We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of room for kids and baby !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed with hubby, 3yr old and newborn baby last year. We had a two bedroom villa on the ground floor to share with a relative. Very unique set up.. One front door opens in to a mini hallway(common area) To two separate doors which lead into a single open planned room (which is humungously big) , and the other door opens to place more suited for families...kitchen, separate bedroom, dining area, breakfast area, tv area, and a fireplace. Both sides have access to 180deg views of the beautiful peaceful golf course which stretches for miles ahead of you.

There are other apartments directly above (two storey set up)...you dont have any other patrons' noise....at all! I requested a rollaway bed for my 3 yr old, and it was actually a king single sized bed..which would be comfy for any additional adult if required.

Minibar was the only confusion that occured as they take inventory daily but didnt stock up daily for some reason, so we had to ensure we weren't charged twice for the single item that was missing.
All in all, the lovely ladies who made the beds everyday were wonderful... Gave it a personal touch to the place. The restaurant on the premesis is lacking in atmosphere somewhat.... Especially at the breakfast buffet section... I felt like it was more set up for a conference. But dinner was fine... As they only use one particular section of the restaurant for that time...

Only one more gripe... It was a pity that you have to park your car so far from the front door...its not easy moving heavy luggage with screaming kids in the rain... Which is exactly what we experienced. Make sure you have wheels on your luggage bags if its particularly large.

Room Tip: Its a fair walk to reception on foot. Stay in a villa close to reception if you dont want to drive t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacOnH0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent New Year's eve night at Chateau Ellan. We were in a lovely one bedroom spa villa with a balcony looking out on the golf course.The interior decoration is minimal but it still looks quite impressive as you walk in..mainly because of the view.

The villa is fairly spacious with a galley style kitchen in the hallway .The bedroom is roomy with good storage .
We found the bed fairly uncomfortable as it must have some kind of bumpy mattress protector and the pillows are so enormous you might aswell sleep upright !! The bathroom is quite big .
We didn't eat in the restaurant and had breakfast in our villa.So, we didn't really experience the service.
We quite liked it although I wouldn't rate it five stars.
The hotel is very close to the Hunter valley gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pocahontasAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights, over the NYE weekend.

We stayed in a Spa Suite away from the main building; the room was spacious and the bathroom was huge! The bed was comfy except for the pillows that came with it - I knew you could request different pillow types (out of lazyness i didn't...) but i would strongly recommended this as the pillows in the rooms were overly high down pillows.

The grounds were lovely, my partner played a round of nine holes and I as his caddy - great way to see the grounds.

The staff were friendly, definitely have a few drinks at the club house - great service.

We tried the buffet breakfast, like it so much that we came back for dinner, we didn't have a booking and we could tell they were really busy. The staff were very accommodating, sat as inside however could see that we were cold and as soon as they had a table in the main room they moved us immediately.

The pool could do with more sun lounges...and if it's a hot day - please turn off the heating in the pool..it was like swimming in a warm bath on a hot day...

Would definitely come back. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay especially the private fireworks on NYE!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

In a nutshell we were forced to pay for 3 nights when we were only staying for 2 nights. In addition we were stung an increased rate not normally charged as Elton john was playing in the hunter valley. My parents were also staying at the same hotel at this same time, in a more "superior" room however they were only charged for 2 nights. So at the end of our stay my husband and I paid significantly more for a lower standard of room for the exact period of time. When I brought my issue up with the manager, Felicity, she said she would look into it, however she never got back to me. So the next day at check out, felicity wasn't working and the person in charge knew very little and said that we could e-mail Felicity with our issue. Shocking service, at least a return call from Felicity would have been expected. It is basically a glorified "best western hotel", particularly when paying $600 a night!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gemmaandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauElanManager, Manager at Chateau Elan Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

We are disappointed at some of the details in the posting and have posted the hotel version of events:
Mr & Mrs A (parents):
Their booking was confirmed by email on 23/7/2011, along with a credit card deposit of $650 for an arrival date of Sunday 4/12/2011 for 2 nights. The second night, Monday 5/12/2011 was quoted at $279.
However, they arrived on Saturday 03/12/2011. Mr & Mrs A handed their copy of the confirmation letter to reception for a Spa King room, which clearly stated the arrival date of Sunday 4/12/2011, and not 3/12/2011. The hotel had also specially allocated a room next to Mr & Mrs B for the Sunday night as requested.
Due to a late cancellation on Saturday evening, the hotel had 1 vacant room, a spa suite, on Saturday 3/12/2011.
With the Elton John concerts in the Hunter Valley, most hotels were fully booked for both 3/12 & 4/12 and room rates were high. Even though the As/Bs were upset, Mr and Mrs A were allocated to the vacant suite (an upgrade on their originally booked Spa King room) & the hotel honoured the quoted Sunday night rate of $650 for that room. Other guests were paying more than $750 for that room type.
Mr & Mrs A agreed to move to their originally-booked Spa King room on Sunday, located near their daughter & son-in-law.
However, on Sunday, Mr and Mrs A requested that they be allowed to stay in the suite. Reception agreed to the request and extended their stay in the suite at the same discounted rate of $650.
Mr & Mrs A stayed a total of 2 nights in a Spa Suite at a rate of $650 each night. They settled their account on Monday morning at 10.45am for the 2nd night’s accommodation and incidentals and checked out.
Mrs B has complained in the Trip Advisor posting that her parents had a better room which is correct. They were upgraded on arrival to the spa suite, as this was the only room available when they arrived a day early. Mr & Mrs A only paid the rate quoted for the Spa King room, even though they were in a suite. They did indeed pay for 2 nights’ accommodation as that is what they booked, and the dates were brought forward from being Sunday/Monday to Saturday/Sunday.

Mr and Mrs Andrew B:
Originally booked for a 1 night stay on Sunday 4/12/2011, a confirmation email was sent to Mr Andrew B on 22/7/2011 stating the room booked was a Spa King room at a rate of $600 for 1 night. A credit card deposit of $600 was received for the accommodation and confirmed in the email confirmation.
On 21/11/2011, Mr B requested a quote to stay an additional night, for Monday night 5/12/2011. Our Reservations team quoted $229 room only, but the booking was not amended at the time.
On 28/11/2011 Mr B requested to arrive a day earlier on the 3/12/2011 and was quoted a 3 night concert package for Friday/Saturday/Sunday nights, the only available package left for the busy concert weekend. A confirmation email was sent on 28/11/2011 confirming the room type, dates and room rate, as well as a request for a further deposit.
Mr B then advised that he did not want to stay Friday night, and was advised that there was no cancellation available for the short-lead booking. The booking was checked in on Friday 2/12/2011 and the room rolled until Mr & Mrs B arrived at the hotel on Saturday 3/12/2011.
Throughout the busy concert weekend, all conversations with both Mr & Mrs A and Mr & Mrs B were as polite and accommodating as possible by the Front Office team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I almost loved this place! The spa was great, golf course ate every single golf ball I had, bathroom was the size of my apartment BUT just a couple of small things made me feel like I had bought a bottle of wine then realized Dan murphys had the same thing but cheaper.

Sadly one of the first things I do when I go into a hotel room is switch on tv to find out what movie channels I have. At CE they give you a great list of movies on demand but charge $17 to view them! I have been to big4 caravan parks that give this service free.

Wi-fi is pretty popular nowadays and most people know how cheap it is, so for management to charge $21 for 24 hours is actually embarrassing... or should be.

I counted at least 80 rooms - the pool has 3 sun-lounges - seriously! And for anyone reading this that has kids: your 5 and 3 yr olds don't need sunlounges you selfish stepford.

I really did like the staff here but my taxi driver had better recommendations of what to do. Maybe the taxi driver is less commission-driven?

On a few side-notes:
People who work behind a bar never make good coffee, but I loved your chipolatas.
Food-wise I hate when the best part of the meal is an entree.
Boys need a bit more explanation on your disposable undies in the spa.
Wine goes well with cheese, would be good to have a plate to eat it off.
So much space in the bathroom, why the small spa?

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Chateau Elan is impressive. Rooms are new, services in the compound is good and customer service is great.
Everything is great except for the sheets.
The sheets used are 50% polyester & 50 cotton.
Polyester sheets are too warm for comfort and noisy.
I know polyester blended sheets are cheaper and easier to maintain but not at the expense of the comfort of customers.
Chateau Elan position itself as a premium hotel in the region and people go there with certain expectation. It should never opted for polyester sheets.

I do enjoy the compound and the spacious room but had one of the worst sleep. The sheets made it too hot to sleep. I had the aircon going at the lowest temperature and still feeling hot under the sheets (will be too cold without the sheets - can't win).
Everytime I toss and turn in bed, the sheets makes a sound (sound of two sheets rubbing/folding).

I do hope the hotel get rid of those nasty polyester blended sheets.

Room Tip: Its a great hotel...only problem is with the sheets. Might consider bringing your own sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathanjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Whoever designed Chateau Elan's website deserves an award. This so called 5 star resort boasts luxury, exceptional service & style on its website. Our experience was more likened to visiting a road side motel (with the embarrassment of entertaining friends from out of town on their first trip to the valley). The journey began with an outstandingly rude and unhelpful receptionist (QUOTE "i don't know why you bothered getting your bags out of the car, obviously you have to drive to your villa") followed by a 5 star view of the car park, a construction site and the back of another building from our King Spa Villa patio. The rooms are clean, sterile in fact, and were furnished with cheap, uncomfortable furniture which at best they bought in bulk from Ikea. The "designer kitchen" boasted no toaster and a broken tap. The bedroom air-conditioning did not work. By their own admission the room service pizza was pre-made, but still "made to order" (??) and a $10 surcharge for the convenience of having a cold pizza delivered to your door. The outdoor jacuzzi published repeatedly on the accommodation website is "not available for use by hotel guests" and our in room spa had a sensational view of the car park. Overall Chateau Elan was underwhelming, unoriginal and unfriendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank JLFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauElanManager, Manager at Chateau Elan Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.
Our staff provide a friendly casual style of service and we were surprised by your quote. We try and meet every guest at the driveway and encourage them to checkin first before unloading their luggage. The majority of our rooms are located in private villas away from Reception, with parking next to the villas. We try and circumvent the unnecessary unloading & repacking of vehicles, and at no time would speak to a guest in this manner. The villas have a balcony overlooking the 10th fairway of the golf course, and beyond that the residential homes can be seen in the distance. The furniture for the villas was specifically manufactured for the hotel and designed by a Sydney-based interior designer. The hot and cold plunge pools mentioned on our website are part of the spa building and access is freely available to guests using the spa services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range: $117 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing