We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but very sweet.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Short but very sweet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

On a short mini-break from sydney, we were instantly impressed by the welcoming, attentive service on check-in, spotlessly clean & well apointed suites & brilliant advice on dinner reservations & more from the gorgeous Emily at reception.

During the speedy trip, we also visited the spa - which was also very impressive.
Our 50 minute treatments were just beautiful, although, we did feel slightly rushed, considering such a treatment came at a price similar to the overnight rate for a suite...

Room Tip: The spa suites are stunning, but very, very intimate..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    243
    93
    33
    14
See reviews for
104
654
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed with my boyfriend one night for a relaxing weekend at the Chateau Elan (King Spa Room).

I'm gonna start with some negative sites:
-When we wanted to check in, the person at the reception couldn't find my booking. I reckon that was a bit embarrassing.(Anyways, the guy find the booking in the end and he stayed very friendly all the time)

- the room service was very very very dissappointing. First we couldn't reach them and had to call like 3 times until finalky someone picked up the phone. Then we waited almost an hour for the food and the pizza and the burger were cold :( Of course the Room Service is way cheaper than dining in one of the restaurant in Hunter Valley but even cheap Dominos-Pizza arrives hot when you order it. So please improve that!!!!!

- $17 for renting a movie?!?!?! Come ooon. That price is a shocker! The room is already expensive enough ;)

- the air conditioner is a bit too noisy (I woke up a few times because of it)

Positive aspects:

-Quiet area, nice view,very relaxing
-It was clean
-Very comfy bed
- very nice room temperature
-good mini bar with a big range of different wines. The prizes are alright
-spa bath: perfect!
-friendly service


In summary I would say that it was a nice and relaxing night. I don't regret that I booked the Room, but next time I'll try another Hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with another couple. The hotel & it's staff were absolutely fantastic, none of our requests were a hassle. The room's itself was immaculate & very comfortable to stay in. Could not fault the rooms, very clean and well maintained. My husband & I were very impressed at the view's of our room had to offer, which looked onto the picturesque grounds. Very peaceful.
We ate at the restaurant one night, the food and service we could not fault. We highly recommend the 'Must Have' steak. We also indulged in the buffet breakfast which we found would satisfy both the traditional 'Big Breakfast' and health conscious eater alike.
We highly recommend Chateau Elan when you next visit the hunter valley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrowsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel was welcoming and relaxing. The day spa is a must for anyone who needs to unwind after a difficult work week. The Legends restaurant is great for couples who want a quiet dinner or families with children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosimina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The one bedroom apartment was beautiful. It was incredibly quiet, well appointed. We particularly liked the spa bath and the fire - during winter, this made it for us. The Kangaroos outside came right up to our patio. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in the very last vila so away from all the traffic and coming and going - so perfect for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathimacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went away for a lovely weekend, the complex was lovely, the accommodation was great, not problems at all. Views were great. No problems at all with the room and venue. But we had dinner in the restaurant and it didn't live up to the venues or the cosy bar adjacent. We had breakfast there at he buffet and it was good, it was just the dinner that let it down. Staff didn't seem to know what was going on, although they were all pretty young in their defence. Took a long time to take the order, even longer to get he bill. Food was decent without being great. But the dinner aside, everything else was great and I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denirokeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Not what I was expecting as I thought we would be in the resort itself but the rooms were scattered around the property. I had stayed in the Mercure Apts also on the property and this was no different except for the price. We still had to go to clubhouse for breakfast and meals. I enjoyed the golfing and the location but wasn't particularly excited by the resort. No indoor pool or spa for winter. If you don't like to drink, eat or play golf then this place is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rajoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Property: Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing