We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Mawimbi was fantastico!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holbox Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Holbox Island
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hotel Mawimbi was fantastico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited Hotel Mawimbi a few years back right before I moved back to the USA. My Cancun roommates and I were ending our run in Mexico and decided to take a stay on Isla Holbox, far away from the craziness of Cancun! We were not disappointed by the tranquilty and beauty of the island. The entire staff was friendly at the hotel and the food was amazing as well! But the view from Hotel Mawimbi's beach was it... Just spectacular... I hope to go back one day and take my wife with me!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JskinnyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    58
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
84
365
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

this place is perfect. right on the beach, a reasonable price (there are a lot of pricey places in holbox), and an outstanding staff. a friend and i rented a room with a small kitchen so we could cook, which was a benefit as the food in holbox is both expensive and meh, not delicious. we had everything we needed, took two naps a day in the hammocks on the beach, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. chatting with onny, claudia and jeevhl was great: they are just lovely, hospitable, intelligent and fun people. at night, we sat on the beach with a bottle of wine under a million stars, and played in the sand with bioluminescent algae, which was a pretty impressive highlight (pun intended).

the great thing about the location of mawimbi is that it is just a block outside of town, so you get the privacy of places like las nubes, but can still easily walk into town for supplies. i totally recommend this hotel, and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: the double level room with small kitchen is right on the road, not on the beach (i mean, it's li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer3252013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We came to lovely Holbox durning our honey moon this September. Got to this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. Wow, this hotel was beyond!

Everything about Mawimbi is so accurate: the rooms, the service, the owner - Oni, The location, the view from the room. We loved it! Simply perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but ate there a few times, the food was delicious and service excellent. The owners very helpful and lovely people. We went out with the owner, snorkeling and to see the whale sharks, he has a boat that seats 7. Fanatastic experience and Worth every penny. On the whole Holbox is beautiful, no cars. I will definately be visiting there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montrealer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

You get more of what you pay in comparison of a hotel in Tulum, of course that the sea in Tulum has beautiful color blue. It is close to the small downtown. Very friendly people and service. The food is not great but you know what you can get for that price. We had a great time at Mawimbi

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jorgeprax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently stayed at Mawimbi on Holbox and the hospitality and our stay far exceeded our expectations. Onni is a wealth of knowledge and every staff member is extraordinarily helpful and friendly, relaxed and accommodating. The food is prepared fresh and very well, every meal was delicious. It's clean and very well designed. They are respectful of their environs, which is of great importance to us. The beach swings are a wonderful way to relax. After walking the entire beach and evaluating each resort, I would choose Mawimbi again, it has the best location to town, best beach and location to the pier, with magical sunsets from the property.

Room Tip: the tortuga room has a huge wonderful balcony that we enjoyed at sunrise and sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a precious hotel with a great location, friendly staff, delicious food, extremely clean facilities and more...

Prior to our stay Jeevyl and Claudia were very attentive with our reservations and questions we had regarding our stay, tour activities, transportation arrangements etc... Once we arrived their attentiveness remained the same helping us with restaurant suggestions, hand line fishing trips, etc... We were also impressed by Ornella suggestions on the best use of our money and time for the different activities we were researching.

We stayed in one of the Oceanfront rooms on the bottom floor and highly recommend it. Though we had people next door, above us and the restaurant right out our room we never had an issue with noise. The room was clean and spacious enough for two people and they provide you shampoo, conditioner and even a hair dryer. The AC in the room was wonderful and refreshing when returning to your room after a day out. Each day the room was stock with fresh bottles of water, the bar also provided water upon request. The bed was extremely comfortable.

The food at the restaurant is delicious and the presentation is done well. The blended drinks were always tasty and made mostly from fresh fruit. The beer was also nice and cold. I personally fell in love with the Chelado's! Nice and refreshing without all of the sweetness. Try one...

The grounds are kept well and most likely the cleanest on Holbox island. The staff really works hard to ensure your stay is clean and comfortable all day long and it shows. It was obvious that this behavior is being driven down from the owners who take pride in what they offer their guests.

We arranged transportation through Mawimbi and they didn't miss a beat. Once we arrived in Cancun and walked out of the airport there was a gentleman holding a sign with our name. The 2 hr drive doesn't seem long as there is plenty to see on the way. We arrived at the Ferry and made our way to Holbox where again we were met and taken to the Hotel. On the return to Cancun we encountered the same experience. What a nice refreshing way to start/end your vacation virtually stress free.

The Whale Shark Tour is a lifetime experience. We actually booked 2 trips just to ensure we actually saw whale sharks during our stay. However during our first trip out there were so many of them we didn't need to return for the second trip. Plus us canceling opened up a reservation for others that had to be bumped due to bad weather the previous 2 days.

We also went hand line fishing with one of the local fisherman and his son, what an awesome experience. We caught alot of fish in just a short 3 hours. We brought back a large Sea Trout where the Chef cook us some filets and made us Ceviche with the remaining fish. Both were excellent.

The Hotel itself is in the best location on Holbox and in a relatively quiet location compared to others. Since there are only 10 rooms this allows for the Staff to get to know everyone on a somewhat personal basis (calling us by our name within the first day).

All in all we had a really great time. This was our first trip to Mexico and the staff at Mawimbi has set our expectations high for returning. If we make it back, we will stay here again hopefully as a family vacation with our adult children.

Room Tip: Go for the Oceanfront. It's in a quiet location with direct access to the beach and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liv2xplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holbox Hotel Casa las Tortugas - Petit Beach Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villas Flamingos
Villas Flamingos
#3 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#4 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
CasaSandra Boutique Hotel
#10 of 19 in Holbox Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbox Hotel Mawimbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbox Hotel Mawimbi

Property: Holbox Hotel Mawimbi
Address: Calle Igualdad s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holbox Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi is a small charming tropical "hotelito" with only 10 rooms, built in the middle of a lush tropical garden located in the beautiful white beach of Holbox Island in Mexico Hotel facilities includes 2,500 square meters (8200 feet) of beach with wood sunbeds, hammocks and swing beds. This palm shaded beachfront oasis lies just beyond the outskirts of Holbox town, only two blocks distant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Holbox Island
Holbox Island Hotel Mawimbi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing