We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villas Delfines
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was my first time on the island and we picked the perfect hotel. Hotel Delfines has the best beach on the island. The service is great, the people are friends and everything is always clean. They even have compost toilets (which I have never seen and don't smell at all) which are pretty cool. The reception area has free wi-fi which comes in very handy. The only complaint is the restaurant does not have that great of food, but the town does so its ok:)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilibug78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 697 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked a two night stay as part of a Christmas gift to each other on a trip to Mexico. So wish we hadn't bothered. The Island is beautiful, just found the hotel too quiet and joyless. Most of the staff seemed to be playing a part, when we walked past one of the waiters going off shift we got no reply, yet a few hours earlier he had been full of beans and fawning to serve us. The room was ok but the " toilet smell " became very strong by the second morning. I am not a fan of these eco toilets, maybe my sense of smell is just too sensitive. Saving the worst till last Oh my we were eaten alive by mosquitoes ! No sleep the second night, on fire from bites, even had one on my toe, the next week was spent in misery with itching angry red lumps, the worst trip of my life.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manneroo, Propietario at Hotel Villas Delfines, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are sorry, but we never had the opportunity to serve you. We do not know who you are and you defintly never stayed at Villas Delfines. We can prove it, but it also shows.
sincerely yours
Manfred Bertram
Owner
Villas Delfines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful!! Very romantic and very relaxing. Kind and helpful staff. Beautiful ocean and beach while also having a nice pool. I was here with 18 others on a class trip studying. Please pray for protection for the land and all the animals on and around it, thank you.
Helpful hint: mosquitoes and sand flies bite tourists! Ouch

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

personal bungalows with lots of space and privacy, funky decor and design, three old friends were comfortable and happy at villas delfines. breakfast was simple yet filling, the servers at the restaurant friendly and professional. The pool is unique in design and refreshing. The greenery all around was a cooling alternative to the welcome heat of the beach. volleyball and kite boarding school on site, lots of hammock and lounge space, and right next to the beach! It is far enough from town to feel private yet not a long stroll on the sandy road or along the beach and sea. Rates were affordable in the off season. International guests all seemed relaxed, and the spiritual retreat held there seemed to enjoy the perfect location. Thanks for having us on Holbox, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was a beautiful Island and wonderful Hotel/Villa. The rooms were cleaned daily and housefkeeping put a swan made of towels and flowers on our bed each day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. A wonderful place to find quiet and restful relaxation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaSue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have been in Mexico for three weeks. After a long flight with one year old baby we spent two nights there for relaxing. It was very quiteful and friendly resort. Everything was nice. The bungalows in the garden, the beach, pool, just ten minutes walk to the town. After that we have traveled to Yucatan Peninsula....to Chichen Itza, Valladolid, Ek´Balam, Rio Lagartos, Merida, Progreso, Playa del Carmen and Isla Cozumel and we decided that we spent last four days in Villas Delfines again because of friendly and peaceful atmosphere there. Our son had a baby cot with mosquito net :-) and he was really happy on the beach. The staff was great. We would like to recommend this place for everyone who wants to relaxing. In the town they make a great tacos and there are so many friendly people like at home. Enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slavula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Isla Holbox is a 2 hours’ drive and 30 minutes by boat from Playa del Carmen but feels you’re on another planet if you compare it with the mainland of Yucatan Mexcio. This trip was very special for us and after a long trip through Belize, Guatemala and Mexico to see the old Maya civilization we want peace and quietness. We found it on the island Isla Holbox. It is a very small but long island with perfect white beaches and a green quiet sea. The wildlife was wonderful, there a lot of birds to see near the resort and in the national parks. If you are lucky there is a possibility to swim with wale sharks in August or early September. The downside is that there a lot of mosquitos in the evening and sand flies are everywhere.
But it is paradise, in two days you used to these bugs. The little resort is very beautiful and easy going. It is the perfect place to rewind from it all. Read a book, talk to each other and find your own little romantic moments. The little houses/rooms are very cozy and special. The shower is a big seashell! The staff is warm and real. For us it was heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vnijhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#2 of 20 in Holbox Island
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#10 of 20 in Holbox Island
567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
1.4 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#16 of 20 in Holbox Island
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Delfines

Address: Domicilio Conocido | Zona Hotelera, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Holbox Island
Price Range: $94 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Delfines 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villas Delfines, framed by the tranquil turquoise Caribbean waters and fine sands of Isla Holbox. During its construction style and respect for the Caribbean environment and energy optimization thought the installation of solar panels to heat water as well as an innovative composting toilets, thus contributing to environmental conservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villas Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing