We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peace & discovery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peace & discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We came to stay one night but we enjoyed it so much that we finished by staying two nights. Izamal is a wonderful cute little town with a true Mexican life. The hotel was really great: clean, well-decorated, calm and peaceful. Harald was here to guide us and give us advice on where to go around. The breakfast and the dinner were excellent and you should definitely try their cocktails, the best piña colada I had in Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sh0ckingPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    32
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
190
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just returned from a vacation in the Yucatan and had the great pleasure of staying at the Romantic Hotel Santo Domingo for 3 days and 3 nights. We purposely picked this place, far from the madding crowd,but yet conveniently located to many interesting places : ruins, towns, villages, and preserved coastal lands. As we pulled up the gate, we knew this was a special place, located within easy walking distance to town, yet secluded and quiet-- set within a large plot of land formerly a horse ranch. Harald came and greeted us and showed us the property which is beautifully maintained! Harald has a number of guest rooms, all quiet and private. Our room was wonderful: completely renovated, clean, modern, with a sitting area and a tv, along with much need air-conditioning. It had the best bed that I have ever slept in!

On his property, there are gardens, filled with flowering plants and trees,and hence many birds and butterflies, plus a beautiful pool, a lovely palapa where one can sit during the day, hop into the pool, sit and read, order a drink etc. Also, the palapa is where the delicious, and hearty breakfast is served.

Harald and his wife are very kind and welcoming, making you feel right at home. He is always available to be of help, guidance, and make recommendations on where to go and what to see if you need them. We went North to the coast and spent a beautiful day on a boat, that brought us to a cenote, showed us another centote coming right up in the Gulf of Mexico (National Geographic sponsored an exploration there a number of years ago) , and also went to a lagoon situated on nationally protected land where we saw flamingos, cormorants, frigates, egrets etc...absolutely magnificent and now far from Harald's place.

But we also used his place as an oasis where we could relax and enjoy the surroundings. This is a very special place and easy to use as a base for many explorations, day trips, and as a haven to relax.

There are dogs, for dog lovers, but for those of you do not love dogs, fear not because the dogs stay at Harald's house on the property and know how to keep to themselves. There are also some goats (I never heard any sounds coming from them) and their pen is a bit further away, but great to look at.

Harald offers dinner to those who want to eat at "home". I highly recommend this unique and beautiful gem with a great host and would recommend using it as a base to make many trips.
It is a rare find!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We are an older couple from the san Francisco area. We rented a car in Merida to explore the Yucatan for two weeks. We spent 3 nights at the romantic Hotel, Santo Domingo. Harald is the owner. The hotel is a ten minute walk to the town square. It's a beautiful, gated property situated on an old hacienda. We stayed in a suite that was more than adaquate.
Harald was beyond helpful! He knows the area and can provide ideas for day trips. On our second day we took a trip to the coast. On our return, our car hit a pothole and we got a flat tire. We put the spare on but of course, we had to fix/rereplace the flat. Harald took time the next day to drive us all around town to fix the problem. He took out hours of his time to get our problem solved. As he speaks Spanish and knows the locals, it cost us $13.00 to get the tire and rim fixed! One can only imagine the cost and hassle to try this on our own. We couldn't thank him enough. If you stay in the area, you need to stay here.
His wife cooks a fantastic breakfast (included) and is just as gracious. The pool and bar area is a great place to hangout and have a drink. it's also "dog heaven" as they have five canines. His property is a great value and you can't go wrong staying here! Just remember to bring bug repellent (anywhere in the Yucatan)
There are a couple of ATM's nearby and a great grocery store for all your needs.
Thanks again Harald for a very memorable stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

When booking our tour of the Yucatan peninsula, we started with a blank page and looked at various brochures and Tripadvisor. Initially we had planned to stay in the main towns/attractions but very glad we came across both this hotel and Izamal. Both are gems: Calm, quiet and relaxing.

The town has a colonial feel with the convent, a fantastic town square, and its own set of Mayan ruins.

The hotel, with a friendly welcome which will be hard to beat, has some great rooms, and the small yet perfect pool next to the dining palapa and bar, tops it off. Set a short walk or drive out of town it had everything you could want and more.

Would recommend a trip to both town and this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Munchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I have visited the Yucatan annually for the last seven years. We have now found a new spot that we will return to. The beautiful hotel with the attentive yet not hovering owners and staff was a quiet and refreshing way for us to start our vacation. We loved the room with our little patio area in front. We enjoyed the pool and the palapa too. The meals were delicious and healthy. It saved us the time of having to find a place to eat in the evenings. We fell in love with Izamal too. A beautiful little city with an interesting past.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuttersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My two teen sons and I stayed here in late April when temperatures were absolutely stultifying. We arrived early via bus from Merida, and Harald was kind enough to let us check in since no one had used or room the night prior. After scrambling on pyramids in the hottest part of the day, the pretty pool was heaven sent! We had the family suite--two bedrooms with a king and twin beds, a nice change from the usual bed sharing. Simple room, comfortable beds.

Dinner and breakfast were outstanding. Dinner consisted of a first course of delicious chicken/veggie soup, then pork loin stuffed with chaya and cheese and roasted potatoes. Dessert was an excellent apple pie, which could have been improved if it had been warmed up (instead of being served ice cold) and served a la mode. Breakfast was wonderfully refreshing sandia juice, fresh breads, fruit plate, and a choice of assorted egg dishes including omlettes and Mexican eggs.

Izamal in general is fairly quiet, and this place particularly so. In fact our only complaint was that at times it was too quiet and there was no one around from whom you could order a drink. Seems a bit ridiculous to go knocking on someone's private apartment door just because you want a poolside Coke!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montanayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Harald and Sonia have created a wonderful place. The food and drinks were excellent and the breakfast was of the charts.The rooms are all different in a creative way, you can't go wrong no matter which room you may choose. The grounds are beautiful with a wonderful variety of plants and trees.Great for a walk, any time of day.
Looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captaingreybeard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.6 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
19.1 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.6 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#5 of 5 in Izamal
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#4 of 5 in Izamal
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Sacnicte
Hacienda Sacnicte
#3 of 5 in Izamal
5.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Macanche Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo

Property: Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
Address: Calle 18 corner Calle 33 | East of Main Plaza & Convent, Izamal 97540, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to spend a couple of days to explore all of Yucatan`s sights. Enjoy the tranquil atmosphere, take a ride in a horse buggy, rent a bike or climb the biggest pyramid in Yucatan. Explore the secrets of the Mayas and enjoy the natural surroundings of Izamal. There is plenty to do in our town. Visit Izamal to explore & discover from here the Yucatan and relax for some days . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing