We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad”
Review of Xaloc Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xaloc Resort
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really bad”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is not worth the money you pay! We stayed for two nights, we have never seen anybody of the staff. There is no service at all. The beach is beautiful but not equipped at all. All the other resorts offer you beach bed a restaurant/bar on the beach and friendly staff.
The first night we got at the restaurant at 9:00 pm and the chef was upset because the grill was closing at 9:15. The reception at the checkin told us that the restaurant was closing at 10:00. the restaurant is kind of depressing as well.
The pool is a tiny puddle, with a bar left completly unattended.
Overall a bad experience especially considering the money spent and what you see in all the other hotel and cabanas around you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sgu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcos A, Director General at Xaloc Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Your comments have been helpful, we reinforced the areas of service, we are confident that your next visit will have a wonderful experience, give us the opportunity to serve you, Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    131
    62
    28
    26
See reviews for
146
246
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

It's a peaceful, lovely place where you only rest, swim and walk. The kids can enjoy the swiming pool, or the calm beach. And you can read a book in a hammock or in the outdoors lounge. The breakfast is enough, but you can order something else and is delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORTHO-Martha-Paty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel is enough to stay, the breakfast they offer was not what spectated, they offer only very few fruit, cheap bread and coffee, the quality is poor. Really doesn't worth what you pay for it.

Room Tip: Don't buy the breakfast, it is better to have it in down town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointblank, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Saw a lot of the negative reviews before booking this place, but absolutely loved it here. We went full board, about $48 per day for both of us, and it was so good. Bartollo the Chef put a couple of pounds on us, even with our daily walk to town or down the beach. Besides the continental breakfast which was good, assorted fruit, peanut butter, jelly, sometimes nutella, white and wheat toast, yogurt, and sometimes granola, we had eggs to order. Lunches were an an appetizer and an entree. Dinners were an appetizer, soup, entree and dessert. There was always a choice for the entrees. The waitstaff Carlos and Gaspar were very good and very attentive. The food and beverage manager Alex was great, he would do anything to make you comfortable. The pool bar was closed most days that we were there. But they had a phone there and would bring you anything you wanted, either to your room or the pool.

Carmen at reception, greeted us with a cold drink at check in, where we sat and she explained everything then took us to our room. She was so helpful and friendly.

There was a lot of seaweed at the waters edge, but I really believe it was mostly the way the coast was shaped there. The maintenance staff was continually working on landscaping, and I really thought it was fine.

The beds were petty firm, and the regular pillows kind of flat, but the rooms were beautiful and clean. The first night we stayed in a pool bungalow, which was very nice, but it didn't have a hairdryer or coffee maker. It had two hammocks on the porch and was right against the pool. The rest of the time we stayed in a beachfront bungalow, it did have a coffee maker and hair dryer. It had one hammock and a nice built in couch on the porch, great for that afternoon siesta. We were only steps from the beach or the adult pool.

All in all we did love it and will be looking forward to going again. Thanks so much to all the staff for making this trip so great!

Room Tip: The 2 bungalows closest to the beach have the best view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Definetly a perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Holbox. The rooms are clean, the staff is helpful and friendly!! I want to give special thanks to Carmen and Alejandro who made our anniversary an unforgetable trip.
We enjoyed the amazing food in the restaurant as well :)

Thanks again
Ilse and Oly

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilse g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Lovely bungalows on this fantastic island of Holbox. The staff in hotel reception was very helpful and nice for us. Service in the restaurant wasn't that good, and the breakfast included just toast and coffee, but we got some fruit plates when asked for. Except the breakfast, this hotel was very nice place to spend holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asuonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Certainly the hotel is nice,the staff is friendly and always willing to help you.
It could be a great place,but it seems that for certain details nobody takes care,for example,the beach area is in bad condition,beach furniture has not seen any maintenance in many time,the area lacks vegetation or decorative lighting at night.if you look at other hotels around, you will notice a great difference,it seems that at Xaloc Resort, these details are not important to please clients.About the restaurant this is really terrible;service is not professional,the only waiter tries to do the best, but the kitchen is not only really slow,there is not any quality at all: for example,the orange juice is diluted with water always!,one night, the waiter told us that the fish was frozen !at holbox all restaurants offer fresh catch of the day !is a fisherman s Island!I Think something is going in the wrong direction with the management or the owner of this Hotel,they just want to collect money but the price /quality ratio is not what one can expect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juvalenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#7 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,042 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.2 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#19 of 19 in Holbox Island
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xaloc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xaloc Resort

Property: Xaloc Resort
Address: C Chacchi s/n esq. Playa Norte, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Holbox Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xaloc Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xaloc Resort is a small ecotourism hotel located in a natural paradise of white sand beach near the small village of Holbox. Xaloc are in different environments to enjoy the charm and intimacy offered by the site, two pools, a lounge reading a terrace under the palapas where you can enjoy the breeze of the Caribbean Sea, a terrace on the beach where enjoy the sun during the day and admire the stars at night and "Maja'che" a restaurant where every dish is a specialty ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Xaloc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xaloc Hotel Holbox Island
Xaloc Resort Holbox Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing