We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Affordable”
Review of Casa Iguana Holbox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Iguana Holbox
Ranked #5 of 36 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Casa Iguana is a great centrally located hotel. It is within walking distance of the town square, and has access to the beach in both directions. We booked our whale shark tours directly with Roddrigo, the hotels owner, and our trip was wonderful. From the shuttle service from Cancun, ferry service, and taxi service on the island, we didn't have a single problem. We loved our trip and intend to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 152 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2008

My family of four stayed at Casa Iguana (CI) for the opportunity to swim with whale sharks and to enjoy the isolated island and it was exactly that. CI is a small, very clean, simply appointed nicely maintained hotelita. It is on the best part of the beach for walking and swimming and within walking distance of town. The guys that run the hotel are great and helpful with any need you have. Although their english was worse than my gringo spanish. But we seemed to get any needs communicated.
Roddrigo, who you book the hotel through, is a problem solver and go to guy. Not just for hotel needs, but for all needs and info for the entire stay. Even if you don't stay at CI call him for your Holbox travel needs.

The beauty of Isla Holbox is not americanized, so don't apply american standards to it. This is small town Mexico with very friendly people, great food and quiet beaches. A great place to practice your spanish.
I would stay at Casa Iguana again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We arrived on Holbox with no reservation. At the ferry pier, we met a guy shilling for whale shark snorkeling. He was congenial and gracious, offering us a ride on his golf cart to the hotel at which we hoped to stay (based on previous internet search). Well, they were full, so we tried another, and another, and another. Finally, I suggested we try Casa La Iguana, a name I remembered from a friend who had wanted to stay there before we decided to go to Tulum instead. Our guide took us there (he knew everybody in Holbox it seemed), and they had a room for us for two nights. All the people associated with the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The whole operation is professional and well run.Our room was at the back of the property, in a garden area. It was very quiet all the time. The bathroom was great. Floor was tiled. Bottled water provided. Only issue was that it was very hot and there was no AC or even a ceiling fan that I recall. Made it a little hard to sleep. We met other guests there who were from Mexico, friendly and talkative. Also, we met three Spaniards who also, coincidentally, went on our whale shark snorkeling trip.

There is a nice beach right in front of the hotel. It is a moderate walk to the town center from the hotel. We could not rent a golf cart because none were available. But it wasn't necessary, really. And in fact it was nice to be removed from the discos. There is a very real risk in Holbox of having to listen to loud disco music all night long. So choose your hotel carefully if you care about noise! Our Spanish friends had to move from another hotel because of the noise.

If you go, and have a choice, I would suggest getting a room that is on the second floor and facing the ocean, to catch some breezes. They also have rooms with kitchenette. I would have liked that, although there are many restaurants in Holbox that are very good. All in all, we had a wonderful time on Holbox. The whale sharks are not to be missed. We organized ours not thru the hotel but through a private operator who gave us outstanding service. I would highly recommend this operator (Willy's Tours) as well as the hotel. The hotel does their own in-house tours, but there are other options.

Sand fleas are pretty awful right around dusk. So just do something else then.

Holbox is really beautiful and colorful. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omar3627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We spent a delightful 11 days over Christmas at Casa Iguana, Isla Holbox. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Casa Principal which was extremely comfortable and very clean. The room was decorated for Christmas with lights and a small tree. The beach in front of Casa Iguana is lovely. Rodrigo and his manager Jesus were very attentive to our needs. Holbox is a very quiet island and is not for everybody which is why we have visited many times and love it.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KWAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Arrivederch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Esteban A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Julio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#9 of 20 in Holbox Island
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana Holbox

Address: Calle Chac Chi y Damero, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico (Formerly Holbox Hotel Casa Iguana)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range: $112 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Iguana Holbox 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Iguana Holbox off-the-grid serenity awaits you - palm lined beachfront boutique hotel. Whale-shark retreat, private hotel for those wishing peace & quiet. Hidden on the beachfront in a lush tropical garden of Coco Palms & tropical plants. Yucatan hammocks and beach lounge chairs. Great friendly staff. Impeccably clean. 2 Min. Walk on beach to town. Rooms from Jardin Standard to Beachfront Suites. Transportation available from Cancun. Whale Shark swim packages available June-September. Great for Honeymoon, Newlyweds. Casa Iguana Holbox on the widest beach on the island. Ask about Kite-surfing, kayaking, Mayan ruins, whale watching, cenotes, fishing, golf carts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Casa Iguana Holbox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing