We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow What a serene place to take time out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunter Hideaway Cottages
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We needed a base for a family wedding and all the associated family event over the January Long Weekend. We found the Hunter Hideaway Cottages not far from the main venue and at a reasonable price. What we didn't realise was how beautiful and peacful the place was going to be. I could have quite easily stayed at the cottage and ditch all the wedding hoopla. Although there are a few cottages on the farm we didn't see another person the whole time we were there, but we did see plenty of Kangaroos. The cottage had everything we needed, room for everyone, air-con, self catering facilities and right in the mddle of all the vinyards. Fantastic!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 71 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

about 10 mins drive from the centre of the wineries. very quite place with great privacy. space between cottages are huge. surrounded by wild kangaroos, quite clean condition. My parents loved it, we had great time there, I would stay there again. Thank you Paul.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Definitely good value for money. We've stayed here 4 years in a row and we love it! It has ALWAYS been clean and tidy. If you're after something quiet which is away from everything, this is the place! There's not much to do at the actual cottage but that's why we love it.
Always plenty of kangaroos and rabbits at sunset especially when you drive in. Close to all the wineries and Hunter Valley Gardens.
Mel from Sydney

Room Tip: Our fave cottage has become the Semillon but we also like the Chardonnay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelW075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Another stay, another time to recharge my batteries.

Room Tip: Secluded location, from all windows I saw the bushland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This place is quite and nice. Facilities within the cottage are clean and sufficient. The handsome owner Paul gave us some good advice of the vineyards to do the wine-tasting. The best thing is a kangaroo family living around the bush near our cottage. We were surprised by our neighbour and had fun with them!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelYuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Cabins were clean, well provided, peaceful, quiet and thoroughly relaxing. Everything was within a very short drive. Local vineyards. Would happily stay at this accommodation again. Great value. If you want a resort than stay at a resort but if want peace and quiet and relaxation you cannot go any further than this.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethgMacksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We came to the Hunter Valley many times with friends during the year, and I have to said it was probably the best value we found for long time...I think the price is great for what you get especialy if you share with friends its even better..But we had a great time, the cabin are clean and tidy all we need was there. We also had bbq in very typical oz way...and the good think no body around you. You really feel in middle of the bush with kangaroos at the front of the cottage when you wake up (very nice for kids). Cellar door 4mn away and horses ride also 4mn away...we all very much enjoyed our times and we will comeback..Thanks to Paul for you welcome..

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
4.4 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.1 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 8 in Pokolbin
371 reviews
13.0 mi away
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
320 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
2.6 mi away
Rothbury Escape
Rothbury Escape
#1 of 2 in Rothbury
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Hideaway Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Hideaway Cottages

Address: 234 Tuckers Lane | North Rothbury, Rothbury, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Rothbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range: $92 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunter Hideaway Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunter Hideaway Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Hideaway Cottages Greater Newcastle/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing