We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa Escondida”
Review of Playa Escondida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Escondida
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Playa Escondida”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This place is paradise. It is very quiet and peaceful. Eco friendly surroundings, great staff, very good food, ocean views, rustic accomodations, and fabulous weather made our stay so enjoyable, that we may just have to come back next year .This place is not for anyone looking for night life or excitement. We stayed a whole month, and wish it could have been longer..We were well looked after. There is no swimming pool.....just a glorious beach with warm waves every day. This is a place to completely relax. We loved it. Roger Dennie. Linda Dunn

Room Tip: It is rustic, with mosquito nets for all the beds, which are clean and comfortable. All are open to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leoathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
9
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Thank God for Daniel, the Ecuadorean who runs the place single-handedly while Cathy and her husband (who are supposed to be managing) get high and sleep until 3. We witness a very busy Sunday at the restaurant where Daniel was running around trying to serve everyone by himself and the managers were upstairs in their room. People got annoyed and left. The composting toilets (outside in the dark) are never cleaned and stink. There is so much lost potential here, no customer service except for Daniel and no care is taken here to make things welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spentana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Perfect camping spot, no music, no crowds, eco friendly, veggie food, thumbs up. When the tide is low there are kilometers of tidepools to walk through. Its not that far from towns around and not really hard to reach.
Staff is just too kind.
The restaurant has got vegetarian optons which is a plus.
PIctures you'll find in the website are pretty lousy, far behind from the real thing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We headed there because of it "eco friendly" reviews. When we arrived nobody greeted us and we had to yell for a half hour before someone came out to see us. We decided to eat lunch which took a good hour to come out. I wanted to leave then but my wife begged for us to stay. We were given a room on the second floor with great views. The price was three times what we have been paying for other hotels in the area. Cant warn you guys enough about this place. Let me see how to put this. There dogs barked all night since they were stuck in a tiny cage. There were no screens on the windows o bugs were everywhere. The bathroom is located in an outhouse so in the middle of the night you have to walk outside in the dark in the middle of the jungle. Plus the best is when we were getting ready for be I picked up my back pack and at least 10 roaches scattered around our room. i would have left right then if it wasnt night. We couldnt get out of there fast enough.... You have been warned!

Room Tip: Go down the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Playa Escondida is an amazing place - a real natural paradise well preserved and performing true sustainable tourism. The hotel is simple yet comfortable. What makes it so special is the friendly people who run the place. Kevin and Kathy who manage the hotel will make you feel special and at home within a few minutes of your arrival. The food at the restaurant is great - real coastal seafood delicacies and the location right on the beach is a perfect place to relax. If you go here, you will need to stay at least two nights to really take it all in. Totally worth the drive!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony The views are astounding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had reservations. Once we arrived we were greeted by a barking dog. No one come out to greet us, had to say hello 4 times. I think they were hiding in the kitchen. They knew someone was there as they kept telling the dog to shut up, but would not come out. Seemed like they were hiding and hoping we would just leave (we did just that). The two people there had said they heard something about a reservation but were still clueless. The woman there was on the phone for about 10 minutes trying to figure it out with the owner. We heard something about no food. Then they told us it is slow season so the cooks leave at 4, you have to order your dinner at lunchtime. After we saw the hut that did not have the amenities promised in the reservation (shower), we asked about the shower and were told "hey this is a ego lodge". Being an eco lodge is not an excuse for inflated room prices, shabby or non-existent amenities and worse of all the poor customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank curlygirlcurlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville MD, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We hit Attacames and stayed at a place called The Chill Inn the first night. Yolanda who runs the Chill Inn has a great but fairly standard beach town hostel. We wanted someplace a little more unique and went out to the Playa Escondida on a recommendation and were glad we did. Don't head out there if you want a great swimming/surfing beach, a night scene, are uncomfortable hitch-hiking or taking the Chivo buses, want fancy hotel accommodations (AC, no bugs, luxury showers, and flush toilets). Do go if you want to stay somewhere memorable and unique, explore secluded beaches, caves, and tide pools, all with pleasant and personable service. The pictures don't do this place justice. The small collection of buildings are amazing open air palm frond bungalows incorporating natural features and archeological artifacts from the site. The room came with mosquito nets, hammocks, and a big jug of potable water. The food was good and was presented beautifully with flowers etc, from the property. We were glad we got a room in the big "4 plex" near the ocean because of the views and the breeze. We could hear our neighbors but it wasn't bad. We could have had our own building up the hill for the same price but were happy closer to the ocean. Having been to a nice jungle lodge on the oriente side of Ecuador years ago, if you cant fit a trip to Coca or Tenna in your trip, a stay at the Playa Escondida will just about make up for it. Great place.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach gives better breezes which helps make up for the lack of AC or fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galera
2.5 mi away
Cabanas Isla del Sol
11.2 mi away
Hotel Puerto Ballesta
Hotel Puerto Ballesta
#1 of 2 in Tonsupa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Cielo Azul
Hotel Cielo Azul
#2 of 10 in Atacames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas del Mar
Cabanas del Mar
#1 of 6 in Mompiche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
23.0 mi away
Royal Decameron Mompiche
21.7 mi away
The Mud House Hostel
The Mud House Hostel
#1 of 18 in Mompiche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Escondida

Property: Playa Escondida
Address: km 14 - via Tonchigue | Punta Galera, Galera, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Esmeraldas Province > Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In South America, from the foot hills of the Andes Mountains of Ecuador, the river Malpelo winds down to the Pacific Coast forming a beautiful bay now called Playa Escondida (hideaway beach). Truly off the beaten track, with the nearest town fourteen km's away, you are assured of privacy, safety, a pristine beach and gentle surf. The backdrop for this idyllic shoreline is an ecological refuge of 100 hectares. Here we are dedicated to protecting the diverse flora and fauna of the semi-tropical forest from local hunters, logging, cattle and shrimp farming, not to mention commercial tourism; all forces which the threaten the fragile eco-system of this vital littoral. Come and experience the magic of one of the last frontiers on the Pacific Rim. The refuge currently has capacity for thirty people. Prices range from US$7 to $25 per person. There is a secluded area with lots of shade for camping, with showers. Children up to 10 years old pay half price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Escondida Ecuador/Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing