We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An exceptional place, amazing views”
Review of Pousada Maravilha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Maravilha
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An exceptional place, amazing views”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great people. Unbelievable views and location. No bugs. Amazing people. Best food on the island. The light on the water changes by the minute, so you almost don't want to leave. The pictures of the view don't do it justice.

Very convenient that they can arrange for various activities on the island and then bill you directly. Loved it. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Worth splurging on the bungalows. It will be a view your remember for the rest of your life. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YouShouldGoHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    62
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
42
153
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

If you are looking at this review you probably know enough about what the island has to offer suffice to say, if you are looking for beaches and you are in brazil, then you need to have this island on your hit list.
The hotel is clearly the top destination on the island. Location is great, and the bay below the hotel is definitely worth visiting with a guide for snorkeling with the local turtles.
It's easy to spend your days on some of the most spectacular beaches in the world and then come back (in your own mini off road buggy) to the hotel and to a fantastic setting and view over the bay and out to the open ocean.
I stayed here with my wife on a honeymoon trip a few years ago. Clearly the place is expensive, and if there is one 'complaint' it would be that the standard of food on the island is probably not comparable to the better hotels on the main continent. This place is geared to giving you a beautiful and comfortable stay to explore what is a spectacular paradise of an island. It is not geared to being the type of luxury hotel that you can lose yourself in, but it doesn't really pretend to be either. The central hang out areas are great, and the rooms are also nice but as other reviewers have alluded to, you can probably expect to have 'visitors' at some point (harmless lizards or frogs for example). If that is a definite no-no it is not so much a criticism of the hotel, but I suppose it is a general comment on the island.
I can only say that we had an absolutely amazing time and loved our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pillarofhercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paolo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is a very expensive inn, but the true is that they will do everything to make your money be a good investment for a wonderful vacation. The location is very good in front one of the best beaches for snorkiling. The view is sensational not only in bangalos, but even if you stay in on of the apartments (as I did). All services are done to make you have a nice experience, starting with a warming welcome with drinks and local snacks and more important very useful information about the main attractions in the island. The food also deserve a special note, as well the bathrooms' amenities (Loccitane). During my stay, I counted with the support of Maravilha's staff to make easier and enjoyable my stay in the island. For sure, you can find another good options in Noronha, but for me it was worth it. Congratulations to Aurelio, Marcio and Carolina for their services.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rcsprs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Pousada Maravilha. Good food, nice bungalows and terrific view of Sueste Beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celso_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Book early! Maravilha is the best pousada on the archipelago with a fabulous location overlooking the bay of Sueste. Here you can swim with families of turtles, watch nurse sharks (large ones!) glide under you and enjoy yet another empty beach in a stunning landscape. The Pousada staff are very friendly, unobtrusive and helpful. It helps to learn a few Portuguese phrases for the trip as very few people outside the hotel speak english. The rooms are very clean, and comfortable but don't expect the manicured lawns of a Four Seasons, it's not why you came here. One of the great charms of the Island is its slightly rustic look and feel where you can really forget the stress of the real world. It's worth the trip and the Maravilha is a great place to have as your base. Having a buggy is a must and do try the diving if you are qualified. The Atlantic dive operation is first class. The downside is that F de N imports almost everything except the fish and subsequently, it is 20-30% more expensive than the mainland. The $15 a day per person entry tax is a bit of a rip off if you ask me but someone has to pay for all those unnecessary policemen in jackboots! A decent dinner will cost you £40 per head with drinks but don't be shy to share the main course. The portions are huge, everyone does it. Going into "town" is fun, the selection of menus is limited but its so relaxed you will soon get into the swing of things. Our favourite restaurant, Mergulhao is located above the harbour, a great place for lunch, terrific food and service and popular with the locals. Book if you want to sit at the cabana style tables. A trip to the famous tide pool was too much of an attraction for us and we would avoid it if you have to prioritise your time. Fernando de Noronha is also great for surfing of course but you need to be quite good to really enjoy it. Body boarding is also terrific with many opportunities to catch a tube but again, the drop-ins can be quite big and tricky.

Room Tip: Book early, especially for Christmas and new year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ChrisG310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braganca Paulista, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Fernando de Noronha is a paradise and Pousada Maravilha is located in the most beautiful spot of the island. It is a perfect place for scuba diving or just snorkeling. And the atmosphere of the island and the Pousada celebrate romance and friendship.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReginaRusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

My wife and I also spent part of our honeymoon last October at Maravilha and while we overall enjoyed our visit, we cannot whole-heartedly recommend others stay there. What many of the positive reviewers note here we also found true. Maravilha has good service, a nice location, and great food, and it is located on one of the most beautiful and unique islands in the world. But there is the island, and there is the pousada, and they should be considered separately.

While we were very lucky to not experience the frog problem as the previous reviewer did, we are not surprised to read about it. From what we observed, Maravilha simply suffers from a lack of recent TLC. We too noticed many cracks in and around the bathrooom and sink area. Fine, right? Cracks are not a major issue. But then we noticed the mildew and rotting wood in the shower. And began to get frustrated with our shower's inability to drain properly. And began to notice the age and lack of cleanliness around the pool, particularly in the sauna. Again, no one of these things is a deal-breaker. We told ourselves to accept it as part of the privilege of being in such a remote location, in a national park no less. But when you're paying about USD 1000 for a night in a bungalow, should such qualifications be necessary? Would your money perhaps be better spent elsewhere?

These are the questions you should ask yourself before choosing to stay at Maravilha. Yes, you are paying a huge premium to be on Noronha in the first place. But Maravilha shouldn't rest on its laurels and accept that its reputation in Brazil and prime location will always keep its books filled. If it were priced 30-40% lower, in current condition, it would be worth a visit. If they renovated the showers, sink areas, sauna, and generally updated some of the aging facilities, it would be worth current prices.

On a positive note, we found the staff to be great. The bartenders, waiters, and front desk staff were always courteous, helpful, and pleasant. The food was equally positive--in nearly a week's worth of dining, we never tired of the admittedly small menu.

**NOTE: Some of pictures on TripAdvisor attributed to Maravilha appear to be on the wrong page. Namely, the photos posted by MAlejandraZ do not in any way depict the Pousada Maravilha at which we stayed. I sincerely hope no potential customers considered these photos when deciding where to stay on Noronha.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank rbjmnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernando de Noronha hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hospedagem Adonay
#2 of 2 in Fernando de Noronha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pousada Do Vale
Pousada Do Vale
#2 of 124 in Fernando de Noronha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pousada Leao Marinho
Pousada Leao Marinho
#52 of 124 in Fernando de Noronha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#7 of 124 in Fernando de Noronha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pousada Naiepe
Pousada Naiepe
#1 of 124 in Fernando de Noronha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pousada Morena
Pousada Morena
#11 of 124 in Fernando de Noronha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Maravilha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Maravilha

Property: Pousada Maravilha
Address: Vila Do Vai Quem Sabe - S/N - Br 363 | Baia Do Sueste, Fernando de Noronha, State of Pernambuco 53990000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Fernando de Noronha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fernando de Noronha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Maravilha 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers a 360-degree view of one of Fernando de Noronha's most beautiful sights - the Sueste Bay. It seems like Mother Nature strategically planned every detail here: the shades of turquoise in the water, the whimsical shape of the mountains, the bay of tranquil waters that welcomes so many sea turtles. Everything at Pousada Maravilha frames the view: the vanishing pool, the wide balconies in each of the eight accommodations (with hot tubs and hammocks) and the spectacular dining area, which houses one of Noronha's best restaurants. No matter where you stand, the Sueste is always in view. When night falls, guests can enjoy the indulgences of the bungalows and apartments, like bed sheets of Egyptian cotton and cable TV with over 100 channels. The charming multi-brand boutique rounds out the hotel's offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Maravilha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Maravilha Hotel Fernando De Noronha
Pousada Maravilha Fernando De Noronha, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing