We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience ever....”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Sacnicte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Sacnicte
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst experience ever....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My stay at Hacienda Sacnite was the poorest and the most terrible one ever. First, to get there was oughfull, no sings conduct you to the Hacienda. Price vs. quality are far away from what you can get, it is a 215 usd per night for a Hacienda, that it has been redecorated but that owners are never there and it is getting ruined, the pool is cold, and really dirty, they gave us the worst of all beadrooms for 3 people, the bathroom smells oughfull, the soap that they offer you as an amenity smells oughfull. I stayed day before at Merida at a same price boutique hotel and get much more of what I got there. Food was bad, granola tasted oughfull, and I couldn't get a soda because they are not prepared to recieve people. I arrived with my mom and my grandmother and all the people that worked there left the place living us alone at the Hacienda where low security was offered. I tryed to cancel 2 nights or even one, but they didn't even made the effort to help me and charged me full price... anyway, if you are a traveller at Yucatan I highly recomend you to dig deeper and try to get an Hacienda full equiped to make your stay a pleassure!!! ... PS. I'm from Mexico and believe me there are tons out there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VanessaFlores1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia T, Owner at Hacienda Sacnicte, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Sorry you felt that way, as you can see you are the only one to complain.
first we have 9 sign all over of Izamal and one to the entrance and two before you get there,and billboard 6 metros for 8 just 500metros before the entrance, no one has this problem
Second the breakfast is all natural and fresh fruit and bakery & yogurt and fresh granola juice and eggs any way we been ask. The room it was a master bedroom where is was perfect and no smell the people stay before (you can read they have wrote a e mail)
they never complain.Then I do not understand how you said was not people there ....on the property lives Paco e Ermita with two kids and on e care take, also they give to you a walkie talkie
because you and the other two woman wore a fear to be there....
Also my amenities they are from France and they are as well know product Occidante.
Last things but the most important: price way, depend what you aspect for that and how much you want spend, maybe was to much for your expectation......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
40
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Due to circumstances I can only now report about our incredible stay at Hacienda Sacnicte in July . this tastefully decorated and restored place was everything we hoped for. It felt so good to just sit near the pool or on the porch, being served the best guacamole and bruschetta's ever. We were travelling with two families and felt like we were in a private house with all the service and comfort of a high standard hotel, but nothing to posh or to much over the top. No surprise that even the richest in the world would like to have dinner there as we loved food, service, hip and special atmosphere, the heartily approach of the owners, the quietness of the surroundings, and the music. We could easily make trips to Chitchen Itza and the small town of Izamal and then quickly return "home". We feel privileged to have be there and will certainly go back !!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms have a charm of their own, we stayed in the ginger suite, very suitable for our family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Hacienda Sacnicte was everything we were looking and then some; when traveling to a foreign distination one never knows if the pictures are going to truly live up to your expectation. Sacnicte does not disappoint; instead the pictures don't do it justice. It's hard for the lense to capture the magic of staying in an old Hacienda restored in glorious decor. My wife and son stayed for a night and decided rather than getting up early the next morning and driving to Chichen Itza to stay for the day to enjoy the grounds, pool, and even played a game chess in a magical setting one just can't find in a typical or ordinary hotel. From our dinner, evening on the patio, and breakfast the following morning we were treated with service that added to a memorable time we will talk about for years. We highly recommend staying at the Hacienda while traveling to the Yucatan and visiting the nearby cities, ruins, and towns....it will add to the experience a magical time warp feeling you just cant get in a hotel and you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: Ask to see other rooms if available...each is unique and may be your perfect place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eusebio55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was a trip to heaven which the hardest part was to leave. Did not want to leave this amazing place. I travel a lot and I have to say that Hacienda Sacnicte is on top of my list. The premises are beautiful. The rooms with the 8 meters ceiling are spectacular! It was the perfect get away. The staff treated us like king and queen. They were attentive to all our needs. It was so peaceful. We unwind and relax around the swimming pool. The decor I have to say "chapeau" to the owners Philippe and Nadia. They have transform this abandon Hacienda into an exquisite, full of great taste, attention to details bed and breakfast to perfection! Everything was perfect!!! I would recommend to anyone to go without hesitation. I can guaranty you that it will blow your mind. It is a get away that you will never forget! Now my problem is that I need another fix! I want to go back ASAP!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra-LeeChampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
170 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Hacienda Sacnicte like most Hacienda’s in the Yucatan is an old henequen large home dating back to the “green gold” of the henequen (sisal) age. This particular one has been lovingly restored to feel like one is the guest of the owners. The location is great, the rooms are large and comfortable and the service is personal and attentive in every way. This is far more than a hotel… it is a wonderful mixture of Yucatecan and Italian hospitality thrown into one.

While all the roads we encountered in the Yucatan are in excellent shape, some of the minor roads are not very well sign posted, but there is always an incredibly friendly local on hand to offer directions. Our tip is to solicit driving directions from someone who drives… either a car or motorcycle, their directions tend to be more accurate!

Upon arrival the gates were opened and we were directed to park at the top of the driveway. The first impression is that the gardens are lush and well tended even in this dry period.

From the car we walked up a couple of steps into a courtyard that is dominated by an inviting looking pool, finished in simple white concrete which is how they all are done at the Haciendas and the terrace of the main building.

Here we were greeted with wonderful cold face towels and a refreshing welcome glass of tamarind water by our wonderful host, Orlando supported by Carlos the chef and Paco the gardener and handy man whose wife is the maid.

It has to be stated, that while the atmosphere, architecture and design elements are all wonderful, it is truly the staff that make the difference. Nothing was too much for Orlando, Carlos and Paco and like an exceptionally good hosts they seemed to be able to anticipate our needs with uncanny accuracy.

We were two couples, one of which stayed one of the bedrooms in the main house; a very large room with comfortable king-size bed and an extensive bath area with a large step down shower, two large sinks and a large shuttered window. Each room features original art and a wonderful assortment of furniture that has been picked out with great taste by (presumably) the owners.

The other master suite was in one of the side buildings (which featured three bedrooms) which also has a king-size bed overlooked by a gigantic hand-carved mirror and another very spacious bath with vast walk-in shower and vanity area.

The floors throughout are of polished cement inlaid with “carpets” of old tile, the overall effect is one of cleanliness entirely in keeping with the age of the original building.

The rooms both had ample hanging and storage space as well as a/c provided by mini-split wall mounted units that run pretty quietly (when needed) and ceiling fans.

After a cooling dip in the pool we freshened up for dinner and were pleasantly surprised by the quality and presentation of dinner, which was superb. The dinning room is elegant, dominated by a long table and huge chandelier, surrounded by original art.

Breakfast was served on the terrace and was fresh and again very nicely presented, washed down by strong, hot coffee. Orlando provided us with tips on how to spend our day in Izamal that we followed to the letter.

Izamal is a charming colonial city boasting one of the oldest (if not the oldest) convents in the Americas. The entire center of town is painted yellow with white trimmings on honor of the staple food of the area – corn. We thoroughly recommend hiring one of the horse-drawn buggies to see the town as it saves driving and is a journey in time as well as the colourful streets. Your visit will not be complete without meeting the wonderful Estaban Aban who can be found at the wonderful Lol-Yuk jewelry workshop where he and his family make unique and beautiful pieces from henequen spines and 30 year old cocoyol seeds. From his welcome sung in Maya to his overall knowledge and love of the area, this is a must stop on any visit to the area. He can even arrange a guided tour to off-the-beaten-track cenotes and Mayan sites… well worth the time and effort.

Another fantastic character is Don Felix (Feliciano Patron) who practices the Mayan curative techniques based on herbs and plants, his family also produces beautiful guayaberas and women’s clothing that are beautifully embroidered.

Also, no visit to Izamal can be complete without eating lunch at Kinich restaurant. It will be busy and that is due to the quality and taste of the typical dishes on offer such as Relleno Negro, Queso Relleno, Poc Chuc all taken with copious quantities of delicious hand made corn tortillas and fresh drinks served by the jug-full!

Back to Hacienda Sacnicte… we loved our stay and will be back for more.

If you are looking to immerse yourself in true Yucatán culture, then come stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great to us.... ignore the one bad comment, they did not even stay at the Hacienda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavedodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

a beautiful place for a week end, a week, a month...life!!!...good food, excellent service, the environment looks simply wonderful...every room has is own style, details are priority, every corner of the entire place is special and unique. Fields all around made me feel home. Hospitality, kindness and and excellent food. Love to be back : )

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simo077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just returned from an amazing stay at the hacienda. This place left me speechless. My husband and I travel quite a bit and have stayed in many 5 star hotels and this place really knows how to do it. VERY CLASSY and suburb service. If you are looking for relaxation and comfort this is the place to stay. It has such a magical feel to it. It is not stuffy at all and you really feel right at home. The entire staff go above and beyond to make sure your stay is wonderful. The food,is outstanding and any special requests are welcome. My husband and I both had a massage and it was GREAT!! Orlando, Nadia and the chef were all super helpful and sincere, you could tell they really cared about making your stay the best. Rooms are super clean and comfortable and the whole hacienda is beautiful. If you are planning to visit the area this is the place to stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jem9574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izamal
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Hotel Santo Domingo
0.5 mi away
Rinconada del Convento
0.2 mi away
Eco Hotel Green River
Eco Hotel Green River
#5 of 5 in Izamal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Itzamaltun
Hotel Itzamaltun
#4 of 5 in Izamal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
#2 of 2 in Tixkokob
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hacienda San Jose, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Sacnicte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Sacnicte

Property: Hacienda Sacnicte
Address: Carretera a Tekal de Venegas Km. 5, Izamal 97541, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Izamal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Izamal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Sacnicte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Sacnicte (white flower) is a truly unique, contemporary, luxurious, hip and secluded resort.To strike the balance between the 17th century and today, Philippe & Nadia have created an unforgettably serene atmosphere, to offer you a new reality of sophisticated vacations to spend with your family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Sacnicte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing