We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunter Hideaway Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hunter Hideaway Cottages
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I recently took my 80-year-old great-uncle and his son (from the US) to the Hunter for a couple of days and they loved it. We were hoping for rustic and rustic is what we got. To wake up to 'roos outside your door is one of the best things ever for people who've never seen a wild kangaroo before! The two-day stay for all of us was wonderful.

The cottage is very comfortable with everything you could need for a short stay. Everything is clean and ready for you to unpack and enjoy your holiday. We were hoping to find a place that made us feel we were "away" from it all, and that's exactly what we got. Even with Paul overseas, we didn't want for anything as he was only an email away. Very good value for money too. What more could one ask for when on holiday?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
30
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I enjoyed our 2-night stay in hunter hideaway together with my bf last aug 2013. If you're looking for a relaxing and quiet place to stay, you're looking at the right page. Had fun chasing and taking photos of the kangaroos everywhere and had bonfire during the night. I also love their complete kitchen utilities.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family, including 3 kids under 5, thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay in Hermitage cottage. The cottage was clean, well set up & really comfortable, especially the warm donnas for those cold nights. The price was good too - kids under 2 stay free, compared to other cottage options in the Hunter, where adding kids substantially increases the cost. Paul was really communicative & helpful with our booking & set up.
Whilst we were there, we enjoyed wandering the property looking for firewood, having a sausage sizzle on the gas BBQ & sitting around an open campfire toasting marshmallows at night. We liked being separated from the other cottages & soaking up the sun on the verandah with a view of the bush. Only disappointment was that the kangaroos didn't join us, not this time anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ni-maree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Accommodation needs for four adults are not as readily available as for a family of four (2 adults/2children).
We three sisters recently took our 86yo Mother on the little driving trip in rural NSW and as it was school holiday time minimum stay policies were effected in many regions. So choosing where we could stopover necessarily required a little more planning than just 'winging it' throughout the region.
Paul @ Hunter Hideaways is smart enough to price stays answering the customer's needs.
Chardonnay cottage suited our four adult needs and we were so happy with our little cabin in the Hunter Valley bush we stayed two!
The cabin/cottage is well equipped, beds are extremely comfortable, hot water plentiful and the gas fire place a cosy feature for the cold nights.The cabins also have airconditioning.
Great location for pootling about the various wineries/attractions/villages and delightful to return to the peaceful location for that glass or two of (insert your preference) at day's end!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pmariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We already stayed at the Hunter Hideaway Cottages four years ago and, after searching the Web for various accommodation options in the Hunter Valley, we realised that the Hideaway Cottages were perfect once again for us and our friends visiting from overseas.

They are affordable (and don't require a 2 night minimum stay, as many other places do), clean, in a lovely location surrounded by kangaroos and have all the amenities you'd need for a weekend away. The queen size beds are extremely comfortable, and the gas fire place a fantastic feature during the colder winter months.
We'll be back!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in Semillon, one of four cottages on the property. Loved the secluded location and the kangaroos outside our window in the morning. The cottage was modern, with older but adequate furnishings. We loved it as a self-contained unit.

Room Tip: Use the Information center for best deals on accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lovely cottage a little bit of the beaten path but very private and comfortable. You really feel like you are in the bush and there are many many kangaroos and other animals you can see while you have a cup of tea on your porch. Also just a 10min drive from all the winery's and heart of Hunter Valley. Will go back again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HumphreyPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
4.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
6.8 mi away
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
#6 of 41 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Hideaway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Hideaway Cottages

Property: Hunter Hideaway Cottages
Address: 234 Tuckers Lane | North Rothbury, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunter Hideaway Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hunter Hideaway Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Hideaway Cottages Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing