We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern luxury with all the trimmings”
Review of Talga Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Talga Estate
Reviewed October 1, 2011

It's rare that to come across contemporary-styled accommodation in the Hunter. Talga Estate exceeded our expectations in so many ways. The villa was huge and impeccably decorated but what we loved were the details. The bedrooms were massive and we were even surprised to find private jacuzzi's in the rooms. Everything was immacculate - from the furniture to the quality of the mattress. The kitchen was fully stocked which meant that we could cook up some of the fresh produced we bought throughout the day which was a nice change to dining out. We had dinner one night on our private patio overlooking the vines, pomegranate trees and the odd kangaroo. There's not much that beats watching the sunset with a glass of good wine in hand. Overall the whole experience was amazing. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joana_Barros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Talga Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

My partner and I had a lovely time at Talga Estate. The rooms were incredibly spacious and clean. Watching the sun set over the vineyards was a highlight and there were some great wineries nearby. I would recommend it to any couple looking for a romantic weekend away.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank slwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I'd heard from a friend that this place was nice though for the price, I didn't realise it was going to be this nice. Set in a quiet and beautiful expanse, you really feel like you're in the heart of the Hunter. The villa was perfect for the four of us - it had everything you need for a weekend getaway. Two double bedrooms, each with its own jacuzzi and en suite, meant we had the right amount of privacy. The shared living area (massive TV, DVD, iPod dock) and gourmet kitchen = awesome night's in! After a day out selecting the best food and wine the area has to offer, there's nothing better than enjoying it with good friends in a comfortable home away from home. Thank you Laila and Michael for making our stay memorable. You'll be sure to see us back there soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Impressive, Spacious and Clean accommodation, we felt comfortable, cosy and very relaxed - a home away from home. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The fridge was packed with lots of goodies ''quality wine, juices, bacon, eggs, milk and fresh bread''

Our kids loved the place even more so because of the Horse Riding facility just across the road.

The owners Michael and Laila treated us like family, we truly felt at home.

Talga Estate is one the best B&B in the Hunter region!! Of course we'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jova8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here for the first four days of our honeymoon and on arriving Michael and Laila could not have been more friendly or welcoming.

The villa is perfect in size and IMMACULATELY clean with everything modern and fresh!!!

There was also a bottle of champagne, bacon, eggs, cheese, milk and juice in the fridge and an array of cereal, condiments and bread waiting for us.

Given it was our honeymoon Michael and Laila had left us a beautiful welcoming card congratulating us on our wedding and we thought this was a lovely touch.

The grounds are superbly beautiful and the location is close to everything but remote enough to feel completely private.

We loved every moment of our stay and would recommend it to anyone!!!!

P.S. the spa is AMAZING

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozzieg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I have had the best time which was productive and peaceful .
The rooms are comfortable and stylish, 5 star.
Also the dinning table was even better than my office which accommodated my paper work for the 5 days.
Would recommend this to anyone who wants to complete his business in peace and to any family.
I will be back but this time with my family.
Peter
Ampha PTY LTD

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ampha12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Spent a weekend at Talga Estate, and have never felt as relaxed as I did here. The king sized beds were so comfortable, and having the spa in the room was just brilliant. Everything in the suite was was just right, very clean, had big tele, really comfy lounges, everything you could possibly need to cook was all there in the kitchen. We had a BBQ outside one evening which was lovely, had a great sunset and beautiful view looking out at the pomegranate orchard ... which were yummy as well.
The owners were great, very friendly and had some great recommendations on where to go in the area.
All in all, had a really great time there, i just wish we stayed longer than a weekend. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jess75_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.6 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
146 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talga Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talga Estate

Address: 307 Talga Rd, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range: $185 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Talga Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 2 bedroom units situated on a stunning 25 acre vineyard and pomegranate orchard. At Talga Estate our bedrooms make the difference: each has a King-size latex bed, crisp linen, plush doonas and an open bathroom with hydrotherapy spa bath. But that's only the start ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talga Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talga Estate Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing