We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Jersey - GB
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great hospitality in a great location”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I chose this B&B thanks to online reviews. It is hard to find fault with this B&B. Julie was warm and welcoming and full of great suggestions, such as the "Two Fat Blokes" half day winery tour as well as arranging us dinner at a nearby pub in Branxton which included a very convenient free minibus pick up and drop off service.

The house has a real rural isolation to it making it peaceful and relaxing. You'll even spot kangaroos in the woodland as you come in through the driveway. Then I must mention "Mojo", the utterly adorable collie dog.

The bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms are a little on the small side but they are spotlessly clean and well appointed, each room opening out onto the delightful wrap-around veranda.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed twice now and we love it. The hospitality, the room and the breakfast are all fantastic. Julie the owner is very welcoming and she makes you feel like home. We are very thankful!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The B&B is in a lovely home in a great bush setting. It is ideally located between Branxton and the key places in the Valley. The room and bed were very comfortable and the ensuite, though small, had a great shower. Julie is very friendly and most helpful, with organising a wine tasting tour and making good suggestions for places to eat. She provided a very nice continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our recent honeymoon and were not disappointed. Our host, Julie, welcomed us in with a friendly smile even though we arrived late in the evening. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the atmosphere was warm and relaxing. The bathroom was modern and immaculate. The room opened onto a large wooden deck where we enjoyed stargazing in the clear, hunter valley night sky. The next morning, our host prepared us a delicious breakfast on the grill while we sat in front of large wooden double doors, opened wide to allow beautiful views of the fields surrounding her home. Our wine tour had been overbooked for that day, and she kindly arranged for us to join another tour while we were still finishing breakfast. My wife and I are from the southern United States, and thought we knew what hospitality was...but Julie made us feel very much at home half way around the world!

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the house open onto a large wooden deck with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremorne, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night after "Blues and Burgers" at Macquriedale. Whilst it is a long way north it is quite close to Branxton which is a much better town than Cessnock on a Saturday night. After a few mediocre experiences in the Hunter it was a joy to find a nice clean place with a warm welcome. The breakfast was great and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loftus, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Red Balloon voucher with Massage at Endota & Lunch at Chez Pok. The rooms were spotless & very comfortable. Bathroom was also very clean & nice hot showers. All the staff were very friendly & welcoming & nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, raisin toast and a very yummy cooked breakfast. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night with a friend on our way north and found it to be very comfortable indeed. It poured with rain unfortunately for the whole 24 hours but it was still very picturesque, with kangaroos in the paddock outside our room in the early morning. Elegant room, lovely, home grown breakfast cooked by Julie, and a friendly dog to complete the ambience. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinkydi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
2.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2.7 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.3 mi away
Rothbury Escape
Rothbury Escape
#1 of 3 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1443 Wine Country Dr, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Bed & Breakfast Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing