We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice site but poorly run”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MOx Hostel Arraial d'Ajuda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice site but poorly run”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hostel itself is very well designed and in a good location, clearly whoever built it knew what makes a good hostel. However the staff didn´t really seem to have a clue. We got back after a day at the beach to find one of the staff setting another guest up in my bed! When we arrived it was a struggle to get them to give us sheets. They tried to put us in different dorms despite us having a reservation for the same dorm. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful while others were worse than useless. When we left they were accusing us with some venom of not paying them properly and then didn´t apologise when we showed them their error.

Having said all this, the hostel was quite cheap, well located and the facilities perfectly adequate so not a bad option. My guess is that the owner/ manager lives elsewhere and has delegated the running of the hostel unwisely.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tk30485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
15
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hostel is located just in the middle of Mucuge street. That makes all of the restaurants, bars, and shops all around you.
The staff didn't speak English at all. But also were not showing interest.
The breakfast was very poor. And an item was expired.
It's just a fine hostel if you did not find anywhere else to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place is okay. The price is good, but the room I had was dark and dingy and smelt of damp. Good chill-out area with computer for guest use and TV. Very average breakfast too. The staff didn't really seem interested either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecuriouswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
684 reviews
256 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent almost a week at the Mox hostel. We found it on one of the hostel booking websites and it seemed to be a great price and had good reviews. We sent an email on the same day we were arriving but I don't think they received it. We arrived in the evening and the young guy on reception did not speak English but called the manager and they seemed to have a room so that was lucky. Strangely they wanted more money than what was advertised on the 3rd party website but later agreed to provide that quoted rate after I said I will book online despite standing at reception. The hostel is in the heart of the town but as it is behind a restaurant seems to be blocked from most of the noise so we slept well. The rooms were a good size and came with a fridge, airconditioning and private bathroom. We changed room after our first night and the second room also had a hammock (and luckily a working fridge and toilet which the first one was having problems with). The hostel seems very new and modern. There was a tv room, dvds, computer and wifi and a communal kitchen. A basic breakfast was also included.
The staff were friendly but often useless and trying to get our bill correct could have won an academy award in comedy.
Would definitely recommend as very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arraial d'Ajuda hotels
0.1 mi away
Enseada dos Corais Praia Hotel
Enseada dos Corais Praia Hotel
#14 of 20 in Arraial d'Ajuda
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Coqueiros
Pousada Coqueiros
#1 of 20 in Arraial d'Ajuda
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travel Inn Village Arraial
Travel Inn Village Arraial
#15 of 20 in Arraial d'Ajuda
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel
Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel
#4 of 84 in Arraial d'Ajuda
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Beijo do Vento
Pousada Beijo do Vento
#4 of 120 in Arraial d'Ajuda
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maitei Hotel
Maitei Hotel
#9 of 20 in Arraial d'Ajuda
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOx Hostel Arraial d'Ajuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOx Hostel Arraial d'Ajuda

Property: MOx Hostel Arraial d'Ajuda
Address: Estrada do Mucuge 144, Arraial d'Ajuda, Porto Seguro, State of Bahia 45816-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Porto Seguro > Arraial d'Ajuda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Arraial d'Ajuda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Brazil's most charming street, Rua do Mucugê. Surrounded by the best bars, restaurants and clubs of Arraial, we are the beach’s nearest hostel. Our hostel was designed for backpackers interested in making friends and enjoying the natural beauty in a pleasant and cool environment with the known hospitality of Bahia, which makes tourists feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your MOx Hostel Arraial d'Ajuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MOx Hostel Arraial D'Ajuda Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing