We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fine place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This hotel is on the outskirts of Izamal, an interesting small colonial city. Many other attractions are within day trip range so this could be a good base if you don't want to be on the road your whole trip. Harald and his wife are friendly hosts and excellent cooks, and what a great setting for dinner outdoors by the pool. We stayed in the junior suite room which was large and unique, with indoor-outdoor shower and also had lots of screened windows for ventilation. The grounds are like a huge garden to walk in and bird-watch. We're sorry we couldn't stay longer- next time we will.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briefcandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 309 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2011

We were welcomed by the owner Sonia and Harald. As soon as we made a step inside this hotel we felt at home. It is a fantastic place to stay several days and explore Izamal and the surrounding highlights. They have very friendly staff and help you with a lot of advises for half day and day trips.

They offer very clean rooms in different price ranges, starting from a cabana till a junior suit. Each room is nicely furnished and decorated with different paintings. The huge garden is a good place to watch birds or to lay in a hammock under the palapa beside the swimming pool. Even campers who don’t need full hookups find a place in one part of the big property with access to toilets and showers.

The town centre of Izamal is painted in yellow and white and you feel like you are in another time. You can explore two big plazas, some Maya ruins and a monastery. The very famous ruins of Chichen Itza are about 45 minutes away by car, you can visit operating haciendas producing Henequén like a living museum and swim in sinkholes.

I strongly recommend this wonderful place and hope to come back soon.

Jolanda
Switzerland

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puravidasuiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband and I spent my birthday weekend at Romantic Hotel Santo Domingo, and we were pleased to discover that all of the enthusiastic positive feedback here on TripAdvisor that drew us to this wonderful place was well-deserved!

As promised, Harald and Sonja (the owners) and Harald's brother Reinhard were as welcoming and gracious as you could hope your hosts to be, offering us a welcome drink when we arrived and joining us in their cozy dining area to chat and relax after our drive.

We stayed in one of the Comfort suites, which was spacious, clean and well-appointed. The rooms even featured a set of speakers to connect your MP3 player, or if you don't have your own music, there are homemade mix-CDs of music to enjoy!

Some highlights from our stay:
Two baby sheep were born on the property the day we arrived! They were adorable, and by the end of our stay, they were already up and wandering around, following their mother and generally being the cutest things I've ever seen.

The breakfasts, prepared to order, were absolutely delicious! Sonja makes fresh huevos a la Mexicana and omelettes, as well as fresh agua fresca (while we were there, she offered fresh cantaloupe agua fresca one morning and watermelon the next). To my surprise and delight, she and the staff brought out a homemade cheesecake with candles for my birthday, and they sang me a birthday song in Spanish! It was so familial and thoughtful that I *might* have cried a little bit.

Besides delicious hot breakfast, these guys make great coffee (very important to me), and they offer the best croissants we've had in Mexico.

Mid-day by the pool, we were offered tacos as an afternoon snack, with fresh homemade tortillas. So delicious and filling, we didn't need to leave the hotel to find lunch in town (nor would we have been able to find food quite so tasty if we had). We went out both nights we were there for dinner, so we can't comment on the fajitas they offered the other guests, but judging by everything else we ate that weekend, I imagine they were outstanding...

Finally, I should mention that I wrote ahead to ask if it was ok to bring our small terrier with us, and Harald wrote back promptly to say yes, adding that our dog "needs to have a weekend out as well and I think you would be sad spending your birthday without him."

That was the spirit of our whole weekend- friendly, familiar, and so thoughtful. We felt right at home the whole time... in fact, it was hard to leave! We'll definitely be back soon.

Thank you, Harald, Sonja, Reinhardt, and Alde for a wonderful, memorable birthday weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiftyfootgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We went to Izamal at the last moment and found it a fascinating little town. The Santo Domingo is an amazing find seemingly in the middle of nowhere, but an easy and safe 10 minute walk from the town. The hotel is set in the middle of a small farm; it is small, relaxed, beautifully fitted out to a high standard, spacious and peaceful. There is a lovely pool with good sitting out area for relaxing at the end of the day. Breakfasts are great and the owners and staff are very helpful. We stayed in an ordinary double room which was very comfortable for us. The junior suite is gorgeous for those special nights. Izamal could be a good base for those with a car. It is so relaxing to be at the Santo Domingo if you have had a day of touring.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pensioner090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

My wife and I travelled for several weeks through Mexico, and this hotel was definately a highlight on our trip. Izamal is a wonderful, colorful, and warm town which is perfectly located in the middle of many of Yukatan's sites - from fantastic ruins to hidden Cenotes to restored haciendas.

Harald (the owner) with his wife Sonja and brother Reinhardt have restored an old hacienda into a simply amazing hotel - capturing the old charm while making each room uniquely elegant. We were given one of the Jr. Suites and were so amazed by the style we promptly started taking pictures - even before unpacking our suitcases! Warm mexican colors, very modern but complimentory furnishings, a huge bed, and air conditioning made it exactly what we had hoped for ... coming from Europe, we loved the styling & thought that went into restoring the rooms.

Harald, Sonja, and Reinhardt are such open, fun, and interesting people that we instantly felt right at home. Their wealth of information about Mexico (what to do when police stop you looking for a bribe, how to get the best price when gasing up the car, etc.) and especially the region made our 4 night / 5 day stay something to remember. Don't be shy and ask about all the hidden gems that are not in the tour guides nor so easy to find. On Harald's suggestion we visited off-the-beaten-path ruins where we were literally the ONLY visitors, toured a functioning henequen hacienda, and were taken to 3 cenotes in the middle of the jungle on an old train cart... not your typical tourist stuff! Of course, we also visited Uxmal - which is quite close - and managed to avoid all the crowds. One evening, Reinhardt took us to the huge mayan pyramid in the middle of Izamal to catch the last rays of sun and to stare over the impressive jungle.

Izamal itself is a great town to walk around and explore - I would highly recommend eating the Panuchos in the restaurant "El Toro" and grabbing some ice cream in the small shop near the main plaza. Even better than eating out, one evening we had an impromptu cooking course with Harald and company - making hand made tortillas, chicken mole (Sonja's special recipe *smile*), and all the trimmings.

It sounds corny, but it is very true - as it came time to leave we really felt like we were leaving from a friends house and not from a hotel. We have already sent some family back over, and are looking forward to our next trip. Just a suggestion: anyone visiting from Germany might want to bring some sweet mustard ... it's one of those things that Harald just can't find in Mexico! *smile*

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Really nice hacienda in a beautiful garden, with a nice pool area. The rooms are decorated with great taste and much confort. The junior suite itself is worth the visit;
The owners (and their dogs) offer you a really warm welcome and a feeling to stay at friends' place. Breakfast is delicious with a large variety of fresh products!
We stayd in the cabana, with the bathroom a few meters away, but it was worth it as the caban is really nice and the bathroom beautiful with jungle plants and piece of old stones.
Izamal is realy a architecture jewel with lots of interesting piece of history to visit.
The hotel is really a few minutes (by foot) from the center (not even a quarter to get to the Covent) in a calm area, with typical mexican housings (and really secure).
Really the best adress we stayed during our vacation in Yucatan.
Thanks again to Sonia, Harald and Reinhard!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uwe-Jerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Recently my boyfriend and I spent 4 days at the Romantic Hotel Santo Domingo, is really relaxing nature If you are looking for comfort and excellent care and detail, you have to visit, plus the prices are great.
We stayed in junior suite, beautiful! king size bed, Jacuzzi made of stone, separate bathroom, air conditioning, and the food was the best with a delicious flavor, the owners are careful to make dinner.
Nearby there is an ATM and small shops, Izamal is a very safe town and very beautiful monastery to visit, is located 7 blocks walking.
The owner Harald, sonia and Rheinhart, are very friendly, make you feel like you're family. Harald is a hard worker, he owned a hotel in Europe a few years ago, knows all about tourism, we recommend many places near Izamal.
We swam in the pool every day in the hotel, they gave us towels and cocktails to enjoy the sunset.
His wife Sonia, is very adorable, one night he gave us to choose films for the entertainment room was very comfortable.
The hotel has many tropical plants and fruits growing in the garden, I loved the decor of the rooms, very good care.

I loved the hotel very much, care, service and quality was excellent, of course we returned to host more days.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ileyhan_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.6 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.9 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#4 of 5 in Izamal
24 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, A Luxury Collection Hotel, San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#5 of 5 in Izamal
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Sacnicte
Hacienda Sacnicte
#3 of 5 in Izamal
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Miguel Arcangel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo

Address: Calle 18 corner Calle 33 | East of Main Plaza & Convent, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range: $61 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to spend a couple of days to explore all of Yucatan`s sights. Enjoy the tranquil atmosphere, take a ride in a horse buggy, rent a bike or climb the biggest pyramid in Yucatan. Explore the secrets of the Mayas and enjoy the natural surroundings of Izamal. There is plenty to do in our town. Visit Izamal to explore & discover from here the Yucatan and relax for some days . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing