We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Izamal B&B and Inns
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The setting is beautiful-a lush little oasis in town, and quite an easy walk into the town. We stayed in Casa Alta which housed our family of 6 for 3 days.It was very good for the price and there was an enormous bath! We were able to make our own tea and coffee but despite the cooker could not have made a meal there as there was not adequate equipment -only a frying pan to heat the water! We could have asked for a better pan and more cups and I'm sure they would have sorted it.The breakfast was very good and the staff very helpful and welcoming. Lovely friendly atmosphere. The oŵner Emily was brilliant on the first day as our car had a puncture.She sorted the whole thing out - rang the car hire, got a mechanic and the whole thing was repaired at the hotel while we went out and saw the town.Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    88
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
66
148
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Macanche Bed and Breakfast for 10 days in July in celebration of our 1 year Anniversary. We got married at Macanche last summer and loved it so much that we had to come back! The hotel has totally remodeled their dining palapa and it looks amazing! The food is delicious, the hotel staff is very kind and gracious and the owner went out of his way to personally show us some of the Yucatan sights! We would highly recommend this lovely B&B to anyone traveling through the Yucatan. A stay in Izamal is a must! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "India Room," it was beautifully designed with a HUGE bathtub and hand pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babajanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel has a nice open air common area and bungalows in the garden. We got a Safari room that was damp and very basic. It was also not clean. Overall, i would say - felt cheap - old worn out bedsheets, ugly bathroom, polyester duvet. I was dissapointed for the quality. There is no touristic information that you find usually in the B&B. The receptionist had no clue when asked about directions, while owner was arrogant. the hotel charges 4% extra if you pay with credit card but they forget to tell you this when making travel arrangements. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macanche, Manager at Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We value TripAdvisor for the constructive criticism and the honest feedback from the people who stay with us. In this case we have to say that this traveler, while entitled to her opinion, refused every offer we made to improve her experience.

When we heard of her dissatisfaction, we promptly offered her a room upgrade, emphasizing that we take customer satisfaction very seriously. We asked her to give us the opportunity to address her issues and concerns. She refused the upgrade, yet stayed with us for three nights. She also complained about a meal she ordered in our restaurant, after eating the majority of the meal! We immediately took it back, offered another dish, and did not charge her for the meal. A fee for paying with credit cards is common practice in Yucatán. However, we made an exception for her and waived the fee. We made every attempt to make this guest comfortable and address her complaints, but she was so rude and unreasonable that other guests actually commented about it and in fact praised the owner on his professionalism and graciousness.

Furthermore, our hotel is well known for helping tourists plan their excursions in the area, as early as our website. I will let the other reviews and happy guests speak to that point. We don't wish to appear defensive, but given the interaction we had with this guest we feel compelled to set the story straight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Macanche is a wonderful Bed and breakfast hotel in Izamal, Yucatan and a great destination in itlsef. The owners Alfred and Emily have created a lush and serene garden setting and make every effort to provide the perfect stay for all of their guests! I wholeheartedly recommend Macanche and will be returning myself often

Room Tip: write to the owners and chat directly with about the right room for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xkindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oirschot
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Macanche is a very cozy hotel. The jungle garden is beautiful and the cottages are nicely furnished and very clean. You can enjoy the hammocks at the cottages and at the swimmingpool. If you want to have diner at the hotel, you have to order it one houre before you want to eat, but it is worth it. So if you want to go to Izamal I suggest you stay at Macanché.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneJoosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malines
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

You enter this place through a small, hardly noticeable door, but behind this you find a lush, green oasis. The hotel is mainly a big jungle garden, with a great pool in the middle and rooms dotted all around. The rooms are nice, cosy and clean. We did a cooking workshop here which was a cool experience. One warning: put on deet before entering this place, because the jungle plants attract a lot of mosquitos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mira08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelem
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 3 days, and when we left we felt like new people. The room was comfortable and clean with a great bathtub and a hammock outside. There is a great pool and the tropical landscaping provides lots of shade. The breakfasts were the best I have ever had at a bed and breakfast. Everything we ate and drank there was great. The fruit, salads, and some veggies are grown on the grounds. The vegetable enchiladas were fantastic.
The staff was friendly and helpful. A masseuse came to the premises and gave us excellent massages. Everything was great! I wish I could live there.

Room Tip: We stayed int the Hawaii room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisdom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.3 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
0.4 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#5 of 5 in Izamal
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#4 of 5 in Izamal
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Miguel Arcangel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle 22 x 33 y 35, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Macanche is your tropical oasis in the land of the Maya. We have 12 uniquely decorated bungalows scattered throughout our tropical gardens and 2 houses for big groups or long-term rentals. We serve a full breakfast every morning and also offer yoga, massage and other services. Surprise yourself in charming Izamal where the pyramids are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macanche Bed And Breakfast
Hotel Macanche Izamal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing