We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantico & Izamal Outshines Cozumel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We spent only 2 nights of our 25th wedding anniversary trip at the Romantico Hotel and wished we had spent an entire week there. Words can't begin to describe the wonderful atmosphere the hotel has; relaxed, romantic, friendly owners always up for a chat but never intrusive on your couple time either.

The landscape, rooms, pool, pool bar and outdoor dining areas were clean and perfectly situated to create a beautiful Yucatan country experience. We enjoyed keeping cool in the pool, talking with owners and other guests from other countries while dining or sharing a drink. Parking for rental car was available in safe, secure/gated property.

Sonia and Harold, the owners, were SO friendly, helpful and considerate in every way possible. The first night we arrived we had pre-ordered supper and the free authentic Mexican cooking class with Sonia. It was way beyond our expectations and we are so excited about taking the recipes of the meals we made with Sonia and attempting to cook it for our family now that we are home. Breakfast, included in the room rate, was superb. The food was so good...we never bothered to eat anywhere else. My husband says the food gave him a "mouth-gasm" <grin>

PROS: LOCATION PERFECT! Central location to most of ruins, Puuc Route, wagon tour, Merida and the west coast, cenotes and many other interesting places to visit. Just visiting Izamal--a beautiful yellow colonial style town--was a pleasure. Hotel is clean, efficient, reasonably priced, superb food, excellent service and friendly staff, honest and knowledegable owners about local attractions--good tips on those--thanks. The central location makes for perfect day trips for a full week or more.

We loved the Yucatan Peninsula. We never felt unsafe at any point in time while driving a rental car from Cancun as far west as Izamal on the toll road and then we drove the "free" roads back to Valladolid, onto Coba and Tulum. Those roads were great too--bit more local traffic which was interesting and the towns were fabulous. We stopped at one for the best roadside BBQ chicken we've ever had. It was NOT touristy and the people were so grateful, respectful and interested in helping you any way they could. Items purchased in the little villages ARE really handmade locally and unique compared to the tourist traps elsewhere in Mexico.

We went to Mexico with some reservation and concerns about safety and left the Yucatan Peninsula with a completely different attitude. It is safe with very friendly and helpful Mexican people everywhere we went.

When we visit the Yucatan again we would stay the entire week at Romantico Hotel in Izamal and use it as our base for the other great places to visit in the Yucatan.

We spent a 2nd week in Cozumel at a very expensive all-inclusive resort, but found the Romantico Hotel, Izamal and the Yucatan Peninsula really outshone the fancy touristy resort island of Cozumel. It will hold our hearts forever.

Don't Miss: Horse carriage tour in Izamal.....wonderful.

P.S. - Harold...How is your brother's finger? Did the vet cure him?

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the room that had an open-air natural stone and plant shower. Beautiful and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Farmboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 311 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in 2 rooms.Found it raher difficult to find because out of the town and roads not labelled properly BUT huge gate post greets you. You have to ring the bell to get in and the whole place is secure. when arrived greeted by the owner and taken to the 2 rooms we had booked. Given a load of copied CDs Celine Dio and Lionel Richie if needed! Hotel is set in gardens. the room was clean and airy with large bed dressing table and chair, hanging soace by the sink. Toilet and shower in the same room, shower screened by a glass wall. We did need to use the shower in the night and we found the water cold. Outside we had a table and chairs.Good breakfast plenty of choice eaten by the pool. if fit can walk into the town to see the Pyramid and the convent. Good place to stay very friendly owners. When we left the car was cleaned for us and the gate opened. Lovely

Room Tip: Any room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

3nights in this wonderful hotel was just perfect combonation of exploring yucatan and have also time to relax at the end of the day. Great food, great rooms ,great hosts, excellent breakfast, great location and great sleep. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlokater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Romantic Hotel Santo Domingo is certaily no 5-star Sheraon / Hilton / Four Seasons / you name it hotel with lots of traffic, unwanted music, etc.,... but.... for people that are down-to-earth loking for a quiet, amicable place with good food (house made, traditional), clean rooms, with hammocks on the premises for a relaxed afternoon nap, bird chatter in the many surrounding trees, quiet nights for a perfect sleep, nice hosts providng personal attention, some reminicences to the former hacienda style living, and a location of only a 15 minute stroll way from downtown Izmal, I would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Rooms are all ground level, equal and similar, don't fret about choosing a paticular one,they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helmut_Sardis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked this hotel online and were not disappointed. However, when you first drive through the gate you will come upon a sheep pen on your left. This may be off-putting for some, but when you get to the parking area you are immediately greeted by the owner Harold who gives you a tour of the premises. The property is lovely with lots of flora and fauna, a very nice swimming pool, palapa bar and restaurant. The rooms are in what used to be stables we had the junior sweet which was the nicest hotel room we have been in. We told Harold all needed was a kitchen and we could live there. The breakfasts are wonderful with lots of fresh fruit, juice, homemade buns and eggs to your liking. Dinner the first night was very, very good and the 2nd night, not as good. It just depends on what is being served that evening. We would recommend this hotel if you enjoy a quiet, relaxing place to stay. One more thing, the mattresses are very comfortable.

Room Tip: We chose the Junior Suite as it was a special occasion. Next time we would select a less expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Happilytoberetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We found the Hotel Santo Domingo in Izamal by chance on the internet. We were looking for a very comfortable, pleasant, and quiet hotel, not in a very touristy place, out from Merida which is a noisy city and of little interest and also not far from Chichen Itza. And we were lucky, because anyone who knows Mexico is aware that the hotels are often very average and the stars distributed randomly lack of regulation.
Izamal is a small city well worth a visit, with its ocher houses, its fortress-monastery and pyramids in the middle of the city, we feel its charm and special atmosphere.
Located in a park, Santo Domingo hotel is run by an Austro-Mexican couple who received us with great kindness. During our stay Harald and his wife were very caring and we really recommend you to taste their food under the palapa by the pool .
The rooms are spread around the garden, we had a «junior suite” very large, very comfortable, spotlessly clean, with original refined design and with a bathroom partially opened onto the outside. The only noise was the birdsong.
Excellent and plentiful American breakfast (but with Expresso on demand) is included in the price, very reasonable for the quality.
That’s a very good value for money. We would have gladly stayed two nights if we had had the opportunity, after two months in Mexico, this stop in Izamal remains one of our best souvenir.


Nous avons trouvé l’hôtel Santo Domingo à Izamal par hasard sur internet. Nous cherchions un hôtel dans un cadre agréable, calme, très confortable, dans un lieu peu touristique, à l’écart de Merida qui est une ville bruyante et de peu d’intérêt et pas très loin de Chichen Itza. Et nous avons eu de la chance, car tous ceux qui connaissent le Mexique savent que l’hôtellerie y est souvent de qualité très moyenne et que les étoiles se distribuent au hasard car il n’existe pas de réglementation.
Izamal est une petite ville qui vaut vraiment le détour, avec ses maisons ocre, son couvent-forteresse et ses pyramides au milieu de la ville, elle dégage un charme et une ambiance particulière.
Situé dans un parc, l’hôtel Santo Domingo est tenu par un couple Austro-Mexicain qui nous a reçus avec beaucoup de gentillesse. Durant notre séjour Harald et sa femme ont été aux petits soins et nous vous conseillons vraiment de goûter à leur cuisine sous la palapa, près de la piscine.
Les chambres sont dispersées dans le parc, nous avions une « junior suite », très grande, très confortable, parfaitement propre, à la décoration originale et recherchée, avec une salle de bains en partie ouverte sur l’extérieur et avec comme seul bruit le chant des oiseaux.
Le petit déjeuner américain (mais avec Expresso à la demande), excellent et très copieux est compris dans le prix.
L’ensemble est d’un très bon rapport qualité/prix.
Nous serions volontiers restés deux nuits si nous en avions eu la possibilité, après deux mois de séjour au Mexique, cette escale à Izamal restera comme l’un de nos meilleurs souvenirs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chartrons2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed in the family room of the Romantic hotel for one night with our two young children. We are so glad we stayed as it was incredibly relaxing after the heat and hustle and bustle of Merida. The room is spacious, clean and light and nearby is an area for the sheep and goats whom our children loved watching.

The hotel sits amongst a lush garden and the pool area is gorgeous. Although there isn't a shallow section for kids this was fine as our kids had armbands. It has a lovely terrace next to it where we were given welcome drinks on arrival. The owners did everything possible to make us feel welcome without being too overbearing - just right! This hotel has a lovely feel about it and Ixmal is a great place to kick back in and go for a wonder around.

We had dinner at the hotel which I would highly recommend. Delicious home cooked food and the owners even kindly cooked the gluten free pasta we had brought for my daughter who is coeliac and served it with homemade tomato sauce. Breakfast is also excellent - juice, fresh fruit, bread with jams, pastries, and a wide variety of eggs.

Although the hotel isn't aimed directly at families ( we had to keep a close eye on our kids near the swimming pool and water trough and there is quite a boisterous dog!) we are really glad we went and would definitely recommend this to other couples and families. To be honest anywhere you take toddlers to you have to keep a close eye on them so this was no different!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.6 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.9 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#4 of 5 in Izamal
24 reviews
19 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, A Luxury Collection Hotel, San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#5 of 5 in Izamal
25 reviews
0 mi away
Hacienda Sacnicte
Hacienda Sacnicte
#3 of 5 in Izamal
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo

Address: Calle 18 corner Calle 33 | East of Main Plaza & Convent, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range: $62 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to spend a couple of days to explore all of Yucatan`s sights. Enjoy the tranquil atmosphere, take a ride in a horse buggy, rent a bike or climb the biggest pyramid in Yucatan. Explore the secrets of the Mayas and enjoy the natural surroundings of Izamal. There is plenty to do in our town. Visit Izamal to explore & discover from here the Yucatan and relax for some days . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing