite, offering to make dinner reservations (we already had one), suggestions on wineries to visit, tour booking, bag carrying and maps.

We stayed in a spa villa which was clean, modern and quite large, with a kitchenette, dining area, lounge and big balcony. We didn't dine on site for dinner or breakfast so I can't comment on that side of the resort. We were very happy with everything about our stay, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - hopefully for longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makettle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

First time to the Hunter Valley so thought we would treat ourselves with staying in a fantastic property. Driving through the property which consists of the massive golf course, golf club, private properties and coming closer to the car park we found that the sign posts were a little confusing and actually went the wrong way and had to park the car to find the main entrance to the hotel. Eventually found where we were going and thought that a valet would at least open the door and/or park car. On check in we were basically given the room key and the lady mumbled where to find the room, park the car and where the restaurant was located. We actually had to ask her again what she exactly said as it sounded like a recording to me. First impressions, not good! We booked a King Spa Suite in the main house and the room itself was really quite beautiful. Well laid out, nice size room with balcony overlooking the tennis courts, car park and swimming pool (not a good vista!). It was fairly noisy with kids in the pool and many people walking past towards the restaurants etc. Would have been much better on the other side of the main house. All rooms have a nice touch in that they are named after a city. Ours was 118 "New York". Nice touches in the room with various books on your City and paintings on the walls. The mini bar is well stocked and there is a great Nespresso machine in there. I have to say the bed was to die for. So luxurious - Ergomotion bed which moved the feet and head up and a built in massage function.

The Bar area itself was quite nice where you could just sit down and have a drink and watch the cricket. Quite a small area and I feel could be bigger.

Dined in Legends Grill the first night. Restaurant staff quite attentive and friendly. Interestingly, you don't get a dinner roll before you eat which I thought was odd. The meals themselves were pretty good, I had salmon with garlic mash for main which was stunning. Husband had T-Bone steak medium rare which was more on the rare side and very sinewy. That didn't go down very well.

The following evening we dined in our room and ended up with the wrong order delivered to us. How hard is it to stuff up fish and chips and a burger and chips. Instead we got fish and chips and a salad. Next thing you know room service was knocking at the door and said he would be back in 2 mins. Obviously delivered the wrong order to the wrong room.

Overall not impressed for the $$$$ at all and wouldn't bother going back. They really need to up their ante with customer service when people are paying good money to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Recently spent 2 nights at Chateau Elan and without a doubt they are definitely a 5 star accommodation provider. We stayed in a villa which was equipped with not only the basics of a home away from home but also little extras like an over sized balcony and even a ultra modern fireplace. The beds are so soft and comfortable it ensured my my partner and I a good nights rest for the stay. The villa is exceptionally well kept and clean and could not find a single flaw within which obviously reflects the level of excellence with housekeeping.

Upon arrival we were greeted by 2 female staff members (My apologies for forgetting your names), one with uniform and one without which i presumed to be the duty manager at the time, who were extremely friendly, attentive but not intrusive which i find to be the best guest service a 5 star property can provide. We did arrive early and weren't able to check in as of yet, but they were very informative, showing my partner and I the best places and quickest ways to get around the area. Later on in the evening, we made a few bookings with Jessica in regards to wine tours and restaurants. She was absolutely wonderful as she even came around to our villa to assist us with the fireplace. The staff here are all valuable assets to the Chateau Elan as they all greeted us at each chance, regardless if it was housekeeping, front desk or food and beverage.

In regards to the food and beverage, breakfast offers a wide array of hot and cold choices with a neat little addition of a pancake maker. Dinner was equally as lovely as we were seated in the dining room which is encompassed by glass so we were able to watch the sun set while enjoying a delicious meal! Menu choices were simple yet elegant, portion sizes were perfect and the wine/cocktail list was very expansive. Service was quick and friendly.

There is not a single negative i can come up with as Chateau Elan ticks every box. I only hope to stay with you again as you set new heights for accommodation providers in the Hunter Valley. Thank you for making our stay such a memorable one. We will certainly be returning in future.

Room Tip: Go for the villas. Each of them are perfectly situated close to the main reception area and they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P26490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing