We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nurtured by nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bombah Point Eco Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

So lovely to feel you are holidaying sustainably - to me that is a 5 star rating! If you are looking for a lovely low key bush retreat, unpretentious and honest, then this is it. Great location amongst the gum trees. Fabulously helpful and friendly hosts & loads of privacy. Brilliant hosts. We asked about some not so favourable trip advisor reviews (as I was curious) and after a lot of probing it seems if I was to "Rate the Guest" the 'group of 15' from Sydney would get a "don't allow to stay'. I have worked in hospitality and travel & can never understand why people feel the need to party hard in the middle of a National Park area!!! - stay in the City and leave the tranquil nature to nature lovers. Great value - cooked every night, explored something new every day. Thanks Bombah!

Room Tip: All rooms look to the West so lovely sunsets between the gumtrees.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Bombah Point Eco Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Bombah Point Eco Cottages are a remarkable opportunity to stay in the middle of a nature and aquatic playground while enjoying the extremes in comfort and beauty. The cottages are very well appointed, quiet and secluded. They offer on-going glimpses of kangaroos, a range of birds and a tree top setting. The loft sleeping room is super cosy in winter and well ventilated in summer and offer a sleep in the treetops experience. The downstairs bedroom is luxurious and elegant. The living dining room and kitchen opens onto a generous array of balconies for the evening drink as the sun goes down.

These architect-designed cottages are a celebration of light and view while maintaining elegance and a cosy atmosphere. Plenty of sun in winter, they are well ventilated in summer.

Managers Rob and Kim and courteous, helpful, knowledgeable and fun. Rob's inventiveness resulted in a fix for my kayak that saved me a trip back to Sydney. Nothing is too much for these two who keep the cottage immaculate and the firewood in plentiful supply (even when there really is no excuse other than the delight of lighting up the slow combustion stove). They work hard to offer their guests a premium experience, which we have had on numerous occasions.

The surrounding area is an extraordinary paradise for bushwalkers, kayakers and bike riders. We have been doing all three for up to six weeks a year for four years and have not grown tired yet. The cottages are centrally located with easy access to the Myall Lakes National Park (and of course the lakes), ocean beaches (an easy and beautiful drive) and Port Stephens.

The cottages are not cheap but you get much more than your money's worth. We are addicted not just to the region but also to the elegance and comfort of the cottages themselves.

I'd rate Bombah Point Eco Cottages as being amongst the best rural accommodation I have stayed in. It competes with a Coles Bay in Tasmania (of two decades ago) and the now sadly defunct Narrawilly Farm Cottages in Milton.

Room Tip: All cottages are quiet, secluded and surroudned by bush
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Whilst the beautiful setting of the cottages can not be disputed, and the accommodation very comfortable (though not the standard expected from a reputed four star resort), the management of Bombah Point can only be described as disappointing.

We were a group of 15 who had hired three cottages. This hadn't been hidden from the management team as the booking was made together. If the team did not expect us to socialise and dine together in the evenings, then sadly the holiday was only going to be frustrating for both parties from the outset.

We were given an arrival deadline of 21.00 on Thursday evening - the first of our parties travelling from Sydney in Easter bank holiday traffic arrived at 21.30. Whilst apologetic, we arrived as quickly as we could. We were met with what only could be described as vitriol and a bad attitude, especially regarding the industry the team are working in. Threats of not allowing the party to stay for that night and references to their own private lives can only be described as inappropriate and amateur, especially as we had made contact at 19.45 to confirm we would be arriving late.

On the Friday evening, we had dined in one of the cottages and were socialising on the veranda. At 21.45, a member of the management team approached the cottage and admonished the group for being too loud, with reference to a 5 month old baby being on site. The parting shot was 'I will turn the cottage electricity off and shut this down' if we continued at the level of noise he claimed we were making. Firstly, the expectation needs to be set of what is considered an appropriate level of noise from a group of 15 at 21.45 in the evening. Secondly, the expectation needs to be communicated in a civil manner and compromise found during an adult conversation. Being shouted at like children and having embarrassing threats made is not acceptable. If the management team want a quiet clientèle who make no noise, then this should be made clear on the website. Taking a large booking and dollar value, and then attempting to curtail any activity, is not acceptable.

This resort is desperately lacking an idea of which market it wants to service. What cannot happen is a large group arriving, paying a large amount of money to stay there for an extended weekend, and then be met with distinct lack of hospitality.

Room Tip: The rooms in the loft space have no shutters or blinds, and therefore you will be woken by the light...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BondiBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bpec2008, Manager at Bombah Point Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Group bookings are frequently welcomed at the cottages.

Loud, intoxicated, rowdy behavior, with excessive vocal and music noise levels that escalate into the evening is not welcomed.

Managements priority is to ensure the preservation of the ability for ALL guests to enjoy their stay. Multiple noise complaints are taken seriously and acted upon.

We trust that the majority of guests exercise a little common sense when assessing for themselves what an appropriate level of noise would be during their stay.

We are a small husband and wife business with a very young family. This is one of the reasons we advise guests prior to booking that our reception closes at 9pm.
An option of the cottage being made available from 7am the following morning is given where the guest still wishes to book but are unable to arrive prior to 9pm. We make very reasonable allowances for people delayed due to unforeseen circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We loved the Myall Lakes region and had a wonderful relaxing time in the area - bushwalking, kayaking, beaches, fishing and sand dunes. I would highly recommend the area for a vacation however the lodge did not live up to expectations as indicated by their website.

We were paying $335/night (in peak season) and for this money I expect clean towels (the badly stained towels were replaced after I notified the owners but were surprised that they were not checked prior to being placed in our cottage). The cottages are definitely not luxury - the shower curtain had black mold growing on it, the fabric on window seat in the main room had lots of stains and consequently we did not use it.

There are no curtains/blinds in the upstairs loft area or in the main section of the cottage (living/dining area). This resulted in many early mornings for our children who woke up at sunrise, and since they went to bed after dark, they did not have a very restful time. The loft area is a good area for older kids, it is not very kid friendly for little ones as there is no safety rail and the half wall can easily be climbed over. The stairs are also very steep down to the lounge.

The cottages are not on the water (as previous reviewer mentioned) and so we were always in our car, even just to go down to the lake to do some fishing. I did try walk through the property but the climb is very steep both up and down.

On the positive side, the pool area is nice and after a day on the beach it is refreshing to swim before dinner. The cottages are quiet and set well between the trees making it a very peaceful escape from the city.

In summary, we did have a lovely holiday but left feeling that we over paid despite being peak season, the rates are too high and the cottages are definitely not luxury. BTW definitely take your own pillow if you want a good rest, we almost drove to Forster to buy one!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajsmSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bpec2008, Manager at Bombah Point Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our cottages. We are pleased that you loved the Myall Lakes area and used your holiday to take full advantage of what the area has to offer.

We are disappointed that the cottages didn’t meet your expectations. I would like to address your concerns about the towels, window seat, shower curtain and pillows with an apology that they were not to your satisfaction.

I can assure you all linen and towels are washed at extremely high temperatures at a commercial laundry to ensure they are clean and hygienic. Unfortunately some times we have had small rust stains on the towels from the commercial washers. We are pleased that you found our quick response, providing you with additional brand new towels, adequate.

We hope you will be pleased to know we are currently replacing the shower curtains in all 6 cottages and cleaning the upholstery fabrics throughout which do show the signs of wear after a busy family holiday period.

We realise that many guests have strong personal preferences about their pillows and we do our best to accommodate this with a range of densities amongst the 7 we provide in each cottage.

By law we must, and do have, safety rails fitted to the half walls providing a 1.2m barrier in all the cottage lofts. They are in accordance with current Building Codes of Australia. Child gates are also available on request for the stair cases, which are a standard step dimension in tread depth and height.

The cottages are architectural designed to be free from window coverings. We promote this through the photos on our website showing the wrap around floor to ceiling glass of the lower levels showcasing the bush with uninterrupted views. The bush provides a natural privacy screen between cottages. The gable windows of the upstairs loft room are designed to allow you to drift off to sleep watching the stars. The downstairs bedroom does have blinds for additional privacy and to reflect afternoon sun on this side of the cottage. Some guests opt for their children to sleep in this room for various reasons, including for darkness, and the adults sleep in the loft.

It is lovely to know how much the pool area is appreciated, and we are pleased you enjoyed the use of it with your family. Along with the tranquility of the cottages as a peaceful escape from the city.

We do hope you will visit the area again to enjoy all it has to offer, and we hope we have adequately addressed some of your concerns raised in your review.

Kind Regards,
Rob & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The pros:
- Nice hosts. Nice people
- Quiet and peaceful
- Relatively clean place but don't look too closely

The Cons:
- Far from the beach. 45 min to Hawks Nest
- Not kid friendly. Balconies are quite a few feet above ground
- "gourmet kitchen" and "deluxe bedding" is a bit of a stretch
- I saw a note from the owner to a person using the washing machine that said the machine was stopped because the load wasn't full enough. Would you do that to a guest - stop their washing mid cycle full of soap?
- moldy smelling bedroom
- basically, as others have said, for $300 you'd expect more than the lodges at a caravan park.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivelafrance2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bpec2008, Manager at Bombah Point Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our cottages. We’re pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and the tranquility of the area. We are disappointed that your stay did not meet all your expectations. We hope we can address some of your "Cons"

Beach Access
For beach access we‘d like to draw your attention to several access points much closer to the cottages that you may have overlooked. Dees Corner is only 15 minutes from the cottages via a 10 km drive and a 5 minute ferry ride. It is the first of 3 signposted National Park car parks giving access to the beach along the road to Hawks Nest.

Cottage Balconies
All cottage balcony balustrades are built to current Building Code of Australia Standards to ensure there is no hazard, I hope this eases any concerns you have about their safety. A photo of our cottages showing the full height of the balcony is provided on our website.

Gourmet Kitchen
We consider our kitchens to be gourmet, we are sorry you didn’t find this description adequate. We welcome any suggestions you may have for additional facilities/provisions in them. Currently each kitchen is fully equipped with a full fridge/freezer, microwave, fan forced electric oven, 4 burner gas cook top, gas bbq, cooking utensils, pots and pans, toaster, kettle and coffee plunger, and a stock of tea, coffee, salt, pepper, oil, paper towel, napkins, foil and cling wrap to get you started. There is also 24 hour access to the reception kitchen and its catering equipment if there is anything extra you might need to whip up your meal. A photo of the kitchen/lounge area is on our website.

Laundry Facilities
Thank you for raising your concerns over the use of our laundry facilities. We certainly understand the need to do a load of washing, especially when traveling with children. Our laundry service, including detergent, is provided for free however, our water supply is limited - being from rain water tanks. For this reason we do ask, via the laundry door signage, that any loads of washing are a full load and suggest the use of the cottage laundry tub for small amounts that could be hand washed. This ensures that the washing machine remains operational for all guests throughout the year.

Unfortunately, on one occasion during your stay, this summer we had to turn off the machine that just started a wash with only a couple of small items in it. We felt this was not unreasonable as it was not fair to other guests, including yourselves, who may wish to use the machine. To respect the unknown guests privacy we did not pull items out of the machine.

Odour in bedroom
I apologize for the odour you mentioned in the bedroom, we do air the cottages as much as possible between guest stays, which is only 4 hours during our peak summer period. Most residual odours are from previous guests perfumes and cooking which can be tricky to dissipate in short time frames without using nasty chemicals. I would like to assure you all floorboards throughout are both vacuumed then mopped, linen is washed and all surfaces wiped clean. Mold is very uncommon in the bedrooms as the floor is elevated from the ground with open air underneath.


We are independently rated by AAA Tourism as a 4 star property and can assure you our tariffs are comparable with other accommodation in our area for peak season.

Once again we are pleased you enjoyed the Myall Lakes region and hope to welcome your family back some time perhaps to enjoy the closer beaches or even a winter escape to make use of the cottages log fireplace and a hot spa.

Kind Regards,
Rob & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a great place but it needs to lift its game in some areas. We love camping and will happily rough it but for something billed as "luxury accommodation" and a price tag to match, you expect a bit more.

This means providing comfy pillows and a better shower which was under pressured and had an old mouldy shower curtain and dodgy showerhead that sends sprays of water shooting in various directions. The lighting also needs some work as it doesn't really light the apartment at night. Our fridge was old, noisy and small and didn't keep things cool. This led to an amazing and beyond the call of duty nightime replacement by Rob with a brand new one.

If we were paying $100 to $200 dollars a night I wouldn't have batted an eyelid at these shortcomings but at $300 per night one expects all the trimmings.

On the note of servicing there is no basic cottage clean up (vacuum, linen refreshment etc..) for long stays which is a bit dissappointing. There are also other minor things such as the old CRT TV and stereo that lacks an ipod dock. Again at these prices per night and the relative low cost of these luxury items nowadays it should be standard.

It should also be noted that the Google Maps location of Bombah Point gives one the impression that the lodges are located on or very near the water. This is not the case, the lake is a 5 minute drive and beach is a 20-30 minute drive with a ferry crossing that runs on the half hour. We really wanted waterside accomodation so this was a bit of a let down for us. We probably should have done more research but the awesomeness of the greater Myall Lakes area well and truly made up for this.

Another small gripe is that I asked when booking the eco lodges if they were kid friendly and was told that they absolutely were. In my mind this means open space to run about and kick or throw a ball but the whole place is on the side of a fairly steep mountain surrounded by bush. To add to this we were told on arrival that we should not step foot in the bush, even 1mm off the track as snakes would be lying in wait for frogs and may mistake our feet for lunch. Kids are by nature inquisitive and like to explore and have fun so the initial comment of "kid friendly" didn't entirely hold water. We were also told on arrival to be cautious with the rainwater filtered tap water if our stomachs were easily upset so we had to go and buy water. It would be good if these things were mentioned prior to arrival so that water could purchased beforehand. On the topic of water a big thumbs up for the nice and well maintained pool and games room.

Overall we had a really nice and relaxing time and many of the things mentioned could be easily fixed which would make this place just perfect. Rob is a good host who is eager to please and I would definitely recommend the Bombah Point eco-lodges because the whole area is brilliant and a combination of kayaking and fishing on the lake, hiring a tinny and seeing dolphins, playing on the sand dunes and lazy days at Hawks Nest beach were just what we needed.

Hope this helps with your decision making.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smokeybearNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bpec2008, Manager at Bombah Point Eco Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our property. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed our property and the spectacular Myall Lakes area.

We hope we can provide some clarity on the items that you were not as satisfied with.

PILLOWS
We realise these are a highly personal choice. We do our best to offer a range of densities in the 7 provided in the cottage, which are all a commercial grade pillow.

SHOWER
The cottages are 100% self sufficient with water supply. The spa and shower is supplied with water from rain water tanks which is fed into the cottage via a pump. Naturally this does not produce the exact level of pressure you get with your town water supply. But this is a compromise we chosen in our aim to provide sustainable eco accommodation.

We apologise for the mould on the bottom of your shower curtain and thank you for alerting us to your shower head. We hope you will be pleased to know we are currently replacing the shower curtains in all 6 cottages and cleaning the internals of the shower heads after the end of a busy family holiday period as part of our 'Spring clean'.

LIGHTING
The compact florescent lighting throughout the cottage is an environmental choice. These globes reduce our lighting power consumption by approximately 75%. They are not quite as bright as regular globes, which is why we provide additional floor and bedside lamps when a bit extra light is required.

FRIDGE
All fridges throughout the cottages are 210L, which is obviously smaller than what a larger family would have in their own home. We are happy that you found your replacement fridge more appropriate for your group.

SERVICING
We offer all guests fresh linen and towels mid way through week long stays. If guests decline the offer then we respect your wishes.
We are self catered accommodation and as such do not clean cottages during your stay however, we do stock them with provisions for you to freshen up the cottage.

LOCATION
We are sorry that you have misinterpreted our location, we understand this would have been disappointing if you were wishing for lake frontage.

We are located exactly where the google map on the TripAdvisor website has us placed. Our property is the pale rectangle at the marker point. Surrounded by the green area which is the Myall Lakes National Park. We offer a map on our website also giving the location of the cottages. We are near the lake - 2.5 km via road, and relatively close to the beach - 10 km via road.

KID FRIENDLY
When we are asked if we are 'kid friendly' we advise that we do have children of all ages stay at the property. We have mountain bikes, kayaks, garden, chickens, pool and a games room all of which the kids seem to enjoy and the large open grassed area near the solar panels on the property has been the site of a few 'backyard cricket' games.

However, we do state that we have several dams on the property and we are surrounded by bush so obviously we are subject to a few creepy crawlies, including snakes. Also for this reason we stipulate on the booking terms and conditions that children are supervised at all times on our property.

We provide the facts of the area and as we do not know the specific needs of your children we leave the very personal decision on whether our property is suitable for your family up to the parents.

On arrival we let guests know that it is best to stick to walking trails when bushwalking on our property or throughout the surrounding National Park. Snakes can sit off the edge of trails in wait for small prey. We like to give information to our guests on how to stay safe in the bushland of the area as we realise you may not be familiar with what precautions you should take in the bush. We have NEVER had any guests bitten by snakes whilst staying with us.

WATER
Our drinking water supply is filtered water from the rainwater tanks. If guests are concerned about drinking it we provide bottled water in the cottage on arrival with the option to refill this with pre boiled water at the 24hr reception kitchen.

We are very pleased you enjoyed the pool, games room and the spectacular beauty of the Myall Lakes area, and we hope we can welcome you and your family back some time in the future.

Kind Regards,
Rob & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed in the Bombah Point Eco Cottages for one night in November 2010. It is really quiet and a perfect place to get away from it all, or in our case, if you want to break up the drive from Sydney to Byron Bay. The cottages are relatively big and the fireplace is a really nice feature on a cold rainy Saturday evening. It is all very clean and the furniture looks new although nothing out of the ordinary. We borrowed some DVDs from the library and had a nice cosy night in at the fireplace while it was raining outside. Just a nice and cosy place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myall Lakes National Park
18.4 mi away
Mobys Beachside Retreat
Mobys Beachside Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
210 reviews
2.4 mi away
NRMA Myall Shores Holiday Park
NRMA Myall Shores Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Myall Lakes National Park
244 reviews
18.2 mi away
Blueys Retreat
Blueys Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Mount View Motel
Mount View Motel
#2 of 3 in Bulahdelah
12 reviews
17.0 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
609 reviews
15.7 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Seal Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bombah Point Eco Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bombah Point Eco Cottages

Address: 949 Bombah Point Rd | Bombah Point, Myall Lakes National Park, New South Wales 2423, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Myall Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Myall Lakes National Park
Price Range: $279 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our architecturally designed cottages, set on 100 acres of coastal bushland in the Myall Lakes, are only 2.5 hours from Sydney and are perfect for a getaway. Nestled privately amongst the trees, glass doors open to a wrap around veranda with bush and valley views, the perfect place for an evening BBQ or just laze in the hammock and listen to the birds as the sun sets through the trees.Bombah Point is surrounded by the Myall Lakes National Park, half way between the busy tourist hot-spots of Hawks Nest and Seal Rocks on the coast of New South Whales, 3 hours north of Sydney and 1 hour from Newcastle.Our boutique lodges are designed for privacy, comfort and to compliment the natural beauty of the area, with access to unpopulated beaches, tea tree lakes and majestic sand dunes within the adjacent national park.Six, self contained, eco-friendly, lodges on 100 acres, enjoy sunset from the verandah before grabbing some herbs from the permaculture gardens to complete your gourmet meal of local produce served under the stars. Then dip into your rainwater spa with a glass of bubbly or curl up in-front of the log fire.The property and surrounding national park is renowned for Bird watching, swimming, bushwalking, surfing, swimming, beaches, fishing, trekking, kayaking whale watching, diving and mountain biking.We cater for, weekends away, romatic escapes, couples, families birthdays, weddings, groups, business, mini-conferences, yoga & fitness retreatsThere are a range of excellent day trips to enjoy during your stay, from the picturesque country town of Bulahdelah 10minutes to the west, to the whale watching from the lighthouse at Seal Rocks and surfing at Blueys Beach or the majestic sand dunes near Mungo Brush and beaches around Hawks Nest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bombah Point Eco Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing