We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great - seems to be the best option in Fernando de Noronha”
Review of Pousada Teju-Acu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Teju-Acu
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really great - seems to be the best option in Fernando de Noronha”
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Really amazing - very honeymoony and also seems great for children. central location. good food - loved their glutenfree tapioca pancakes for breakfast. it seems that most pousadas on fernando de noronha are very basic or outrageously expensive. this one is right in the middle, luxurious but affordable. watch out for the receptionists though - some of them are very dopey - and get your clothes washed beforehand, it is extremely expensive and slow to get laundry. good turn-down service afternoon snacks, and remember to share a bottle of the champagne in your hammock.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolaj_and_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    45
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
46
122
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

Teju Acu is one of the better pousadas on Fernando do Noronha. It is very ecologically inclined and the rooms have wonderful views. It is very quiet and peaceful and service is excellent. Restaurant only average but acceptable. A short walk to one of the best beaches on the island.

  • Liked — The hotel buildings and location.
  • Disliked — Restaurant only average
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forbes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at Pousada Teju Acu and would highly recommend it to anyone who is visiting Fernando de Noronha and looking for a place to stay that is above and beyond the average pousada on the island.

We spent one week on the island. Our first two nights were spent at a smaller pousada. It was comfortable, but could not come close to comparing with the comfort, food, design and services of Teju Acu. While Teju Acu is pricey compared to other pousadas, it made our trip what it was and we felt was worth every penny.

It is centrally located on the island (not that the island is very big, 7km from end to end) and within walking distance to one of the many beautiful beaches on the island. It's also within walking distance to many restaurants and beaches nearby. By buggy everything you could want to get to is within 5-10 minutes of the pousada. It was a wonderfully comfortable place to return to after a day of scuba diving, hanging out on the gorgeous beaches and drinking caipirinhas. The room was spacious, clean, and best of all, had a terrace equipped with a hammock to relax on. The bathroom had natural lighting and the shower had good water pressure and was very spacious and clean. The room had hard wood floors and natural wood furniture and finishings that gave it a very rustic but luxurious feel.

The restaurant located on the site had good quality food (which is very important for us) and is designed so that you get lots of natural lighting and can always feel the island breeze accompanying you during your meals. The open deck is well designed and provides a relaxing place to rest and eat. They also have pool side meal service and drinks. While you don't spend much time by the pool when you are on this island, the deck and pool area add to the charm of the pousada.

The staff is also friendly and very helpful. The owner also speaks English, (surprisingly hard to find on the island) which made things more convenient for us.

We had a wonderful time on the island. Teju Acu was exactly what we were looking for in comfort, style and relaxaction. We can't wait to return, hopefully in the near future!

  • Liked — The comfort of the room, design of the pousada, food, location.
  • Disliked — Price - expensive but worth every penny.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank luaddicted2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

Upon our arrival in Fernando de Noronha we found out that the hotel we were originally booked at was overbooked. All I can say, lucky us.

Teju Acu is a small pousada with appr 10 rooms divided over several small buildings. It is located in the middle of nowhere so it is useful to have your own wheels, otherwise it can be timeconsuming having to rely on cabs or public transport.

The hotel is appr. 1km away from one of the loveliest beaches of Fernando (and believe me some of the best beaches of Brazil are here).

Service is more than good, very friendly and personalised.

The food in the restaurant could be better, the card is limited and not cheap. But the island has enough good alternatives. The rooms are simple but adequate, beatifully located with a nice terrace.

The swimming pool is very small but, considering the fact that most residents are always on the move on the island, big enough since hardly anyone uses it. The breakfast/dining room gives you the feeling of being in the middle of the jungle. The feeling we were looking for.

If ever in the area, we will surely come back!!

  • Liked — Quiet / Scenery - close to nature / Friendlyness
  • Disliked — Diner was not the best we've had during our stay in Brazil
  • Tips/Secrets — Great if you have your own wheels. Visit the extraordinary beaches, somtimes tucked away and difficult to reach.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Janil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernando de Noronha hotels
1.1 mi away
Pousada Maravilha
Pousada Maravilha
#1 of 2 in Fernando de Noronha
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#7 of 126 in Fernando de Noronha
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pousada Triboju
Pousada Triboju
#27 of 126 in Fernando de Noronha
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pousada Do Vale
Pousada Do Vale
#2 of 126 in Fernando de Noronha
512 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pousada Solar Dos Ventos
Pousada Solar Dos Ventos
#14 of 126 in Fernando de Noronha
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Morena
Pousada Morena
#11 of 126 in Fernando de Noronha
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Teju-Acu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Teju-Acu

Property: Pousada Teju-Acu
Address: Estrada da Alamoa S/N, Fernando de Noronha, State of Pernambuco 53990-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Fernando de Noronha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Fernando de Noronha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada Teju-Acu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco Pousada Teju-Acu immersed in the jungle of Fernando de Noronha and near Conceição Beach has its charming design in complete harmony with the exuberant nature of Noronha Paradise associated with a very high standard of service and food quality making days with us pleasurably unforgettable. All 12 bungalows come with canopy, LCD TVs 42 ', Sky, Nespresso machines, bluetooth, air conditioned slipt, digital safe, wi-fi, mini bar with domestic and imported options, hairdryer, mirror, amenities L Occitane, Wi-Fi, bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Teju-Acu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Teju-Acu Hotel State Of Pernambuco
Pousada Teju-Acu Fernando De Noronha, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing