We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I HAVE BEEN STOLEN THERE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Leao Marinho
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I HAVE BEEN STOLEN THERE!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2011

My wife left her purse in the room and we went for a tour to Atalaia, leaving the room keys with the hotel staff. When we came back, her purse had disappeared. After going to the police station, the purse was found inside a car in front of the hotel, but without the money (400 reais = 180 euros)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nenhum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    52
    15
    3
    8
See reviews for
32
66
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I still can t believe we paid almost 200usd for a house converted in an" pousada",the location is right on the street ,no garden ,no pool ,we reserved the room after we read the good reviews on trip advisor ,i am really surprised about those reviews after being there .Our room had a lot of insects ,particully a nice cockroach,noisy air conditionning.Fernando de noronha is expensive but for almost 200usd you can find much better.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aliciaviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We visited Fernando and stayed at Pousada Leao Marinho for almost a week and it was a wonderful stay indeed. We stayed in one of the Chalets, which was a very good choice. The chalet was simple but very nice, clean, quiet and with lots of space. The hostess Marilúcia is very nice, very helpful and speaks excellent English, which made our stay there simply carefree. And the breakfast was always a great start for the day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_Alex_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The most important things upfront: We loved it there and would come back immediately - any time.
Leao Marinho is a nice, cosy, very well kept pousada. Don't expect luxury or posh stuff. It's simple, but with attention to detail, definitely clean and with a wonderful owner. Mariluciá speaks fluently English and is doing her best to make sure her guests enjoy their days on this wonderful little island.
She says "Guests are like babies" - so she's there for them almost 24/7. For us, she arranged quite a few interesting things throughout the six days we were there (not just the included full-day-island-tour (a must), but also snorkling tours, restaurants, etc.) The cottages with hammocks in the front are very nice, quite new, with the most silent aircon we had in any of our pousadas in Brazil. Mariluciá obviously invests quite a bit to improve: The slightly noisy rooms next to the kitchen are just being relocated, the breakfast area will move outside and there's quite a few other things on her mind to make the experience even nicer. She definitely knows what customer-service means and spells it with capital letters. The bathroom, too, was simple, but clean. Any complaints about the shower are a mystery to me - they were quite new and absolutely functional.
Fernando de Noronha itself is a little treasure. We were cautious not to expect too much, having also heard some disappointed voices, but honestly can't understand how anybody cannot just fall in love with the place. It definitely is a beauty. An island almost consisting of a series of postcard-motives (although the one thing they hardly have there are beautiful postcards ...).
One of the things we also loved about it is the fact that it still feels authentic, inspite of being a touristy place. It's expensive, but not over the top. Only 200 people are allowed to come to the island per day (just three flights, 1 from Natal, 2 from Recife), as an average there's always 500 just guests on the island. It is a wonderful thing that you have to decide for one of more than 100 pousadas, there's no big hotels. This keeps the place its wonderful personable feel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hummingbird64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I think that most of the reviews on this pousada were fake,it is the second time i am going to noronha and this pousada is awful ,the hot showers were not working ,breakfast was just a few fruits and dry biscuits ,the pousada is right on the road ,very hard to sleep at night,when we arrived from the airport ,we had to wait 30 mn for the room to be ready.Many others choices on the island just don t go there!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nogalout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maceio, AL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

During my first trip to Ferando de Noronha, I stayed in Pousada Leão Marinho, a very good place, and compared to the others in the island, with good prices. All the accommodations and services there were great, the owner gave me and my boyfriend a special attention and advised us the best rides to do. Because all of these facilities, we didn't need a travel agency there, what was really better, we didn't have to wait to others and we did have time to enjoy all the delighted views of the Island.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selminha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
287 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Fernando de Noronha is a paradise island and has the prices to match so don't expect to come hear and find anything on the cheap! The Pousada is clean, if a little basic, and the price is v expensive compared yo mainland Pousada's but is in line with local rates.
I too was in one of the rooms by the kitchen (rooms 1 & 2) and it was very noisy but I moved after one night to another room which was better. The rooms are only partioned with wood so even the other rooms can be noisy-depends on your neighbour!
Marilucia is a wonderful host and helped me book anbisland tour as well as recommend a dive company to me. She has a wonderful sense of humour and speaks fantastic English.
Nothing is far away on this island and the local bys service is safe and reliable. Shops and restaurants are within easy reach and it is perfectly safe to walk about at night.
The local beaches are clean and safe too and never crowded at times there were leas than a dozen people on the beach with me!

The island itself could do with a shake up to get the pricing more reasonable- maybe this is a deliberate plot to keep the island exclusive though ;)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernando de Noronha hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada Fortaleza
Pousada Fortaleza
#28 of 124 in Fernando de Noronha
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Lun Mar
Pousada Lun Mar
#67 of 124 in Fernando de Noronha
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Alamoa
Pousada Alamoa
#6 of 124 in Fernando de Noronha
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Do Vale
Pousada Do Vale
#2 of 124 in Fernando de Noronha
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Lenda das Aguas
Pousada Lenda das Aguas
#16 of 124 in Fernando de Noronha
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Carmo
Pousada Carmo
#36 of 124 in Fernando de Noronha
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Leao Marinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Leao Marinho

Property: Pousada Leao Marinho
Address: Rua Sol Nascente Casa 4 | Floresta Nova, Fernando de Noronha, State of Pernambuco 53990-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Fernando de Noronha
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Fernando de Noronha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Leao Marinho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Leao Marinho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Leao Marinho Fernando De Noronha, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing