We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent conference facility - looking forward to leisure time at CE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I have just used Chateau Elan (CE) for a two day event and it was everything I expected. My event was for 25 CEO's so a particular level of service and discretion was expected.

Conference facilities.
Brand new. Neutral tones. Plenty of natural light. Fresh air and airconditioning options. Very comfortable all round.

Catering.
Far from standard hotel fare. Fresh fresh fresh! Good variety. Honest food. Accommodated dietary requirements better than any venue I've used in the past.

Accommodation.
Having inspected all room types I would always choose a Spa Villa. These are incredibly large rooms, one bedroom apartment style but still inviting. All rooms are great though.

Staff.
Exceedingly warm. Accommodating. Delivery-focussed. Always available.

I wouldn't pop CE into the 'large hotel' category per sé, but it is an expansive property housing many guests, functions, spa guests and golfers at once so has a great deal going on. However, CE provided everything they said they would and my experience is that is something difficult for larger hotels to honour.

I am hoping to head back to CE on personal time to take advantage of the spa and other facilities a conference does not allow you time to use.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KI6871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2011

I'm currently writing this review while staying at Chateau Elan. I must say, this weekend is very busy in the Hunter Valley with both Carlos Santanna and Lionel Ritchie performing at different wineries.
I booked the accommodation about a month in advance and already some of my preferreds were full, so I booked this place, primarily because of convenience. For the the Friday and Saturday night the rate was $450pn.
Whilst the rooms are clean, with big plasmas, the layout of the Spa Suite we booked was bad... no not bad, appalling !. You walk into the room and there is the tub, the bathroom and toilet afford no privacy whatsoever. There is a vibrating bed in the room, which is a curiosity more than anything, and mehhhhhh the novelty wore off after 5 minutes. I don't know how they can call this a suite ????. By ANY measurement this is a Standard Room... I make my point here by way of this definition;
http://www.travel-industry-dictionary.com/suite.html
We needed to get room service breakfast as my partner is studying and wanted to hit the books early, so upon calling room servie we were told "nope, we only do room service lunch and dinner, you will have to walk across to the cafe !"........ talk about not wanting to help out a customer.... PARTICULARLY WHEN THEY CHARGE YOU $10 PER TRAY TO DELIVER IT IN ANY EVENT.
Also, wireless internet available, and the ADSL cable is very expensive.
For $450 average rate per night there has to be better value around.
And yes I am annoyed how these places double there rates as there is a bit of demand around on certain weekends. It's a shame as it doesn't engender customer loyalty.
2 good points though...... the check in staff were extremely polite and attentive.... big tick.
and the gardens and surrounding golf course are nice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank howard_and_bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

In fact, we didn’t stay here, as Chateaux Elan had double-booked us and decided to bounce us. Chateaux Elan is an embarrassment to the Hunter Valley and Australian Tourism. They made no attempt to inform us, and when we arrived, they forwarded us on to a shack as a substitute for a five star hotel, which would have been more befitting of a trailerpark. We were dealt with by an extremely rude member of staff who failed to apologise and seemed to blame us for their own incompetence in booking rooms. We were told we had not pre-booked spa and golf, and this was used this as an excuse for not booking us into the hotel, we explained that anywhere else in the world if you were staying for a week you could book upon arrival for the spa and golf. We spent a whole afternoon looking for alternative accommodation ourselves. The whole situation could have been avoided had we been relocated to an appropriate hotel that we did not have to find ourselves, with an apology and a smile. Thank goodness for Peppers Convent, which we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shaesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauElanManager, Manager at Chateau Elan Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge that the hotel was overbooked by one room, and we endeavoured to contact this guest prior to arrival. However, with an incorrectly transposed mobile phone number, we were unable to contact them. We selected a small 5 star boutique hotel, specialising in personal service, with an excellent Trip Advisor rating as an alternate location for them. We also booked golf at The VIntage and spa treatments at Chateau Elan for them on arrival. The guests selected another hotel in the Hunter Valley, which we duly paid the difference in room rate and offered our apologies for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

With all the new boutique wineries popping up in the Hunter and most coming with their own version of accommodation, the Chateau Elan was a great find for a last minute getaway to the Hunter.

We stayed in a king spa suite (Rome) and it had a beautiful view from the balcony of the golf course and hills beyond. The room was spacious and very clean. The only thing I would say was a minus was the fact the bathroom was open plan to the bed area separated by a waist high wall. For those that prefer a bit more privacy for certain things, you'll need to be prepared. But aside from that, this had one of the best beds I have ever found. Maybe because it's only a year old so therefore not as much use yet but whatever the case, it provided as good a sleep as if I were in my own bed at home.

The hotel staff, and specifically Max, Keith, Alison and Kieran, were all tops, and they must put in some hours since they seemed to be there morning, noon and night from the minute we arrived to when we left. Always helpful, always pleasant and nothing was too difficult including a late checkout, hauling cases of wine for us and the ride to the restaurant. Fantastic service from start to finish.

There is a day spa, pool, tennis courts and 18 hole Greg Norman designed golf course, none of which we used, but definitely a must for next time. The hotel is in the same property at The Vintage Golf Club so shares some of the facilities, including Legends Cafe & Grill. Dinner was good, standard grill fare, a bit pricey for a steak but it's all about the atmosphere. And there are plenty of places to eat if the grill fare isn't to your liking. Had room service one night and that was fairly standard fare if a limited menu but arrived surprisingly hot and quick as it came from the restaurant which is detached from the hotel itself.

The other thing about th e location is that it is in the same estate as residential housing and holiday apartments. There is still quite a bit of construction activity but the hotel is situated far enough away that we were not affected by any noise.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchick_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauElanManager, Manager at Chateau Elan Hunter Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We have new screens arriving soon for the villa terraces which will improve the privacy for the villa rooms.
The restaurant is separately managed to Chateau Elan and we have passed your comments about breakfast service to the management of the golf clubhouse for improvment. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chateau Elan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed for a 4 day get away in a King Villa, rooms were beautifully decorated and very spacious, athough when I booked a villa I expected it to be a stand alone villa, not a block of 8 rooms which they call each one a villa, and there is a weird shared terrace arrangement with your next door neighbour (no privacy when sitting outside).
Staff were very friendly, and nothing was a bother for them. Ate at the restaurant on one night and food was really nice. Had MAJOR staffing issues one morning at breakfast, no tables, when you did get a table it was not cleared (ever - you had to do it yourself!!), no coffee, ran out of food & water at the buffet - not very good for a 5 star establishment (need to look at restaurant staffing levels when they have a lot of people staying).
Overall really nice place, friendly staff & great location, for the price (sometimes $400pn) would probably try somewhere else next time...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I can't agree with the negative reviews some people have posted on here, my two nights at Chateau Elan were very positive. We arrived just before 2pm at check in. The check in staff were very helpful. We were in a One room spa villa, which was lovely and larger than some flats I have lived in! It was lovely to have all that space. The kitchen had a full fridge, dishwasher (and washing machine!) and a small gas hob for cooking. Unlike some hotels with a kitchen, they also actually provided cooking tools (pots pans etc) so you could actually cook, if you needed to. The living area and dining room were lovely and very new. The bedroom was great and the bed was huge (took three full roll overs to get from one side to the other!) I loved the bathroom, well set out and a great shower. The room was clean and serviced well during our stay.

We had breakfast included in our deal and duly headed over to the restaurant on our first morning. The buffet had your standard breakfast buffet offerings but was done much better than many other hotels. 'Fancy' coffee might have been nice, but the plunger coffee was fine.

I would (and already have) recommend this hotel to others. I unfortunately did not get to try out the spa facilities, but will definitely give them a go next time we stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

A friend and I stayed for two nights for a luxury/ pampering getaway. We booked the Midweek Spa Escape listed on their website and added an extra night for what was a reasonable cost for a five star property.
Our package included two spa treatments each, one nights accommodation and bfast. Once you takeaway the normal cost of bfast and the spa treatments, it worked out that we were paying about $50 for the room which is such good value!!!
The King Spa rooms are absolutely huge and spotlessly clean,, with a huge flat screen tv and plenty of lounge space. The balconies are shared (verandah style) but so big that you have your own space anyway.
The only downside (and an annoying one considering that you are in wine country) is that the mini bar "fridges" aren't cold. Our first fridge wasn't working at all so we requested another one (reception responded immediately and we had a new fridge in about 5 minutes, to their credit) but this one wasn't much better. Being white wine drinkers, this was a bit disappointing as we couldnt drink the wine we bought there, which would have been lovely on the verandah.
Bfast was lovely - beautiful hot selection that was really well cooked (no watery scrambled eggs or mushrooms swimming in pools of butter here!) and eggs cooked to order, with a very basic cold selection.

The spa is divine, the staff thoughtful and lovely, but the treatments are really overpriced and not particularly affordable if you paid for them seperately.
The hotel is a drive to other wineries and the shops, but everything is driving distance at the Hunter.
My advice: book the Midweek Spa Escape to get value for money. I would definitely go again but would not be happy paying full price as the main reason for staying there would be the spa (for non-golfers), and that is incredibly overpriced.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSavvyPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Elan Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Elan Hunter Valley

Address: Vintage Drive, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothbury
Price Range: $103 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Elan Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Elan at The Vintage is Australia's finest golf and spa resort. Located in the heart of Hunter Valley wine country, Chateau Elan offers luxury retreats for up to 200 guests.The Spa at Chateau Elan has 17 treatment rooms and a vast range of specialised treatments available. Guests can choose from 3 types of luxury accommodation - Spa Suites, One bed bedroom self-contained Villas and King Rooms. The hotel overlooks the fairways of the Greg Norman-designed course Vintage golf course. Chateau Elan is 2 hour drive north of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau Elan Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Hotel Rothbury
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing