We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chateau Elan for our First Wedding Anniversary and it was absolutely amazing! We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa which was great, lovely and new, quality furnishings and great view. We absolutely loved the spa and the open fire place in the room! I was surprised with the 'Romantic Arrival' of silk rose petals on the bed and bedroom floor and a bottle of bubbles on ice which took my breath away! It was also nice to see Kangaroos quite often around the grounds of the resort. The bed was unbelievable, and I believe they are specially made by AH Beard and can be purchased. The restaurant and food was also wonderful, and the staff in all areas were first class. We would DEFINITELY stay again and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleighBaldacchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

Staff service is second to none, we were treated as VIP's the whole time. A simple phone call is all it took to arrange everything and the venue is magnificent!!!! The day spa is a must and the food and the legends grill is to die for!!!! Definitely coming back to stay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElieElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hotel staff is personal-small cafe is managed by Louise who welcomes your stay with a friendly inviting few words. We had a small cheese platter and champagne to unwind and enjoy the country scenery. The spa is full service should one desire a massage treatment. Kangaroos visit the golf course in the morning and can be seen from our King Spa Suite or orhers that overlooked it and the country side. Rooms are spacious, very clean and quiet. Spa tub, wet bars, sitting area and balconies. Joe who is the manager also took a personal moment to congratulate my husband and myself for our Anniversay. We did a private helicopter wine tour that picked us up at the hotel and flew us to two different wineries during the day for private tastings and education on local vintner technology. We had a degustation small lunch and returned to hotel. The staff assisted us from the moment we arrived, by taking our luggage and parking the car until the moment we departed. Very relaxing stay. No worries as the staff was very attentive.

Room Tip: Either the rooms looking over the range or a small villa are perfect. Hotel closes doors to lobby fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karetomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed in a 1 br villa here to take some time out to think about my business. Perfect. The villa was quiet, clean, spacious and well appointed with calming views over the golf course and visited by lots of kangaroos. It is a bit of a walk to the lobby and restaurant but realnoting unless you have health issues. I brought provisions and self-catered which avoided the issue anyway.

The gas fire was a great touch.

The spa bath was deep and long. Toiletries were nice. Bed v comfortable as were the pillows, in my opinion, despite the reviews here to the contrary. I slept like a rock.

Plunger coffee was included and was tasty.

Staff were friendly, accommodating and informative.

I went for a run in the icy morning and also used the gym which was ok but the remote for the TV seemed to be missing.

My only suggestions for improvement would be (1) provide an iPod dock in the living area - the one in the bedroom is ok but people want their joons in the main living area, and (2) consider using warm yellow light bulbs instead of cold white ones. Costs the same and avoids feeling like you're in a community hall when you've got the overhead lights on.

Overall, fab.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Echica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just back from a most wonderfully relaxing weekend at Chateau Elan and cannot wait to return!!
The location and ambience are fabulous and one relaxes immediately. The staff, service (nothing too much trouble & always with a smile) and amenities are excellent. We were particularly impressed with the "hands on" professionalism of the General Manager Joe whose presence around the Hotel was both noticeable and reassuring.
I enjoyed the best facial and massage I have ever experienced whilst my husband hit the golf course. I can highly recommend Justine who transported me to heaven!
The hotel is ideally located for winery tours which are easily catered for by the Hotel. We are already planning our next visit to Chateau Elan! Fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We got a great last minute deal on our room; we were blown away by the size and cleanliness.

Staff very good; gym brilliant (all brand new gear - just installed mid-July 12), lap pool & spa pool well maintained. Bathroom huge and the double showers brilliant.

The Wallabys on the golf course first thing in th morning were great to watch; good birdlife seen too...

Only grumbles: no bathrobes in our room (strange given the quality and nature of room) and the pillows bizarre...far too hard...and the Restaurant on site was staffed by very junior staff when we dined there so service very amateurish....

This would have to be the nicest place to stay in the Hunter Valley; many of the other options are tired, dated and downright ordinary...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutdoorFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just stayed at chateau élan for the weekend in a spa king room. Room was lovely, perfect size, nice size lounge area, crisp sheets on bed, huge bathroom and lovely outside space overlooking the golf course. Lovely products in the bathroom, and mini bar well stocked with nicely chosen wines. Staff really helpful and welcoming, spa facilities amazing. Few small things that let it down including being charged a $5 fee for room service, being charged extra for breakfast and coffee being extra on top of the standard brekky price as well, and items in bathroom not being restocked on our second night. It all seems a little mean when it's a luxury resort. But overall a fab experience

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range: $103 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing