We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Izamal B&B and Inns
Malakoff, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very nice place, excellent service, quiet tropical garden, nice swimming pool, plenty of cats, excellent breakfast and restaurant. We stayed for 2 nights in the Safari Suit for 94 USD / night (taxes included), with a large bedroom with 2 single beds and a queen size one for our two kids and us. The kids loved the place and really enjoyed exploring the garden, where they could get lost in total security. Would probably deserve some renovation at some point, and a change and in the themes (why a Safari in Yucatan, with girafs and all?) but overall it's very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    86
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
148
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at Macan Che for 4 peaceful nights at the end of August. The grounds are beautiful, lush, and jungle-y... which you'd never guess was hidden behind the door when standing on the outside of the property. Opening the door to this gorgeous setting was an incredible sight for sore eyes and travel-weary bodies.

The open-air registration/breakfast/lounge area is great respite from the heat or afternoon showers that may pop up. [Incidentally, I don't usually like to think of rain on vacation being a good thing, but these showers are actually quite welcome as they really help cool things off... in fact, I kind of missed it one of the days we were there and it didn't rain. Ha!] There's a natural rock bottom pool (with shaded hammocks off to the side) which is so refreshing for an afternoon dip. Each room on the property is unique and the staff can help you pick the one best suited for your needs prior to your arrival. With some exceptions, the rooms are on the small side, but A) are certainly sufficient and don't feel cramped, and B) with so much to explore, you shouldn't be spending that much time in your room anyway.

The staff and owners are very accommodating, are helpful in suggesting good things to do for the day (should you need ideas), and make a seriously delicious margarita. Also, the food was excellent! Breakfast is way more food than we would usually eat, but kept us full for hours as we explored around Izamal and climbed up to the top of Kinich Kak Mo (one of the ruins in town). They don't serve lunch, and request that you give them about an hour heads up for dinner as everything is prepared fresh. Yum.

All in all, Macan Che was a most excellent pick for our stay in Izamal. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were road weary and didn't want to stay in town although there a good little hotels there. We knocked on the door set in the high wall surrounding Macan che. and were wowed when it opened into a lush tropical garden. A thatched walk led us into the open-air lobby and paths amid burgeoning flora. We were shown a large comfy room next to the lobby. Very romantic with mosquito netting which proved a little daunting to get used to, but all part of the Mexican adventure. Next we decided to have a swim as it was hot and we had just driven from Merida. OMG it was a cenote pool surrounded by jungle. If you have never been in a cenote pool, let me say, its a real treat. Crystal clear and gently layered to the deepest end. Not a lap pool, but definitely made for Jane & Tarzan. there is a shady gazebo with heavenly hammocks at one end, loungers, and a clean changing and toilet room so you don't have to go back to your cabina. You can go to the lobby/restaurant and order drinks and tacos etc. to take out to the pool. We had planned to stay just one night, but stayed three days just hanging out by the pool most of the day relaxing after the rigors of cllimbing a couple of pyramids into and checking out the museum & convento. The food was most excellent also. Breakfast amid the jungle and with friendly cats was a delight. Dinner also. Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Cenote pool worth the detour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernardette44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We opted for the large jungle room with 4 beds with jungle print accessories and wooden sculptures. This was actually our 2nd time in 6 years. I love the tropical flowers, trees and exotic plants. The kids who are now between 10 and 12, still enjoyed exploring the grounds, seeing the parrots and cats, and swimming in the unique pool. A TV was not missed by the kids nor the adults. Breakfast was also a hit. They served a choice of hot chocolate, tea or coffee with fresh fruit and juice. Then we ordered the main dish. The service was efficient, polite and relaxed at the same time.
One 12 year old boy who was traveling with us said that he would tip the maids 3000 pesos because he thought it was a great room, that is if he had the money.
The hotel is a few short blocks from the town square. It is convenient to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yucataneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

y'all will be coming here to see the convent.very worthwhile endeavor. while here staying at macanche is also good idea. good people: the owners are most cordial north americans and they live on the property, always a plus. all rooms pleasantly decorated, and secluded in a meticulously tended tropical forest. generous breakfast, natural cenote swimming pool, wow.safe, safe, safe city,feel free to walk the streets at any time accompanied or otherwise. exquisite local cuisine can be found and options improve each year. t the city is one of the most holy in the catholic religion, a recent pope having visited twice,no other city can claim such status. when I visit with my Maya friends they never fail to remark that the conquistadors tore down their temples, monuments and pyramids and used the stone to buildthe convent. indictive of the love/hate relationship between the indigenous peoples and their 'saviors'.

Room Tip: all good, pick one and go look
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elpirata33133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

On first site Macanche Bed and Breakfast looks very charming: romantic garden, nicely coloured outside walls. Sadly this impression is lost once you enter a room. The room we had was full of mosquitos, there were bugs in the toilet and the shower. The bed linen were old and stained and of some polyacryl. We had them changed, but the second set was no better! The shower did not really carry hot water - no matter how long you let it pour. We did not swim in the pool, as it was to dirty. We then wanted to sit in the chairs of the pool deck - but they were dirty. Then we tried the hammocks, but they were filthy.
The meal at night was quite ok but in comparison to the pollo pibil we had later in other places, it was poor as well.
A shame, as the guy at the reception was really friendly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SuMa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macanche, Manager at Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you Suzanne for your review and for bringing these things to our attention. We take pride in our place and our food and we will look into what happened during your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

A great place to kick back and relax. Beautiful gardens, nice rooms, friendly staff and a warm homelike welcome. Located within a short walk of downtown Izamal and the Convent. We really enjoyed this hotel. The lobby showed us the delightful garden and we enjoyed to play with the cats and the parrot!

This B&B is a good choice for those that wants to relax and take a break in the Yucatan. The B&B, itself, is an oasis with greats gardens. As soon as you get in you can smell the peace and the staff is very friendly and allways there to help you!

We had the Diego room, this is one of their new rooms, located in the ground floor of a beautiful building, Hacienda style, in the rear of the property. The painting on the wall is a replica of Los Alcatraces of Diego Rivera. We had 2 double beds, with air conditioning, ceiling and floor fans, a spacious bathroom with hot water and a shower with a bathtub of great size. We also have a terrace with a hammock and a view of the beautiful garden! GREAT CHOICE!!!

All that said, the breakfast was perfect and it gives you energy to go discover the amazing Yucatan!

Thanks to Miguel and all the staff to make our vacations unforgettable!

I hope to see you soon again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavio_Mongelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izamal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.4 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#5 of 5 in Izamal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#4 of 5 in Izamal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Miguel Arcangel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Izamal
Hotel Hacienda Izamal
#5 of 7 in Izamal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle 22 x 33 y 35, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Macanche is your tropical oasis in the land of the Maya. We have 12 uniquely decorated bungalows scattered throughout our tropical gardens and 2 houses for big groups or long-term rentals. We serve a full breakfast every morning and also offer yoga, massage and other services. Surprise yourself in charming Izamal where the pyramids are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macanche Izamal
Hotel Macanche Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing