We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and amazing”
Review of Casa Iguana Holbox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Iguana Holbox
Ranked #5 of 36 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I love the coconuts that where served to me. It's right on the beach which is the Ideal location and only a few blocks from town. The weather was nice not to hot and the water was crystal clear which apparently isn't normal for that time of year the hotel overall was perfect small quiet and clean would love to stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotelito Casa Iguana is a wonderful option since it shares the best Holbox beachfront with Casa Sandra and Xaloc Resort. The beach beds are always available at Casa Iguana they're Blue and pretty comfortable. ( They are often invaded by the neighboring guests )

The Staff are very kind and willing to fulfill your requests immediately, free coconuts and wi-fi are available for guests.

This Hotel lacks of food and drink services (drinking water is available in every room huge 20 lt. Water bottle).

Nevertheless some rooms have a mini fridge to keep the beers cold and coming.

Room Tip: Ask for an indoor hammock they pretty useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiterPunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a great hotel located right on the beach but easy walk to town, super clean rooms, very nice staff, quiet and private.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLewis3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at Casa the night before our Whale Shark tour. We arrived after a huge storm the streets were flooded and we walked through knee high water to get to the hotel. It was an adventure. We had a large room with A/C as there was 3 of us. it was very clean and the beds comfortable. the ac worked great and promptly cooled the room. The hotel is right on the beach but we didnt have a view from our room. We walked back into town and had wonderful Lobster pizza and beer. Holbox is a cool laid back town with lots of places to eat and a few shops. The only downfall were mosquitos they were horible!

If i were to go back to Holbox I would definitly consider staying there again.

Room Tip: bring mosquito spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevenq99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed here 8 days, price was very flexible since we stayed more than a week. We had the beachfront room. It costs 1200 pesos which is a lot because it is not a deluxe room, we had the room for 800 pesos and that price is quite fair for a hotel like that. It was very clean, every day. The guy at the reception very friendly, honest and warm he was like a friend to us at the end of our trip. Bed and pillows are very good. Clean towels. The size of the room is just perfect. The shower is fine although the water goes out of the area and afterwards the whole bad is wet.
It is ok for 800 pesos because you hear all the noice, people, chats etc that happens in the reception since the room is in front of it. If you want to sleep late you just cant because there is people talking or laughing outside your window at 7 am.
It does not offer breakfast, or amenities just internet access.
we highly reccomend this hotel, clean and well located. If we come back someday we ll definetely take this room again.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ataniaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed in Holbox the first week of January 2012 and had such a peaceful vacation at this little private hotel. The rooms are very natural and nice and extremely clean. We had Room 2, they call Beachfront Queen Suite. Second floor bungalow type villa in the palm trees looking over the beach and Caribben. It has a terrace on 3 sides and double wooden doors, so cute! We loved the details of the furniture from local woods and the painted pottery sink. There was a Yucatan hammock in our room and on the porch. I spent many hours reading in the hammocks! We had a mini-fridge and asked if it would be possible to get a cooler and they brought it right away-with ice! The Recepcion is an adorable caribbean bungalow with the woven palm palapa roof and lit stone stairway, all made from local materials. Jose and his brother Samuel in were so sweet and they cut down coconuts right on the property with machetes and we drank fresh coconut milk! Everyone treated us so nicely. We can´t wait to go back.

Room Tip: We asked for their best oceanview room, but they have budget rooms in the gardens further back. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

The day after landing in Cancun, we were met by our friends who live in Oxcutzcab and they took us to Holbox. What a fantastic island! Sand streets, no cars, beautiful beaches.
My friend's cousin lives on Holbox and they made the hotel arrangements for us. Couldn't have been happier with the Iguana. The rooms are simple and kept very clean. They fit the island setting perfectly. NoTV, no AC, no phone, no clock, no worries. The perfect place to relax.
The property is well maintained and located right on the beach. It is a short walk to the main square in town or a 50 peso "taxi" ride in a golf cart. There are a few fancier hotels but this fit our travel style perfectly.
Unfortunately, the "norteno" hit the island the third day we were there and it rained like crazy and the temp dropped into the 50's. We left the island and headed south for the rest of the two weeks we spent on this trip. We are going back to the Yucatan in September and are going to try and go back to Holbox next January. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandinmytoes60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Villas HM Palapas del Mar
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.0 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#9 of 20 in Holbox Island
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana Holbox

Address: Calle Chac Chi y Damero, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico (Formerly Holbox Hotel Casa Iguana)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range: $112 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Iguana Holbox 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Iguana Holbox off-the-grid serenity awaits you - palm lined beachfront boutique hotel. Whale-shark retreat, private hotel for those wishing peace & quiet. Hidden on the beachfront in a lush tropical garden of Coco Palms & tropical plants. Yucatan hammocks and beach lounge chairs. Great friendly staff. Impeccably clean. 2 Min. Walk on beach to town. Rooms from Jardin Standard to Beachfront Suites. Transportation available from Cancun. Whale Shark swim packages available June-September. Great for Honeymoon, Newlyweds. Casa Iguana Holbox on the widest beach on the island. Ask about Kite-surfing, kayaking, Mayan ruins, whale watching, cenotes, fishing, golf carts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Iguana Holbox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing