We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot on the beach in Holbox”
Review of Zomay Hotel Holbox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zomay Hotel Holbox
Ranked #17 of 39 Holbox Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at the Sol y Mar house (which is about a block away from the main complex) for three nights in the middle of February. It was great! We are a family of four with two young girls and it was the perfect size for us with the two girls sleeping on pull out couches in the living room. Except for the meals we ate out at restaurants, we ate every meal out on the porch-- passing food through the window from the kitchen. You are separated from the beach by a fence, but that provides a little privacy. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful with planning activities. It was Carnival while we were there and although it made it loud, we live in Brooklyn, NY so we didn't mind. Plus we were so worn out from the beach, kayaking, fishing, eating and drinking that nobody had problems falling asleep.

Holbox is great and Villa los Mapaches is a wonderful place to stay while you are there!

Room Tip: Sol y Mar is away from the main complex and not quiet (it is at the end of a lane that seems to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuncanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 152 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

we stayed at Villa Los Mapaches Feb 5-11/12
we took the Isla Holbox transfer from our hotel in Cancun. Well worth the $130.00. our driver was very pleasant and we stopped at a roadside barbeque for lunch. Rosy picked us up when we arrived at Isla Holbox ferry dock and taxied us directly to the hotel, then drove away, and there was no one at the desk to check us in. waited for about twenty minutes.
we stayed in the pink cabin. Would be better if it had at least a queen size bed, double bed too small for two, and the kitchenette not adequate for cooking. We hoped to buy fresh fish from the local fisherman, but they weren't too interested in selling to tourists. The restaurants in the village were fantastic and reasonably priced. The breakfast at Villa los Mapaches was delicious every day.
Overall, the resort was exactly what we wanted; peaceful quiet beautiful garden and beach. no kids. we will definitely return. Speaking spanish would've been a great asset to this trip.....working on it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Mayan style cottages in tranquil beautiful garden on the beach. Walking distance to town, restaurants, stores. Very hot, even with fan, variety of bugs,mosquitos, sand fleas. We stayed in August for a week. Great inexpensive fishing trips and visits to other small islands. No safe deposit boxes in rooms. Our sons ipod got stolen from the room.
Restaurant is not inexpensive, better prices in town. Best ceviche in the shack next door.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We just returned from a week at the hotel and couldn't have been happier with our visit. In fact, there was a problem at first, in that we were staying in a large cottage on the beach away from the hotel property (but rented by the hotel) called the Sol y mar. The cottage itself was amazing but for us the music from the nearby hostel was too loud as were the neighbors behind us. We told Rosy, and she took care of us immediately and settled us into a perfect two-bedroom apartment on the hotel property. We loved it. There was some street noise but the AC took care of that. We loved lounging in the hammocks on the porch. I had to get some writing done on the vacation and fact is I got more work done on the apartment porch than I would normally here in the same amount of town That's how nice it was. We loved the hotel's beautiful beach area. My wife barely left the hammock under the palapa near the water. The water was cool but once we got in, it was fine. We loved the town (and got to see Santa arrive on a golf cart) and the friendly and delicious restaurants but also enjoyed the occasional continental breakfast at the hotel. The hotel also has three kayaks. Take them out for a ride at sunset.

Rosy went out of her way to be accommodating. She arranged the taxi trips, sometimes before we even asked! Could the showers have more pressure? Yeah, maybe. Would I have preferred not the initial hassle, yeah, but in the end, we were much happier being around the hotel property than we would have been had we stayed the entire time in the sol y mar. The grounds are gorgeous and the people we met were universally pleasant as was the help. This was the first vacation we've taken in years where the intent was just to rest and relax, and we got exactly what we wanted, thanks to Rosy and this terrific hotel.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about noise, I'd avoid the sol y mar and would also try to find a place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is an okay place but it does not include breakfast and does not have the feel of a B&B. There are no special touches that you would expect to find in a smaller lodging. It's more like a Motel 6. I'll give the pro's and con's in my opinion and let you decide.
Pros: On the west side of the island, so it's good for the sunset. Close to town. Private beach with good beach and outdoor furniture. Good price. They provide a 5 gallon water container in the room. The rooms are clean and the staff are very friendly. The breakfast is tasty.
Cons: The beds are uncomfortable, some of the linens and most of towels are old, scratchy, and smell like mildew. It's close enough to town that it can be noisy. There is a fishing lodge next door that is lit up like a runway all night. The breakfast menu is limited - they do not have all the items listed.

There are better places farther down the beach (westward) that are more secluded and still close to town. So my advice is to look around.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCMGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a great place for adventure. The rooms are small cabins and the place looks like a small village. The hotel is located on the beach and within walking distance to downtown Holbox and the bars on the beach.

Be ready to sweat at night. There are fans in the room but it really gets hot and humid.

Also do not forget to bring your repellent as mosquitoes are everywhere in the island.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Holbox is one of those place, when you visited never forgot, and Villa Los Mapaches is the exactly hotel of the zone that you should stay, it is acording to the island whit the bungalows, the beatiful garden in front of the beach and the friendly dogs. It is really quiet and relax, and you can take the kayacs and bikes for a walk around the island.
The rooms are clean, has a little fridge, and hot water, there's no air conditioner just a fan but it was perfect no hot. And dont forget to take the whale shark tour it is a unique experience in the world! Holbox has the most beatiful sunset view!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 20 in Holbox Island
1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#13 of 20 in Holbox Island
579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Maya Holbox
Casa Maya Holbox
#20 of 20 in Holbox Island
138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#4 of 20 in Holbox Island
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zomay Hotel Holbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zomay Hotel Holbox

Address: Av. Pedro Joaquin Coldwell s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Holbox Island
Price Range: $135 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zomay Hotel Holbox 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zomay is a small and peacefull resort of 6 wooden bungalows and 3 apartments on the seashore in the wonderful Island of Holbox, decorated in a Caribean style, in the middle of our beautiful and big tropical garden, you will find privacy and personal attention are what make this place unique: you can relax watching the wildlife from your hammock, grill the fish you have just caught, or walk barefoot on white sands.a place to feel safe from the noise and the rush of a big city. Here, you can finally leave the hurry and anguish behind and rediscover that old-fashioned rhythm of life long forgotten, in the summer you can meet the amazing and beautiful whale shark and spend what will be the vacation of a lifetime. More than 40 km of virgin beaches, clean air, abundant wildlife, Holbox is still one of the few places left where life continues at a slow pace with no worries. Our beach is equipped with lounge chairs and hammocks that our customers can enjoy and each bungalow at this hotel features kitchenette facilities and safe box. Exclusive guest services: Free WiFi at the main lobbyFree Kayaks and bicycles for rent to our guestsTours and transfer services from Cancún or MéridaWe can rent our place for weddings or any other special events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Zomay Hotel Holbox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Mapaches
Los Mapaches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing