We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Entertainer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madigan Wine Country Cottages
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Over the long weekend a friend and I had a joint Birthday party where 10 of our closest friends got together and went on a karaoke wine tour of the Hunter Valley. While I would NOT recommend the Happy Cabby Karaoke tour that we went on. I would totally recommend the accommodation we stayed in over two nights.

10 of us ladies, aged 28-32, stayed at the Homestead and had a wonderful time. Plenty of room to socialise with a large entertaining kitchen, 2 outdoor areas, lounge and formal dinning.

All communication was via the phone which was a nice personal touch, in a world of online automated systems. Staff were lovely in the lead up and gave perfect directions. They were also very accommodating when our booking changed which was just amazing!

The best part though was that we were not disturbed once during our stay. The place was open when we arrived with a key left in the kitchen and after tidying it up, as we left we too left the place unlocked with the key on the kitchen bench.

This is the PREFECT place to have a group of mates and party all night without disturbing anyone - you are almost out of site of other houses on the estate. Just left to your own devices - it was wonderful and refreshing. And all of my guests had a ball :)

Will definitely book again.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre - and spa bath didn't work. Great for group of friends or family. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimoneJadeKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 32 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked The Homestead with extremely short notice (a matter of hours!)

Linda could not have been more helpful.

My husband flew in with a work colleague from overseas late Friday night. The house was ready and waiting for them.

I arrived with our two children a day later.

The house is a fairly new build and is HUGE! 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, huge kitchen with 10 seat dining table, loungeroom, dining room and laundry cupboard. There is also an outdoor setting.

The house isn't luxurious like you would find in a hotel with overstuffed sofas and the like. Instead it's functional and comfortable. I didn't have to worry about our 5 and 6 year old girls accident tally bumping over lamps or tracking in dirt. Absolutely perfect for a large family or even two!

The location is beautiful with horses and kangaroos out your back door.

Excellent value for money. We will definitely be looking at staying here when we next return to the Hunter Valley!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Shelly1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Reasonable price for a long weekend in hunter valley. Cosy and comfortable with all kitchen utensil, cutlery clean and ready so we could prepare our own meal without spending extra outside. Nice spa for relaxing. Pity that not all our family member could show up and enjoy so we could not enjoy fully and didn't realize that we should not use all the bedroom if not all of us came. Highly recommended still for a big family of 6 or 7. Make sure they all come with you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at The Australiana cottage. It has two bedrooms downstairs and a loft area with two beds (upstairs). It is great budget accomodation with a budget price for our midweek stay. We very much enjoyed the peace and quiet and were not disturbed by other guests.

It is very much an older Australian (Farm/Country) Cottage. However, It is well set up - with a toaster; full stove/oven; microwave; fridge; heater; A/C; lots of crockery, cutlery and cookwear.

It would have to have been one of the cleanest rooms/cottages we have ever stayed at.

It has a carport and both a front and back verandah AND a full sized spa.

We loved the convenience of the location and its closeness to Pokolbin and Cessnock.

Sharon was very welcoming and only to happy to help out in any way she could.

We very much recommend Madigans for couples and for Familys etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustBeige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in the Kookubarra Cottage over the April school holidays for two nights and could not have been happier. The place was clean & cosy, especially the spa, and so lovely and peacerful. Everything we needed was in the cottage, enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine watching the kangaroos & taking in the peace & quiet.
It was nice to stay where you weren't surrounded by people but still within driving distance of all the essentials you needed.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madigan504, Manager at Madigan Wine Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Kookaburra Cottage. We appreciate your kind comments about the cleanliness of the cottage. It is certainly situated in a quiet spot, and as you say "you weren't surrounded by people". We look forward to having you back here so you can relax on that balcony with your glass of wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Kookaburra just before the Easter holidays. while on the whole there isnt much to complain about, I wouldnt exactly rave about the place either. It's a nice location, peaceful and quiet. Beautiful scenery. We got to see some kangaroos in the evening. The cottoages itself have all the facilities you need - toaster, stove, coffee and tea bags, a fridge etc. The owner Sharon is absolutely lovely. Since we were going to drive in late, Sharon proactively messaged us about how we can pick up the key. She is a very warm and friendly hostess.
The coattages however do need more care and renovations. The age of the cottages and the furniture is visible. There was no AC in the room, only in the living area. Also surprisingly one of the bedrooms in the cottage did not have a door ! In a 2 bedroom villa it is a bit awkward if one of the rooms dont have a door. Finally the bed was just terrible. 2 nights sleeping on that bed has given us a very sore back :(
So on the whole, our stay was not bad at all, but nothing worth recommending

Room Tip: From what I have read of the reviews, the other rooms seem to be better, so I would choose anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yashaswini86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madigan504, Manager at Madigan Wine Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review of our Kookaburra Cottage here at Madigan Vineyard. The location, peacefulness, scenery (including the kangaroos) are always popular with our guests. I appreciate your kind comments about the service - I always try to make check-in as seamless as possible. I went to take a look at the 'missing' door in question and it is actually a sliding cavity door that pulls across - it certainly is hidden away! I am sorry that you didnt' find the bed comfortable - I will address this with the owners and hopefully we can get a new mattress or bed topper to make those sleeps even more restful. In the meantime our renovation plans include painting throughout and replacement of any furniture that's not up to scratch. We would love to welcome you back for another stay here so you can again enjoy the surrounds that we have to offer.

Best regards
Sharon Friere
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It is a good and nice place. It is bit old (dated) and need bit renovations.

We went on easter break, it was expensive during that time. But I guess in general it is worth for the money. No restaurant :(, but a beautiful view. Can see kangaroos/wallabies during sunset.
Got a small size spa inside the cottage.

Can suggest to ppl who like a simple stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vardusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madigan504, Manager at Madigan Wine Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for review of our cottage - I'm assuming that you stayed in The Kookaburra Cottage as it has a 2 person spa bath. This cottage is a favourite with our couples; cosy and in a fantastic spot to take in the views and the local fauna, especially at sunset. Madigan Vineyard is centrally located so within 5 minutes of our front gate you can have access to some top quality restaurants. The local township is only 10 minutes away so very handy if you need supplies to use in the cottages kitchens. This cottage does have a 'country' feel and in saying that we are planning to freshen up our cottages with a lick of paint to make them even more inviting. Maybe next time you visit you can come during the week when our prices are very competitive with the local motels.

Thank you again,

Sharon Friere
Manager
Madigan Vineyard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
0.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
5.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
880 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.4 mi away
H Boutique Hotel
H Boutique Hotel
#7 of 40 in Pokolbin
164 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madigan Wine Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madigan Wine Country Cottages

Address: 504 Wilderness Rd, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range: $113 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madigan Wine Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the vines, in the heart of the Hunter Valley, beautifully appointed cottages provide for all of our guest's needs. Amidst an ambience of seclusion and serenity, Madigan Cottages is located approximately ten minutes from Cessnock and its township. Madigan Cottages is sited in the valley amongst many boutique wineries, restaurants and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madigan Wine Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madigan Wine Country Cottages Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing