We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holbox Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Completely wonderful!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We just got back from an amazing week at Hotel Mawimbi. It is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are so cute (we were oceanfront), and very well-designed. The grounds are stunning, and so well-maintained. The loungers, beds and hammocks are abundant. We ate at the restaurant a lot and the food was great. It's paradise, and I highly recommend Mawimbi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    64
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
91
388
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at Posada Mawimbi in the "Turtle room" for a week in November and it was a great experience. Our room had a queen sized bed and a balcony that was like none other I have seen at a hotel. It had a small table with two chairs, a hammock, and a large lounger with an umbrella. We spent a lot of time lounging on our balcony. The hotel is right on the white sand beach which has some debris due to the storms Holbox had in the weeks previous to our visit. The staff worked hard throughout the week to clean it up. Mawimbi has picturesque views and a relaxing atmosphere. All the staff provided great personalized service. We had to leave very early to go back to the airport and the staff packed us a lunch for free and it was greatly appreciated. They also arranged our transportation to Mawimbi and back to the airport. We received an email when we got back thanking us for staying at the hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others (and already have) and I hope we get to stay there again soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I just remembered the perfect 3 days at Hol Box in this beautiful little "hom like" hotel.

People treat here like family from the moment that you arrive and that to me is the key to great service; making our guest feel welcome at all times.

The room we got was not very spacious but it was a "romantic geatway" so the less space available the better it was :) We loved the beach area and even tho it rained a lot we enjoyed every second of it laying by the chairs and eating all day at the "beach front and sand in your feet" restaurant.

If you are looking from a scape of reality this is the place! Enjoy and forget about life here because this is were you go to feel reborn again!

Thank you Mawimbi!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bothfeld1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, MA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our first trip to Holbox and we stayed at Mawimbi the last week of October. We were very happy with our decision to stay here. It's all been said in other reviews - friendly and helpful staff, beautifully maintained rooms and beach, and a perfect place to relax and leave the world behind. We found the food at the Mawimbi restaurant to be quite good and competitively priced with other restaurants in town. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank needtotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

amazing island anyways and then this little authentic hotel really just was the icing on the cake! it is set right in the picture perfect beach with a little bar, painted chairs, lovely rooms, cute handmade details. Absolutely perfect and probably one of the nicest places I have ever seen. Holbox is a bit off the track but its worth the trip, make sure you manage to see some whale sharks (only in the season). Hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: if you are noise sensitive take the upper floors as you hear people walking upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mialana1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Utilized the Holbox transfer where a driver was right out the Cancun airport and after a two hour drive and a 30 minute ferry crossing and golf cart taxi you will arrive at the Mawimbi. You can have the hotel arrange this so that it really is a seamless experience. The Mawimbi is the perfect place if you want to get away,recharge and experience the simple life of a clean, friendly and peaceful property. The rooms and grounds are very well maintained. You will be able to rest with the AC or or under the room fan with the windows opened. The restaurant is open from morning to evening. Your breakfast includes a bowl of fresh fruit, toasted baguettes with jam and your choice of coffee, cappuccino or espresso. We had their guacamole with crispy tortilla chips in the afternoon next to the lounge chairs on the beach and pasta along with fish in the evening at the restaurant all served with a friendly smiling staff.. Stayed in the star room which had two double beds and two hammocks outside on the private deck. They have very good wifi both in the rooms and at the restaurant.

Can't wait to return and take a tour of the 3 islands and see the whale sharks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FRQNTRAVLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I had the perfect experience at Mawimbi. Small boutique hotel feel but a much better experience. The staff is friendly, the rooms are really well kept and the hotel is right on the beach. No need to bring much as the hotel is right on the beach so I went barefoot from my room down the stairs and was right on the beach. The hotel maintains a very good outdoor restaurant and the staff is very friendly and very accommodating and take a vested interest in making sure you are happy and comfortable. I went during low season so the beach was practically empty and I felt like I had own private beach!! Looking forward to going again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank giraffe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#6 of 19 in Holbox Island
1,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachfront La Palapa Hotel Adult Oriented
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#11 of 19 in Holbox Island
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Property: Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbox Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small charming tropical "hotelito" with only 10 rooms, built in the middle of a lush tropical garden located in the beautiful white beach of Holbox Island in Mexico Hotel facilities includes 2,500 square meters (8200 feet) of beach with wood sunbeds, hammocks and swing beds. This palm shaded beachfront oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town, only two blocks distant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing