We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as we'd hoped.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

There was construction going on which, as you can imagine, does not lend itself to a peaceful ambiance! So bad first impression for us which noisily continued and tainted our stay. Was not informed of this at time of booking. Room was clean but very simple. Nice seashell bed light, but shame they didn't go the whole 9 yards and bother to hide the electric wires which were hanging out of it and totally ruined the look! Bed was super hard and not comfortable for me at all. Beach is right outside and nice I imagine most of the time. We used it for walking and bird watching but did not actually go right out into the sea as it looked too murky. The pool is tiny and if your room is next to it you will hear every splash, so maybe paying more for the front rooms is worth it. The town center is close by and there you can find some places to eat and drink at a reasonable price and the locals all seemed friendly. Holbox is a great place in general but we cannot
say this hotel is in it's current condition.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Holbox Island is simply one of the best kept secrets from American tourists… We stayed an entire week and only met one other American, although there were a few Europeans, it was mostly Mexican families on vacation. (I almost don't want to tell people about it so it won't change.) My husband and I absolutely loved our stay here. It's a place where families don't have to worry about letting their children run and play, many sans clothing. :) We loved seeing the same locals every day (and once helping a man and his daughter push out their fishing boat), and watching them go about their daily lives. Holbox Dream is perfectly located close to everything on the island. This hotel is a great bargain. The rooms are simple and small (NO TV!!!) but kept clean and the staff was very friendly and nice to us during our stay. (Of course this might have something to do with the $40 my husband accidentally left on the bed one day, which our housekeeper mistakenly but fairly thought was a tip.) I'd advise bringing one of those insulated cooler bags if you like to drink beer on the beach, or keep cold drinks in your room. We found it very convenient. We felt very safe here and were not afraid to leave items in the hotel room or sleep with the windows open. (We have been burglarized two other times in Mexico.) Breakfast is just a step away, and was delicious every time we ate it. The pool appeared clean, although I never used it, and we never had any trouble finding chairs on the beach (even ones in the shade.) The beach was never crowded and we were comfortable leaving items on chairs while we swam. The locals asked an Argentinian couple, who were approaching tourists and peddling items on the beach, to leave the island almost as soon as they discovered what was happening. This was quite nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mudfoot4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

A simple hotel with simple but very nice and clean rooms. No breakfast available but there are plenty around in five minutes walk.

Great staff! Sometimes there is a lot of seaweed on the beach so if the beach is important to you check before booking how it looks like atm.

Try to get a room as close to the reception as possible and you will have wifi in your room.

Ask for to upgrade your room when you are there and it will cost you 10 USD a night instead of 25 USD a night if you do it online.

Ps. For breakfast I strongly recommend Colibri at the corner of the town centre.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close to the reception as possible and you will have wifi in your room. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anhede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We loved the hotel and the island. If we ever come to visit Holbox again, will definitely stay in Holbox Dream.The village is very small and the majority of the restaurants is located in its center. The hotel is 5 min walk away from the center, which we found very convinient. Every hotel on the cost line has its own little beach. At the time we've been there, the beach of the Holbox Dream hotel was the best: small, but very close to the sea (others are usually further inside) and did not have as much old water plants as others.
The best place for breakfast was on the second line from the sea, on the corner with the street that goes to the central square: 6-7 USD for a nice and big breakfast. It has a sign on it - something about fresh juices.
The neighbor hotel Palapa has a very nice Italian restaurant, with the wooden terrace above the sea, with the Sicilian chef: their pasta is highly recommended!
Also, we loved the place with no menu, near to the central square- every day their Chef makes several delicious dishes, probably the best value for money on the island and truly original tastes!
Big thanks to the hotel team, they were very helpful and friendly.

PS: it is probably not the best idea to leave your shoes outside the room...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Pool was clean and refreshing, rooms were perfect size, NO TV which is good, but bad if you have days of rain and nothing to do . Hotel needs a small store with beer pop snacks and other small items and at least a public coffee pot. beds were very firm, but clean. Would like a king size option. We Upgraded to the front room ( 21 It is the best room in the hotel) for an extra $20 per night, but it should have been free, we only moved due to the construction. it went on from 7am to 7 pm,, another couple refused to stay and was moved to the sister hotel Palapas. I would stay again but only if the construction is done. They should have left the hotel small and with a nice common area. With the second section 1/2 done i feel privacy is minimized and a cramped feeling. At the time we stayed, there was only beach access, making it difficult for people with wheeled or heavy luggage. we had backpacks so it was easy. If you go to Holbox bring bug spray and lots of $ as the food is VERY expensive, though this is not the hotels fault. Pax, the front desk clerk is very friendly and helpful and speak English well. I look forward to meeting up again when we go back to Playa Del Carmen. I forget the other lady's name but she also was very helpful.

Room Tip: The only room i would stay in is the very front on top floor i believe 21. The stairs to get up are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lippyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

For the last few days of our trip I was looking forward to the sound of waves on the shoreline while enjoying a much needed nap in a hammock. Don't get me wrong..this cozy hotel is lovely and clean..decorated in crisp white..with lots of ambience just like something out of a movie..and right on the beach, staff are super friendly..but the hotel is also currently under construction..and they don't show you that in the photos. It's difficult to enjoy the beauty of the surroundings with the sound of saws and hammers. Currently the beach also has the odour of sulfur from rotting seaweed and / or other vegetation (due to storms I was told) so the water is not crystal clear turquoise as I imagined...but murky and milky and quite smelly depending on the direction of the winds...I wouldn't want to swim in it..This is not a usual occurance and I understand that nature makes it's own rules..but none the less it's disappointing...all would be perfect without the noise and the smell. Perhaps if we had come at a different time..or we knew in advance..so don't rule out this lovely hotel just yet...just be aware.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank heeter_lyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Gerente at Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Ambassador,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time for sharing your impressions regarding your Xperience at Hobox Dream. We are glad to know that you found our hotel cozy, clean, attentive service and as you mention “ an ambience out of a movie”. We are very sorry that the sound of the maintenance work represented an inconvenient to you at during the days you stay at our hotel. We consider important to inform you that, in order to pursuit our goal of tailor the needs of our ambassador´s best, we are a company in constant development and innovation of our services, therefore we are working very hard in order to provide you with amazing options of rooms with an spectacular design and unique comfort. Likewise the weather conditions of those days did not help to enhance the beauty of our turquoise water that our ambassadors enjoy most of the year. We would like you to come to visit us in another occasion, so you can Xperience our new Premises - Services and the real charm of the Holbox Island!

Please be so kind to contact us in private in order to provide you more details, information and several options for a new arrangement.

Warmest regards.

Rafael Cantón
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our first visit to Holbox was a mixed bag. For three days we had the beach all to ourselves as it was offseason. Once the "gastronomia" festival started however, the nightly din of thumping music forced us to flee the island two days early.

Holbox Dreams was nice enough. There was some construction blocking the entrance and created daily noise, but only till about 6 p.m. The beach is nice, but it can feel small if the hotel is more than half-full. It will feel even smaller once the four new rooms are available.

Our bed was typically Mexican...hard and unyielding. AC was great! No clock or TV.

I was surprised at the number of dogs, including those accompanying tourists on Holbox. I can't count how many times they walked by only to pee on chairs, palapas, etc.

All the hotel's employees were great, especially Salvador and Israel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. We had #21, it had a fridge and lock box.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 20 in Holbox Island
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#16 of 20 in Holbox Island
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#5 of 20 in Holbox Island
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 20 in Holbox Island
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Address: Av. Pedro Joaquin Codwell, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range: $88 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holbox Dream, a place where time ceases to exist and the colors of the Caribbean Sea meet the calm waters of the Mexican Gulf. Named after the lifetime vision of the proprietors, Holbox Dream, portrays the image of a very comfortable hotel associated with heavenly scenarios.A mere 20 minutes boat ride from Chiquila Harbor will take you to a tropical escape that offers a stress free environment kissed by the sun, its white sand and shells of all kind. Enjoy 47 rooms with sea view, divided in 3 categories, pool and beach club. Enjoy suculent meals prepared with local seafood and an italian touch at Casa Nostra Restaurant - Holbox. Holbox Dream is a proud member of Xperience Hotels Collection, characterized by the "Infinite hospitality" service and philosophy. Xperience our paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbox Island Dream Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing