We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top south coast location with plenty of wildlife” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durras Lake North Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Durras Lake North Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top south coast location with plenty of wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have spent a number of years visiting the NSW south coast and can now confidently put Durras Lake North Holiday Park at the top of my list of places to take visitors to Australia to have a great relaxed time and to see a surprising amount of native wildlife (kangaroos, parrots, lorikeets and the odd possum at night) without having to leave the site.
The owners were fantastic and provided my French-Canadian partner and I with genuinely thoughtful and attentive service, as well as local knowledge of places to go and things to do.
The website was accurate with its descriptions, and the cabin we stayed in (Pelican Cabin - 3 nights, shoulder season) was good value with a more than adequate kitchen and bathroom.

All in all, I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet, friendly and 'Aussie' holiday at the south coast, without having to worry about breaking the budget. Make sure to grab a kayak and go for a paddle while your there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaySelva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrasnorth, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
So pleased to see that you rank the south coast so highly. Deservedly so! We get many locals bringing overseas guests here for the scenery and wildlife. Kayaking on the lake is worthwhile. We just had a Chinese family do this on what is a beautiful day. They said it was a highlight of their trip. Thanks for staying. Regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem Land, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband and I with our 1.5 year old son stayed here for 3 nights just before Christmas. We stayed in the King Parrot Cottage which is basic in appearance but very comfortable and had everything we needed. We arrived to a dozen kangaroos grazing just outside our cottage door, it was a lovely treat. The site was a great place for our toddler to run around (supervised of course! - he had no fear of the kangaroos) and we really enjoyed the walks on offer in the area. Only 5 minutes away by foot is a fantastic inlet where the lake water flowed out to the ocean, perfect for us and our toddler to splash around and the water was even warm!

My only small complaint (and it is more about my decision making than the owners) was that the price of the cottage more than doubled because it was close to Christmas, yet the holiday park was still quite empty, it didn't feel like peak season to be charged peak prices. Anyway, we loved the stay and it was great to have ample of things to do in nature without needing to drive anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lc_lang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and we are very pleased you enjoyed the wildlife. Thanks also for your comments concerning our peak season periods and it is something we can look at. Peak season prices do double but unfortunately this is when everyone wants to come! On the other hand, prior to the school holidays, we are in our low season rather than shoulder which is quite different to most accommodation places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed at Durras North in a cottage for 3 nights with 2 young children (9 and 6) my only problem is I wish we stayed longer! Parrots greated you every morning for breakfast and during the day and night we were fortunate enough to see an echidna, ducks, possums, kangaroo's, kookaburra's. The BBQ fireplace is fantastic! Its only a short walk to the beach and the bushwalking trails are fantastic. The only thing is its a 25 minute drive back to Batemans Bay so make sure you stock up on supplies as the North Durras shop is only open on weekends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jo2680Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
The Parrots are always a highlight for our guests. King Parrots, Rosellas and Lorikeets the most common ones. Lately, quite a few white Cockatoos and Galahs. The shop hours are limited. It is actually shut for 3 months of the year. At other times, open during school holidays and weekends. Our website will have actual hours of operations. Hope you enjoyed your barbecue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

After travelling 5 weeks along the coast, we think Durras north was one of the best places we visited! We stayed 3 nights because there were so many animals you could see during walks or even during dinner! You can also make a fire with wood and that makes the evening even more special. It's a campingspot you want forget, it makes you feel happy while taking walks on the beautiful beach or the bush. My son of 2 had seen kangoeroos every day, i think that is wonderfull! Thanks to the friendly staff, who gave us good information! Greetings

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaatboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
At times we feel like a Zoo with all the wildlife. Comments such as yours are frequent and this is why we are so popular with international guests who really want that Australian bush and wildlife experience. Thanks for your feedback and comments. Always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed for two nights with friends on one of the campsites. We were right down in the gully and had a beautiful and quiet spot! All you hear at nights is birds, cicadas and the occasional roo or possum! Our generously dimensioned campsite was marked with logs and covered with mulch (not grass) which made it feel nice and soft - and it added to the feeling of being in the middle of the bush, under beautiful native trees! We had our own little fireplace which is perfect to sit around at nights (firewood available at reception). Btw, there is hardly any lighting in the park at nights so make sure you bring a torch! The grounds are very well looked after, however it's a bit of a walk uphill to the amenities. As the park is not on town water supply, there are only occasional water taps across the park. But, most importantly, Wendy and Peter are lovely hosts making sure that you are completely happy!

It is just a couple of metres down the road to the lake. If you want to get to the beach: It looks close but you need to walk around part of the lake which takes approx 20mins. The sea is beautiful there with a sandbank just a couple of metres from the shore and a bit of a current in between. It's a 20min drive from/to Batemans Bay so make sure you have got everything you need before returning to Durras North.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kopatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaalo, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your camping experience. Durras North is a wonderful place to experience nature and the varying landscapes of the beach, lake and bush. We always appreciate guests such as you who like the campground as it is rather than being overdeveloped. Can't do much about that uphill walk to the amenities block though! Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
healesville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

was really happy to be able to camp amongst the spotted gums and enjoy a fire with our dog. great 'getaway' from city life

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are fortunate to be able to offer the main things campers sometimes want. The chance to have a campfire, bring their pet and to experience the bush. A big contrast to the city I am sure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

My self and my 2 young children camped here for one week, the service and staff were friendly and the amenities kept extremmly clean, the sites where large and easly accomated all of our camp gear, I thought that the movies that where shown every second night was great ( the kids loved the free paddle pop they where given on one night), the local area and wildlife was wonderful to explore, with the beaches not over crowded. I found the other campers very freindly and felt at ease and safe for the kids to play. we have already booked for next year

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogsgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, Owner at Durras Lake North Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed your camping experience so much. All our team here love reading such positive reports and it makes their hard efforts worthwhile. Yes, the Paddle Pops always popular during movie nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durras North
8.8 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lincoln Downs Resort & Spa
Lincoln Downs Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Big4 South Durras Holiday Park
Big4 South Durras Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in South Durras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
NRMA Murramarang Beachfront Nature Resort
0.6 mi away
Lakesea Park
Lakesea Park
#2 of 2 in South Durras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
8.5 mi away
Coachhouse Marina Resort
Coachhouse Marina Resort
#7 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durras Lake North Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durras Lake North Holiday Park

Property: Durras Lake North Holiday Park
Address: 57 Durras Road, Durras North, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2536, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Durras North
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Durras North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Durras Lake North Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach, Bush, and Lake, are all just a short stroll away. The park is in sheltered bushland with the Murramarang National Park on three sides. The top of our park has nostalgic-rustic cottages (2br) and standard park cabins (1br) plus a luxury van for couples. The bushland camping ground has spacious, individually crafted sites for the biggest tents and vans; and is popular with overseas visitors looking for a real Aussie camping experience. All accommodation have a wood-fired BBQ, which doubles as an open fireplace when the lid is put up. ... Wildlife: visiting through the park are kangaroos, wallabies, possums, bandicoots, and goannas. Birds: three spectacular birds abound; green & red King Parrots, red & blue Rosellas, and multi-coloured Rainbow Lorikeets. Shore birds and majestic pelicans can be found down at the lake. Activities: birdwatching, boating, bushwalking, fishing, kayaking, sailing, swimming, sunbathing, surfing, and wading in the shallows for the little ones. ... The park has a general store with regional specialities and a cafe serving coffee from locally roasted beans. Batemans Bay is 20 minutes away for town things, including a cinema for that third rainy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Durras Lake North Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing