We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG Amazing service and amazing massage!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OMG Amazing service and amazing massage!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What can I say? I arrived to be greeted by Stacy who was super friendly and then offered us a high tea and could not do enough to help us! The high tea was an amazing variety of gorgeous treats, super yummy and the attention to detail was astounding.

To top it all off we enjoyed a fantastic spa experience (having had massages all around the world, Evie is simply the best masseuse I have ever had - heaven and so so relaxing).

I cannot speak highly enough for the Chateau Elan staff - particularly Stacy and Evie and we will be back asap!

A must do experience!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaCharet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    268
    95
    37
    18
See reviews for
112
703
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family and I booked two rooms at this resort and stayed over the Christmas period. As my husband and I were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary, I noticed that the hotel had very kindly provided us a complimentary bottle of wine upon check in -that was a very pleasant surprise and much appreciated. The rooms were clean, luxurious and well appointed. The staff were very accommodating, hospitable and always eager to assist. On Christmas day, when we ran out of onions for our Xmas lunch and when I made the peculiar request with the front desk staff, they promptly provided me with some onions. The housekeeping staff were fabulous. Everything was superb. Nothing to fault this beautiful hotel.....one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, from the luxurious villa room, to the excellent service of all staff, attentiveness, hospitality and the quality.....a must stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashika_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

This is an exceptional hotel with plenty to do. Golf course is very well kept and an extensive course. Pool and BBQ area is family friendly. Rooms are modern, clean and have great views of the golf course and wildlife. Walk to The Legends Grill. Would definitely stay again. Lots of wineries surround.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doobster_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Australia and abroad, but was compelled to write a review on this place. The minute we arrived, the staff made us feel welcome, providing good old fashioned service - nothing was a problem, including arranging a wine tour and other activities. Although a few dollars more than other places in the area, a small price to pay when you are being valued. We had high tea that was absolutely decadent, the grounds and surroundings were very well maintained. The whole place, including the restaurant food and wine was superb. Congratulations and a big thank you must go to the management for this truly amazing place, and for making our stay a memorable one. Will definitely return!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We were interstate visitors planning a 2 or 3 day stop over in the Hunter Valley as part of a bigger holiday. Found this place on tripadvisor as we were half way up from Sydney. The place is sensational with big rooms, quiet and all the facilities you want. The scenery is stunning.
The part that staggers me however is the staff. Nothing is to difficult. They make you bookings, drive you around in their carts. All this with a fantastic can do attitude. Cannot recommend highly enough

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Chateau Elan last weekend - we were in the Hunter Valley to attend the Alicia Keys concert at Hope Estate. This place truly is first class - the villa we stayed in was large and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was bigger than some motel rooms we have stayed in and the spa bath was far superior to any other we have encountered as far as size and quality goes. The Chateau's location at the Vintage Golf Course adds to the ambience of the experience with kangaroos and rabbits often about. The swimming pool was a good size and the water temperature was just right - not too cold or too warm.

Whilst it is certainly not a cheap accommodation option it is true that you get what you pay for and in Chateau Elan's case it certainly delivers and is an ideal spot to stay for that special occasion when cost comes second to pleasure and enjoyment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_G_1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have been to many beautiful spas's over the years all around the world. But the spa at chateau élan was one of the best experiences . The staff were just beautiful , nothing was to much trouble. They were very professional but so down to earth . The facilities were gorgeous and the pricing was very good.
We also talked about the high tea we saw out in the cafe and they asked if we would like to finish off with this . Well what a wonderful way to finish our visit . A private room with a lovely view .service next to none and the food was absolutely delightful.
Thank you to the staff for making a great day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coggyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing