We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Elan At The Vintage Hunter Valley
Nearby Hotels
Hunter Hideaway Cottages(Rothbury)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$206
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madigan Wine Country Cottages(Rothbury)(Great Value!)
$138
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Burncroft Guesthouse(Rothbury)(Great Value!)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Talga Estate(Rothbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rothbury Escape(Rothbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,274)
Filter reviews
1,274 results
Traveler rating
745
337
118
50
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
745
337
118
50
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursespa suitelegends grillhunter valleygolf buggiesmy partnermini barwashing machinemain buildingrelaxing stayking roombuffet breakfasttwo night staygas fireplacetennis courtswedding anniversaryromantic weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,023 - 1,028 of 1,274 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Chateau Elan really go to efforts to ensure their guests have a luxurious & relaxing stay and are ready to help & assist with every detail.
From calling up beforehand and helping to organise a surprise for my partner, to the quality & cleanliness of the room, we were seriously impressed so much that we want to stay again!
Positives:
*Bathroom & spa bath clean & working, toiletries refilled daily
*Rooms are spacious & all furniture clean & comfortable
*Rooms impeccably cleaned daily, right down to the cleaners switching on your heater for when you return from your day's adventures (we stayed in winter)
*Food was excellent at restaurant. Room service was also excellent quality & at a reasonable price. Organised a picnic hamper as a surprise & this was delicious
*Concierge organised wine tour for us, this made our trip that much easier
*Staff were polite & helpful from the moment we arrived, even stopping on paths to see if we needed a lift with the golf buggies

Cons:
*Everything goes on your room tab so it can be hard to track how much you are spending
*Breakfast range was a little small for what you pay, however it could have been because we stayed on a weeknight
*had trouble working out how to start the heater (instructions were terrible) however the staff quickly came to help!

Room Tip: For winter pick a 1 bedroom apartment as the heaters are toasty and warm! these also have a full kitchenette so if you don't want to eat out every meal stop by the shops on your way in to grab some essentials.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

An overall great stay. Very comfy beds and peaceful outlook onto the golf course. We spotted many kangaroos from the balcony! The setting of the rooms are perfect and the bathrooms fit for kings. The only problem my partner and I had was the lack of telephone or Internet service.
On one hand it was nice to complete get away from the hustle and bustle of Sydney however it's hard to believe that on a beach in Asia you can get wifi however in a supposedly 5 star hotel you are completely shut off. The only alternate to this problem was a broadband connection for computers which cost 20 dollars a day. With the majority of people travelling with tablets these days the hotel does not do enough with its Internet provider to truly assist its customers. It wasa large downfall of the trip as we wanted to look up restaurants and vineyards and still be in contact with family and work but were completely cut off in the premises with no phone or Internet reception. Apart from this we really enjoyed our stay at the chateau.
The spa with their impeccable menu is VERY expensive and the well known golden door branch located just 10 mins away is probably better value and even slightly cheaper than the in house spa offered at the chateau.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you need to be in contact with people/ on a business trip - absolutely no Internet or phone reception on the whole premises
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anin773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hotel and room well kept and staff friendly.
Restaurant was a disaster both nights - drinks wrong, extra charges and items (extra sauce) that didn't turn up. Food was good when it eventually came. A lot to pay for terrible service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Most_refined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was fortunate enough to get married at Chateau Elan in August and in the lead up to this was able to stay and experience various aspects of the resort over the weekend.
The first night I was there I stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with my sisters. The villas were well laid out, very spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable and it was great being able to step outside in the morning to be greeted by kangaroos. It was so peaceful, you could stay forever.
The second night I stayed in a spa suite in the hotel. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the room was spacious with a decent size spa bath as well as separate shower and toiler.
The staff throughout my stay were fantastic. Nothing was too much, they were quite obliging to help in anyway they could.
I will definitely be staying here again in the years to come.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supastaa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a great hotel ! From the minute you arrive you feel like your on holidays

The most amazing friendly staff upon check-in, lovely warm lobby area with well kept furniture. Our room was spectacular, great big bathrooms with a nice tub, clean and tidy, great showers and pressure, nice towels and bed linen and lots of magazines to read in our room

The restaurant had excellent choices and the food quality was amazing. We spoilt ourselves at the day spa but could only squeeze in 30 min treatments as the spa was fully booked. Next time we will book in advance, they advised us the Spa is heavily booked in weekends but we still got in - great service, alittle pricey though !

The pool area is also great and the water is warm, bring your swimmers we loved it !

We highly recommend this hotel for a great getaway - we are coming back and enjoying the Hunter with a few more extra days !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews