We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durras Lake North Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Munich
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent one night there only recently and found the scenery utmost beautiful. The campsite itself is well-equipped with everything you might need. It is of course a unique thing being greeted by a bunch of friendly kangaroos who live on and around the campsite. What we will rememember most is how incredibly friendly and helpful Peter (the owner) was. Over a free cappuchino he provided his laptop so we could check our emails. Additionally he came up with so many useful travel tips and ideas for the weeks lying before us. Thanks again for that, Peter. We had a great time at your wonderful campsite, and hopefully will be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_and_Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaalo, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hi Chris, really pleased that you both enjoyed Durras North and your campsite so much. The kangaroos certainly enjoy the campground as well. You are in for a great time travelling throughout Australia. Really hope you are able to visit some of the places I suggest. Anyone visiting Sydney MUST include a ferry trip to Manly. All the very best for your travels and thanks again for visiting Durras North.
Regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    29
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We arrived and found our 2-room cabin to be clean, orderly, furnished, and supplied with all the cooking supplies necessary to have a nice outdoor bbq later on. Our back porch was also comfy, equipped with a picnic table, and had a nice view of the central green area that was covered with grazing kangaroos. It was truly a delight. Over all very pleasant stay, except for our cabin smelling rather musty and the bathroom shower not retaining water inside the shower well so that it easily came out onto the bathroom floor and made it a rather messy situation after a couple showers had been had. Nice access to the beach and bushwalks and lots of opportunity for up-close observation of kangaroos.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reneeb143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrasnorth, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
It is a great cabin for Kangaroo viewing. They really love that grassy area. Saves us mowing the lawn! Thanks for the note regarding the shower and am pleased to let you know we have resolved this issue. Concerning the musty smell - we generally let each cottage or cabin air out a little prior to visitors arriving. With so much rain this year, the whole village of Durras North (and the south coast) is a little musty! Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed in the Van in Durras Holiday Park over the weekend before Easter and loved every minute of it. The hosts are lovely and accommodating and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The Van is pristine and makes gorgeous accommodation. There is wildlife everywhere you look. If you like to combine birdwatching with a bit of exertion, hire a kayak and go out on the lake. The kayaks are of the highest standard and the number and variety of birds around the lake just breathtaking. We would love to return to Durras and highly recommend you try it for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hila5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaalo, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Pleased you enjoyed "The Van" so much. We tried to keep it looking like a simple caravan on the outside, but having a surprise factor when you enter it. The feedback we've been getting for "The Van" has been great. Also very pleased you got out and about both kayaking and birdwatching. I think there is around 209 species of birdlife here - mostly due to the differing environments of beach, bush and the Lake. Thanks so much for staying. It is always a pleasure having people who really appreciate the beautiful environment of Durras North. Regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The owners/managers were very enthusiastic and approachable, great separate and spacious camping sites with plenty of native visitors (kangaroos, brush tailed possums and large goannas). Good facilities, always clean. Beach and estuary easy to access, plenty of things to see and do in Durras North and surrounding spots (Pebble Beach, Pretty Beach, Snapper Point is a must see, Depot Beach) and bush land. It was great to be told to check out Central Tilba on our journey south to Eden as well, perfect spot to pull over and explore or have a cuppa/lunch. Cheers for the great experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllyP8283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrasnorth, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
So glad you called into Central Tilba on the way to Eden. As you discovered, the south coast of NSW is just an awesome place. Very pleased you enjoyed Durras North. Thanks for staying. Regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We had a great time at Durras Lake North Holiday Park. We only stayed one night to test our new tent and were amazed at the natural beauty and abundant wildlife. The south coast of NSW generally speaking is gorgeous, but to be nestled in a little slice of the rainforest so close to the beach is just magic. The staff were very nice and you can even buy a decent coffee at the bait shop!

It is such a beautiful location we plan to go back - this time for a few days to really soak up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geokult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrasnorth, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thanks for staying. A shame you could only stay one night. I really think you need more time to fully appreciate this area. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Thanks also for the comment re our coffee. Just had a cappuccino myself. Not just decent coffee. It is fantastic! Regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have spent a number of years visiting the NSW south coast and can now confidently put Durras Lake North Holiday Park at the top of my list of places to take visitors to Australia to have a great relaxed time and to see a surprising amount of native wildlife (kangaroos, parrots, lorikeets and the odd possum at night) without having to leave the site.
The owners were fantastic and provided my French-Canadian partner and I with genuinely thoughtful and attentive service, as well as local knowledge of places to go and things to do.
The website was accurate with its descriptions, and the cabin we stayed in (Pelican Cabin - 3 nights, shoulder season) was good value with a more than adequate kitchen and bathroom.

All in all, I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet, friendly and 'Aussie' holiday at the south coast, without having to worry about breaking the budget. Make sure to grab a kayak and go for a paddle while your there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaySelva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrasnorth, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
So pleased to see that you rank the south coast so highly. Deservedly so! We get many locals bringing overseas guests here for the scenery and wildlife. Kayaking on the lake is worthwhile. We just had a Chinese family do this on what is a beautiful day. They said it was a highlight of their trip. Thanks for staying. Regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem Land, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband and I with our 1.5 year old son stayed here for 3 nights just before Christmas. We stayed in the King Parrot Cottage which is basic in appearance but very comfortable and had everything we needed. We arrived to a dozen kangaroos grazing just outside our cottage door, it was a lovely treat. The site was a great place for our toddler to run around (supervised of course! - he had no fear of the kangaroos) and we really enjoyed the walks on offer in the area. Only 5 minutes away by foot is a fantastic inlet where the lake water flowed out to the ocean, perfect for us and our toddler to splash around and the water was even warm!

My only small complaint (and it is more about my decision making than the owners) was that the price of the cottage more than doubled because it was close to Christmas, yet the holiday park was still quite empty, it didn't feel like peak season to be charged peak prices. Anyway, we loved the stay and it was great to have ample of things to do in nature without needing to drive anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lc_lang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and we are very pleased you enjoyed the wildlife. Thanks also for your comments concerning our peak season periods and it is something we can look at. Peak season prices do double but unfortunately this is when everyone wants to come! On the other hand, prior to the school holidays, we are in our low season rather than shoulder which is quite different to most accommodation places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durras North
8.7 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 18 in Batemans Bay
267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Big4 South Durras Holiday Park
2.2 mi away
NRMA Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lakesea Park
Lakesea Park
#2 of 2 in South Durras
44 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bawley Bush Retreat
Bawley Bush Retreat
#4 of 5 in Bawley Point
23 reviews
18.7 mi away
BIG4 Bungalow Park on Burrill Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durras Lake North Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durras Lake North Holiday Park

Property: Durras Lake North Holiday Park
Address: 57 Durras Road, Durras North, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Durras North
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Durras North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Durras Lake North Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach, Bush, and Lake, are all just a short stroll away. The park is in sheltered bushland with the Murramarang National Park on three sides. The top of our park has nostalgic-rustic cottages (2br) and standard park cabins (1br) plus a luxury van for couples. The bushland camping ground has spacious, individually crafted sites for the biggest tents and vans; and is popular with overseas visitors looking for a real Aussie camping experience. All accommodation have a wood-fired BBQ, which doubles as an open fireplace when the lid is put up. ... Wildlife: visiting through the park are kangaroos, wallabies, possums, bandicoots, and goannas. Birds: three spectacular birds abound; green & red King Parrots, red & blue Rosellas, and multi-coloured Rainbow Lorikeets. Shore birds and majestic pelicans can be found down at the lake. Activities: birdwatching, boating, bushwalking, fishing, kayaking, sailing, swimming, sunbathing, surfing, and wading in the shallows for the little ones. ... The park has a general store with regional specialities and a cafe serving coffee from locally roasted beans. Batemans Bay is 20 minutes away for town things, including a cinema for that third rainy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Durras Lake North Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing