We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Dream”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pretty good time with a great service !!
swimming with whale sharks. The hotel is in a lovely position just on the beach. We were in room 3 next to the pool but it was fine.The room was clean and shower lovely and hot.
the wheater just fine , along with beers next to the beach , and lots lots of mosquitos, but it was an amazing trip to remember .
The persons were so warm , and we spent really quality time with the people in charge :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reno O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    357
    86
    32
    32
See reviews for
258
523
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Holbox Dream Hotel for 3 nights and we had a great time. Robert the receptionist kindly welcomed and was always willing to help on whatever. everything we needed quickly arranged and we were always happy with it.
The whole hotel is one big garden with palm trees and beautiful ocean views, and white sand all around.The hotel also features pool mainly used by my son during the day but when we do we like a little shade and rest from the sun.accommodation was lovely, comfortable and light and we enjoyed especially the ocean views which was just a few meters. with the service we were also satisfied.
This holiday we enjoyed and we could be here yet returned. I would recommend to all my friends. Thank you Robert again :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonka34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Ambassador,

It is with great pleasure that we discover your positive review about the way you have been welcomed to Holbox Dream. We are also glad to see that the great decoration of our hotel and the room made from your stay an enjoyable one. We are very grateful to you, as you took the time to share your review with us. Rest assured that Robert's passion for service will be recognised.

We hope to see you soon for another great stay with us,

Best Regards,

Carolina Baca
Guests Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Recently stayed here and went to swim with whale sharks.
The hotel is in a lovley position just on the beach. We were in room 2 which we thought might be a bit noisey next to the pool but it was fine.The room was clean and shower lovely and hot.They provide toiletries.Breakfast was at their sister hotel we walked to along the beach-it was basic but ok.There are lots of cafes and restaurants to walk to and you can walk either along the beach or behind. One of the worst things is getting to the ferry point from Cancun airport as the last bus had gone when we landed so we got a taxi recommended from trip advisor.The return trip you can get cheaper by asking around in town.
We organised our trip in the town at a better price and as far as I can tell it was the same tour any other boats went on.
They say only 2 in the water at a time but we saw some boats letting as many as 9 in at one time which is a shame.They should stick to the rules or otherwise the whale sharks will be harrassed.
I would definately stay here again and thought it was a great location and not touristy.

Room Tip: depends what you like. I liked our room 2 as it faced the beach though not directly number 1 was b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Ambassador,

We appreciate the time you took to share your Xperience with us. We are happy to know that the cleanness of our rooms, our breakfast and our attentive service made your stay at Holbox Dreams delightful. Thank you also for the tips to other future travelers, we are happy that they can enjoy their stay with us and the Whale Shark swim just like you did!.

Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back home in Holbox.

Warmest regards,

Carolina Baca
Guests Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We loved the Holbox Dream. Robert at the front desk was very accommodating and nice, which is wonderful after you have been traveling all day to get to Holbox. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was beautiful. It was clean and simple, with cute little shells and beachy touches. The location couldn't be better: right in front of the most beautiful white sand, calmest beach you could ever hope for. The pool is small but clean, and just right for the hotel. I mean, who needs a sprawling pool when you have the ocean "pool" at your feet? Since this hotel is above the $100usd range per night, there are a few suggestions/tips that we felt should be included to make this hotel simply THE perfect place to stay, and here they are:
1. Put coffee makers in each room, or, have a pot of coffee going downstairs in receptions from say 7-9am. A lot of us city dwellers don't function before coffee, and having to get up, get dressed, and walk a few blocks BEFORE that first cup is well, um, brutal. Even in paradise.
2. Have certain rooms assigned for a queen bed and others strictly for doubles. Don't do the "queen bed + twin bed room" situation. I want the queen bed, and so does my travel mate [we weren't a "romantic" couple]. We're both paying the same amount here, and one of us will get shafted with the twin cot.
3. Get a mixed-drink bar going. I mean, the beers next door at the beach shack are cool, but some people can't drink beer ALL day long without getting bloated. It'd be nice to get a piña colada or an ice-cold Daquiri here and there and get it right at our hotel. Not asking for the full restaurant, but maybe just a mixed-drink shack like the beer one next door? One can only drink so many beers...

This is really it. Everything else was just FABULOSO. I really mean that. I will definitely be returning to Holbox: loved the vibe!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reddylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelia, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Holbox Dreams and we had a great time. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the bathroom are lovely. It has a great location, a few blocks from restaurants.The hotel has a beautiful beach and the staff were very friendly!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bird, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Hobox Dreams and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the upstairs Vision Room and totally loved it. The bed was very comfortable, the room spacious, it had a wonderful balcony, and we loved the bathroom and shower, best ever in Mexico. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We totally would have given this hotel 5 stars, except for one thing. Our room was up front, which was great because we were right on the beach and had a great view, but it was also adjacent to the pool area and courtyard. The afternoon of our third day, we saw a large group checking in together. By evening the drinks were flowing and the party was starting, out by the pool. By 10:00 it was in full swing, then by 2:00 AM it was really ramped up. These people kept us up until after 3:00 AM that night, partying, yelling, drinking, singing, etc. We are not opposed to folks partying and having a good time, but really, they should have moved it out to the beach so others in the hotel could sleep. Then the next night, it started up again, and we finally complained at 10:00 PM to the attendant on duty. Fortunately it quieted down by 11:00, but we did have to complain and felt like we shouldn't have had to.

So the suggestion for the hotel, if they want people like us to return (and we'd really like to as we loved the place) is they need to establish quiet hours, inform the guests of this, and enforce it. I noticed other people on Trip Advisor have complained about the same thing with this hotel. The courtyard and pool were wonderful, but it is conducive to this sort of thing happening.

Other than this, we heartily recommend the hotel and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The location is actually ON the beach, so for me it was perfect. Sunsets and looong walks along the beach in either direction was magic. Center just a few blocks away with restaurants and food stores. Last time I said I had to come back some day - and I did.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Waldemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,046 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#14 of 19 in Holbox Island
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#19 of 19 in Holbox Island
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Property: Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Address: Av. Pedro Joaquin Codwell, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holbox Dream, a place where time ceases to exist and the colors of the Caribbean Sea meet the calm waters of the Mexican Gulf. Named after the lifetime vision of the proprietors, Holbox Dream, portrays the image of a very comfortable hotel associated with heavenly scenarios.A mere 20 minutes boat ride from Chiquila Harbor will take you to a tropical escape that offers a stress free environment kissed by the sun, its white sand and shells of all kind. Enjoy 47 rooms with sea view, divided in 3 categories, pool and beach club. Enjoy suculent meals prepared with local seafood and an italian touch at Casa Nostra Restaurant - Holbox. Holbox Dream is a proud member of Xperience Hotels Collection, characterized by the "Infinite hospitality" service and philosophy. Xperience our paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbox Island Dream Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing