We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Family Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We shared a 2 bedroom room with another family and found it to be enjoyable. The rooms are very modern and classy. There is a small kitchen so you are ale to prepare food if need be. The kids had a blast playing in the pool. For breakfast we had the Buffett and sat outside overlooking the golf course. We were pleased with our breakfast experience. Loved seeing the kangaroos up close in their natural environment.

I would choose to stay here again on our next trip to Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwheeler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    256
    94
    34
    15
See reviews for
109
676
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

For the price of the rooms I expected more, the room shared a balcony and we could hear our neighbours quite clearly which affected our privacy. The wine glasses in the room were unwashed so I called room service and requested clean wine glasses but champagne glasses were delivered instead. Robes in the room would have also made a nice touch. Overall we had a nice stay and the location was central to most attractions we visited.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachnmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked a villa for our first wedding anniversary and we weren't disappointed. The room was great - we loved the fire place - the staff were friendly and the location was great. In particular, I'd like to make mention of Nicole and Aaron who went the extra the mile for us. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iammars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Friday & Saturday Night, 1 bedroom villa...

Room was spacious, very clean with a great spa bath. With 8 villas in our complex - its so quiet... ;-)

Dinner at Legends grill Friday Night - Steaks were great and service attentive. But the heirloom tomato salad - such a let down and felt very ripped off! Looked like 3 cherry tomatoes and some cheese on a plate. Biggest plate smallest portion of food...;-(

Lunch from the Clubs Bar Menu is sensational - such good value and tasty! Could not fault anything.

Day Spa - Loved every moment. Can't wait to come back.

New edition since we stayed last - coffee shop in Chateau Élan! Loved the fact that we were not forced to have a full breakfast in the ClubHouse.. We were able to grab a coffee and scones as a light breaky in a beautiful setting.
Keep the coffee shop it's a great option! Maybe just promote it more as I'm sure many people would love a light option.

Can't wait to come back - pure relaxation!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenmattSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just stayed at Chateau Elan and was delighted by both the accommodation and restaurant. Was upgraded to a one bed spa suite (unexpected but delightful) and was greeted by hot rock fireplace, spa and bottle of bubbly. Early Sunday night dinner for one, was seated happily (not near the wc) and advised well with respect to the best meat I've eaten in a long time with fabulous crunchy chips, followed by chocolate and orange dessert. Real treat! This was a working stopover but felt like a holiday! The estate is also generously proportioned with great walking tracks and kangaroos. A truly special place which I hope to revisit soon, highly recommended for its unassuming charm and generous hospitality. Also very comfortable bed and huge pillows.

Room Tip: Go for the one bed spa suite - I had 188 in Villa 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

There was a gentleman at the front desk that was lovely. I think his name was Jordan. He had no problem accommodating our corporate group.

The rooms kept the light out when needed and although the set up looks strange at first with the TV you do appreciate how spacious the set out is. The bed was comfortable but I personally found the pillow somewhat uncomfortable.

Rooms were certainly spacious and the real highlight was witnessing the boxing kangaroos across the golf course from our verandah

Like most reviews say, it is unfortunate that the golf club is quite a hike. I certainly wouldn't order room service here if the meal is intended to be hot but we were blessed with lovely weather and kangaroo spotting certainly made for something different when heading to the club to dine.

Although I am not a golfer I would recommend to anyone keen for the sport as well as any corporate groups. Very clean.

Room Tip: Downstairs is best. No need to negotiate stairs and luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StackIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

On a short mini-break from sydney, we were instantly impressed by the welcoming, attentive service on check-in, spotlessly clean & well apointed suites & brilliant advice on dinner reservations & more from the gorgeous Emily at reception.

During the speedy trip, we also visited the spa - which was also very impressive.
Our 50 minute treatments were just beautiful, although, we did feel slightly rushed, considering such a treatment came at a price similar to the overnight rate for a suite...

Room Tip: The spa suites are stunning, but very, very intimate..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing